A Stink Bug Showed Me Where The Lavender Seeds Are

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

0.jpg

Have you always known where the "Lavender's Seeds" are? Yes? Good for you. You must be thinking .. "for thy be ignorant!" Indeed I was about the lavender seeds, I didn't even know what they look like! If like me, you don't either.. keep reading and you'll get to see it, too! How could I not know? I don't know everything - that's why! However, this one.. I could now scrape off the list of things I don't know about and my it's a very, very long list.

I have always had an idea that they are... like many other seeds.. of course, can be found in the flower but since I am aware that I could just buy them in the plant stores I have never looked for it. I just propagate the lavender through cuttings and sometimes, I see a new Lavender plant sprout on the ground on its own. I'd normally, dig it up, pot it and transplant to where I really want to have it in my garden.

As I've mentioned in this post, though they're edible, I usually make potpourri out of the dried Lavender flowers that I collected from my garden so I just cut most of them and leave just a few ones ... mostly the tall ones for the damselflies and the dragonflies to rest on.

I did the same thing this year and I haven't really cut the ones that I left for them chopper like critters till now. I normally do so the I never really get a chance to find out whether they have seeds or not . The night, I was taking pics for this post the thumbnail for this post was one of those pics I shot.

After taking that pic, I went back in the house, made dinner, had coffee and checked the pics I took. I noticed the stinkbug so I tried enlarging the pic by sliding my thumb and index finger on the screen just to take a good look at the stinkbug which seems to be smiling at me. That's when I noticed the seeds in the flower pod (if that's what they call it). Finding out where it is .. I owe it to the stinkbug.

stnkbug2.jpg

I wasn't sure they were seeds so the next day, I went to take a look and found out that they are indeed Lavender seeds. I plucked one and took a video of proof for you .

The seeds are tucked in deep in the flower pods so it's not easy to spot them. They're very very tiny, almost just longer than a dot you can make using a sign pen.

stnkbug3jpg.jpg

I had to break those pods open to release them. At that time, I wondered how much work it costs the many French or Lavender farmers to harvest them Lavender seeds. Some pods contain two to three seeds but most of them have just one. Some of those seeds are already rotting, they are soft to the touch and browner. My guess is... it's cause it's too wet here. I collected as much and planted them directly in the border of our fence. The rest, I kept in the kitchen towel. If the ones I planted directly into the ground grow next year, I'll let you know.

This content's 100% mine. I took the pics and the video with my Samsung A3 .



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP : DON'T WASTE YOUR VOTING POWER on posts that have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below. .

paid posts:



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



a2b.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Striking night photography....well done.

Lovely to see your photographs and video regarding the lavender plant.

Appreciate anything we can learn about one of the garden's favourtite periennials.

Wishing you loads of new lavender plants, mon ami. A bientot.

thank you mon ami
you're pretty early today, too :)

I'd be damn happy if I could get to propagate a whole patch in my vegetable garden next year - or maybe .. just use them as borders for the patches of veggies .. do you know any vegetable that doesn't like them? Please tip me so I won't plant them next to them :)

Thank you for your reply @englishtchrivy.

Sounds like a lovely idea since lavender responds well to being trimmed....I really am not aware of any plant that does not find itself compatable with lavender.

Lavender can look lovely en mass around/under a bird bath/fountain.....lining a path...etc.

All the best....mon ami. ^_^

Yes...bleujay is a bit early today...^_^

sorry for the late reply, I went out last night, too
so I left early :)

and am still up tonight :D hahaha

Glad I learned something new today.I wonder if I can find lavender seeds to buy. I like the smell of lavender but I never had a lavender plant. Maybe next year :)

am glad we're on the same boat :)
they sell the seeds here so maybe .. they do there, too
if not - send me your address
you know how to reach me :)

:) Then I will find them here too; or I could buy the lavender plant; I;m sure I saw them at the supermarket a few months back.

exactly :)
I've never figured out about the seeds cause I also just bought the plants I placed in the front yard last year :)

nature's secrets are fun to discover ;-)

hey you!
I haven't seen you in a while!
I'm glad you're on again :D

it is indeed ^ ^
how's it going?

Things are good. I have been a bit preoccupied, and so not enough time to check in or post until recently. Hope you're well :-)

am good and glad to see your reply
have great weekend!

It is always good for people at least learn a new thing in the day, today I learned two things, one that the lavender is edible and two where the seeds of lavender are housed, as well as always my seeds in the supermarkets
excelte work dear friend @englishtchrivy, I wish you a great day

thank you
the lavender flower you mean? yes! you can even make tea out of them and the leaves are very good natural aroma enhancer for your meat specially for the fish :D

wau !!! how many benefits, seasoning and infusion, I will try to thank you very much for the information
I wish you a great day dear friend @englishtchrivy

there's so much you can do with it :)

Solid photo! A little stinky though if you get the joke.

I get you :)
thanks!

Interesting and poznovatelnaya article, ashamed to admit, but I not only do not know where the lavender seeds, I do not even know what it looks like, read that it is very fragrant and everything. Now I want to know everything about it and can even plant it in my spring if the climate will allow. Thanks for the interesting post.

hey! that makes us two :)
but now you do :D!
am glad I posted about it then :D

Nice photography!!
its cool!!

I'm anxious for next season when my lavender plants will finally bloom and I can harvest seeds for more planting.

And those dang stick bugs... we have box alder bugs here and they are just as annoying!

hahaha.. I understand how you feel about the bugs
but I love them :)
as long as the stink bug doesn't excrete its fart on me :D or whatever you call it
so am guessing, it's Spring where you are?

No just heading into winter but we had a box alder invasion a few months ago. Those little guys munched up all my Brussel sprouts

i get you for not liking them :)

Lavander has one of the best smells in nature. I always buy soap and shower gels with the scent of lavander.I never saw the seeds until now. Thank you

:)
now I could smell you :)
hmmm... :D

haha, its a good smell :)))

wow......that's a great photo short
thanks for sharing,all the best @englishtchrivy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34