CREAM OF ASPARAGUS SOUP with PANCETTA - Food Photo Shoot

in #food7 years ago

Happy Sunday / Father's Day to all you Steemians!

I have been accused many times of only making desserts. Though I do indeed make a lot of desserts, I also like to put out some more, let us say, more balanced dishes.

Well, cream of asparagus soup isn't going to peg anybody's health meter, but it is going to satisfy those taste buds for sure.

Asparagus is low in Saturated Fat. It is also low in Cholesterol as well as Sodium. Asparagus is a good source of Pantothenic Acid, Calcium, Magnesium, Zinc and Selenium, along with that, a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Protein, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol), Vitamin K, Thiamin, Riboflavin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Iron, Phosphorus, Potassium, Copper and Manganese. - SOURCE

Thanks to everyone for the well wishes while I recover from my little accident. You can read more about that here I Wiped Out Big Time You Guys! (My ATV Accident + First Broken Bone)😲

And, if you want to see more photos of the day we went 4 wheeling, you can look at my sister's post @fullofhope - RIDING QUADS IN IDAHO MOUNTAINS!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

Sort:  

So nice to see asparagus featured here! Your soup looks great, especially with the asparagus spears on the top. I've been enjoying so much fresh-picked asparagus this spring. I like grilling the spears and as much of the stalk that is tender. The rest I save in the freezer for making asparagus soup. It's so great! I'm glad you all got to enjoy it! I like your main course and side dish posts. They are creative and so pretty!

Always such kind words. So, you're having a nice asparagus harvest, that is nice, especially since you can freeze a lot for later. I have never tried grilling, I must add that to my list. Thanks so much for the inspiration @haphazard-hstead

I'll make a post on asparagus sometime. Grilling really brings out the sweetness of the asparagus. I use a grill pan most of the time. It makes grilling really easy.

I can't wait to see it. Make sure you leave me a comment telling me the post is up.

I'll do that! I'm sure you could make a wonderful grilled asparagus meal and photoshoot! I always just happy to have something to eat, lol! Hope your wrists are doing better.

I love asparagus, but have never learned how to cook it well! I will totally try this recipe! Thanks!

That's awesome @lifes-a-donut. You look new here. Commenting on other steemians' posts is a great way to get started. Keep up the good work

Not a big fan of asparagus, but a soup lover. Think this one deserves a try, since my siblings are big into creamy soups!
Thanks for sharing @gringalicious

p.s: hope your wrist and wounds are healing well and that you are in no pain at all !

Love

Oh, you should so try this. I understand not being into asparagus, but this will change your world. LOL

Thanks for the well wishes. Fantastic commenting. Keep this up and you'll be successful here

I'm a big fan of asparagus!! And would love to give this a try!!
Looks amazing Gringa!!

Is this a request for the recipe?

YES!! Thanks Gringa!!

Ok, fantastic, here it is:

Total Time: 1 hour

Yield: 4

Ingredients

2 pounds fresh asparagus
4 tablespoons butter
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 onion, chopped
2/3 cup heavy cream
7 cups chicken stock
10 slices bacon

Instructions

  1. Cook bacon until crispy and place on paper towel lined plate to absorb excess grease.
  2. Wash asparagus, remove woody ends, and chop into small peices. Saute onion and garlic with butter until tender. Add asparagus and cook about 3 minutes. Pour in broth and cover. Reduce heat to medium low and allow to simmer until asparagus is very tender, about 30 minutes.
  3. Remove from heat and allow to cool for about 5 minutes. Pulse in food processor or blender until very smooth (in batches if necessary).
  4. Return to pan and add cream. Simmer until just until thickened, 5-10 minutes.
  5. Serve hot topped with crumbled pancetta.

I'm gonna make this one!! Sounds and looks great!!

Thanks! Great info/recipe , Asparagus got lots of vitamins and minerals wow!

Thanks @steemthenews. Glad you liked the recipe

Follow @ herman2141 hai kawan steemit wherever you are and vote on steem okay

Ummh yumi yumi, the soups are very nutritious and healthy, they give us energy for a good day of activities. Beautiful pictures. Happy day.

Thanks so much @haydeart, great comment

Yum Yum
I have Upvoted this delicious post...
Do check my blog for amazing Tech related content as well as I have written about the City of Gods that you might wanna check
Follow me and I'll Follow Back

Love your post is delicious
A big hug to @rigaronib for the Logos
They look great
I am you new follower

Thanks so much for the great comment @greatvideos. I look forward to seeing more of you in the future

You are welcome
Much love

gnammmmm, deliciosus

Thanks @sardrt, I appreciate it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63123.52
ETH 3121.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88