Buttermilk Sweet Potato Waffles + Vegetable Scramble (Gluten Free)

in #food7 years ago

I can’t deny it, when it comes to breakfast foods I’m a creature of habit.

DSC_1659-2.jpg

Does that surprise you? I mean, you’d probably think that as a food blogger, because I’m constantly trying to come up with new flavor combinations and recipes to share with you guys, that I’d always have something new for breakfast. Actually though, the reality is that I’m very boring when it comes to breakfast foods typically. Oh, and then it doesn’t help that most of my family is made up of people who don’t do breakfast at all so I’m not very motivated to make it.

DSC_1635.jpg

I love all the different foods that are generally considered breakfast items though (i.e. pancakes, french toast, biscuits and gravy…). In fact, we’re pretty strange around here and it’s way more typical in our house to eat “breakfast” foods for lunch or dinner time than first thing in the morning.

DSC_1614.jpg

Growing up, we’ve always been that way so I’ve honestly never understood why some people think certain foods have to be eaten for a specific time of day. I think brunch and brinner are perfectly acceptable, they’re the best! To each their own I guess because, as I keep learning, every culture has it’s own strange food customs.

DSC_1647.jpg

I wanted to tell you about this recipe. I love being able to make foods that everyone can enjoy but sometimes that means catering to certain dietary restrictions, so I feel like having gluten-free recipes that my whole family enjoys is always a good idea in case they’re ever necessary. I actually think that using rice flour as the main thickener for the waffles gives them an awesome and extra crispy texture, so it’s a win win!

DSC_1633.jpg

Anyway, this whole combo comes together quickly and easily for simple but delicious breakfast. That’s one of my favorite parts about it. The sweet potato buttermilk waffles are only slightly sweetened so they pair really well with the savory veggie scramble in place of something that might usually be served with scrambled eggs, like toast.

DSC_1637.jpg

If you prefer it though, feel free to add what’s more typical with waffles, sweet toppings like syrup or fruit. (Hehe, unlike some people I don’t put boundaries about what foods can go together or judge what people like to eat.) The point is that you can take this as an inspiration and make it your own. That goes for the veggies and cheese in the egg scramble also. I chose to use the ones I did based on the ingredients I had on hand but you can switch them out for things you like better.

DSC_1652.jpg

So I hope this at least adds some fresh ideas to your day. Have a great weekend!

As always, the recipe is available upon request, and I always give an upvote for the first one.



Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos!

  1. BUTTERY & CRUNCHY PISTACHIO ALMOND BAKLAVA - Food Photo Shoot

  2. Father's Day!!! Chocolate Bacon Mini Cakes + Peanut Butter Frosting (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. CREAM OF ASPARAGUS SOUP with PANCETTA - Food Photo Shoot

  4. National Picnic Day: How to Make Pink Lemonade with Beets! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Balsamic Chickpea + Veggie Couscous Salad

  6. BREAKFAST SPECIAL! Buttermilk Biscuits + Sausage Gravy (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Sweet Harvest Time Apple Streusel Crumb Bread (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Sesame Chicken with Pomegranate + Fried Rice

  9. Strawberry Lime Cheesecake Trifles [No-Bake] (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. MOROCCAN STYLE QUINOA & VEGGIE CURRY STUFFED SWEET POTATOES (VEGAN) Food Photo Shoot

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

DANG GIRL!!!! can I come over to your house???? =)

Sure, we'll have a party @itchykitten! Hehe

Great photos as usual! Waffles are my favorite! It can be eaten with peanut butter or ice cream or even fried chicken. Even better with all 3!

Wow, now that sounds like a breakfast extravaganza. I'll have to try it sometime @howtostartablog!

That looks like a delicious breakfast. Not gluten intolerant myself and allways when I hear it I think about some not so tasty replacement food. Glad to see that with this one that is definitely not the case! Have fun out there and good luck with future posts!

Thanks for such kind comments @rymlen!

Great recipe and post!

I'm not gluten intolerant, but it looks delicious and sounds interesting. Thanks!

Me neither, but I like gluten free food sometimes too. Thanks @elteamgordo!

Make me hungry right away, Thanks for sharing :)

I'm always so happy to share @inviter!

Why do you have to be so far away?? :(
i wanna taste some of your food

Haha, I would love to share it with you @bikergirl! Honestly, I would!

Buttermilk has numerous health benefits and it is tasty too.

You're so right! I could probably eat sweet potato everyday! @umeshpal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48