Cosmos The Best Flowering Plant to Bloom Till The First Frost ComessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Are you growing Cosmos in your garden? Then ... you probably don't just have yellow or orange flowering plants despite it's already mid - November . That makes us two ^ ^ . Well, at least for me - it's the best and if the first night frost comes late this year, I'd probably have more of them Cosmos blooms till it does.

00.jpg

01.jpg

a.jpg

b.jpg

c.jpg

d.jpg

e.jpg

f.jpg

g.jpg

h.jpg

i.jpg

j.jpg

k.jpg

l.jpg

m.jpg

n.jpg

I tried pollinating the remaining flowers these days cause there's no more bees nor flies out there and this is how I did it. I can't guarantee that my method is 100% accurate as I mentioned it on the video aside from the fact that the flowers were not monitored on a cam 24/7. If you are a biologist or a horticulturist and you happen to have knowledge about where the anther and the stamen of the Cosmos flowers are please share it in the comment below and I thank you already.

0.jpg

This content's 100% mine. I took the pics ** edit: and the videos with my Samsung A3 1016..



Here are my most recent post: **TIP : DON'T WASTE YOUR VOTING POWER on posts that have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below. .

paid out posts:



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Follow Me ---> @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Lovely colour combination in this post....and photographs...videos and subject matter.

No, I have never tried topping them....in order to encourage the plant to be bushy.....of course....a fantastic idea.....

You even managed to insert a poetic moment...'longing for your visit my darling bee'....sweet.

Wishing you a lovely weekend. A bientot Mon Ami.

thank you monami

no? but .. but .. but that's the key to making it busy .. I even topped the 2nd and third growth, too
but perhaps had I not .. it would have given me blooms earlier :D

I had a lovely weekend .. I hope you did, too!

Amazing to see your flowers now in November, the night frost has already come to Fredrikstad, Norway and it has now broken the flowers here.
So now, just wait until the spring comes again

thank you
frost paid you a visit ?
oh that's sad but I guess that's how it always is out there
do you guys however, manages to grow winter vegetables in this cold and winter weather situation?
like .. here.. kale and other veggies still manages to grow in icy days :D

Now it's also minus degrees during the daytime and then no vegetables will manage

I grew the Seashells mix this year and some of the flowers had the unique shaped petals, like the image below. I love this annual plant because they can withstand the abuse of my children. The frost has finished everything off here, so 'til next year..

beautiful!
I haven't seen that sort .. they look like pasta sea shells ^ ^
I wish you're near, I'd trade a seed or two for two :D

withstand the abuse of your children? what do you mean? they pluck them and play "she loves me, she loves me not?" no frost here, yet hopefully never !

Excellent post and a very beautiful flower @englishtchrivy, answering your question, I'd better put a photo, so I think it will be clearer :)

thanks for that
don't forget to put the source
then ,, I guess I actually meant stigma rather than stamen :D

Oh yeah, I'm glad to help you, the information is here :)

http://www.printablediagram.com/flower-parts-diagrams/

Hello @englishtchrivy! Beautiful Cosmos flowers you got there, the white one is so special! It was my first time growing these beautiful flowers this year! Can I ask you, why did you decide to pollinate them? You didn't manage to catch enough seeds?

I did but I wanted some more so since I did it on the passion plant I tried doing it to them, too :D

Wow , how nice to see such explanation about the polination of flowers it's really amazing experience as I am doing all of that with you. I don't know how would u do that . You wait the whole session to show all the process it's amazing .

well, I wanted to post them earlier in summer but I got busy so they stayed in my files till I got time so instead of wasting all of the pics I took earlier I just put them altogether :D

That's really beautiful to see thanks for sharing the information along with it : )

Had no clue these were called Cosmos!
Thanks for sharing! ☺

it's alright :)
it has a different name elsewhere but close to it :)

hopefully your method goes well :)

thanks
not sure it is but fingers crossed :D

very nice pics

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50