How To Achieve A Pitch Black Background For Your Pic Using A Smartphone

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

g.jpg

Have you ever taken pics at night? Yes, these are basically night shots..uhmmm... dusk shots - more of that :D. Ones, I took in some cold nights I had to throw the green trash and take a few agonizing steps towards the green trashcan in front of the sycamore tree in the far end side of my backyard. Why agonizing? It's bloody cold here at night!

f.jpg

a.jpg

Yes, some of these flowers are still in bloom in my garden, except for the sunflower and can you guess what else? - they caught mildew so I had to let them go. The rest have their petals scorched from the frost. The funny part is some of them are still budding.

b.jpg

In the Philippines, I have friends who have studios where they use backdrafts to take a person or a thing's pic. If it would be any value to you, I just took these pics at dusk and used my phone's flash. For some reasons, the pics turned out like so.

c.jpg

I wonder what the effect would have looked like had I taken them after dusk. This is how they turned out. The pic showed more details so I guess it's better to use the flash at dusk. 'course, you could also just edit the rest and remove the details you don't want to show on the pics but that would take time I suppose.

e.jpg

d.jpg

By the way, I set it on "turn on flash" cause if it's just set on "auto flash" the pics would turn out like these.

i.jpg

j.jpg

h.jpg

Can you identify any of these flowers? Shout it out in the comment. I also just found out the photography chat channel is set on "read room only" for me because the other people can actually send their posts in. Anyone can explain why that is? EDIT : Everything's sorted now.

This content's 100% mine. I took the pics with my Samsung A3 .



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP : DON'T WASTE YOUR VOTING POWER on posts that have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below. .

paid posts:



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Follow Me ---> @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Splendid photographs and tutorial, mon ami.

Forget-Me-Nots, Dahlias, Cosmos.....

Wishing you a lovely week. Happy Monday.....A bientot. ^_^

thank you for dropping by!
hey, no obligations around here :D

you got that right !
you're the only one who always entertains my questions at the bottom
thank you!
I appreciate that a lot!

I never thought of useing my phone camera like that. It came out really cool! Especially that second orange flower. Must be my favourite shot.

about ID's:
1- Forget-me-not
2 - no clue
3 - cosmos
4 - something yellow :p
5, 6 - zinnia
9 - dahlia
10 - cosmos :)

thanks! you got everything you guessed right and sorry am pretty late for the reply but I've been out yesterday and the other days before it has been pretty much hasting here :)

that something yellow are sunflowers they just didn't manage to grow bigger than they did because of the cold as for #2 - I'll let you know when I post about it again ;)

No worries.. I am late with everything lately..

They look pretty cool like that actually. But I would never guess it is a sunflower.

we're the same :) haha
am also almost late with many things haha

Beautiful pictures and thanks for the tip of the flash @englishtchrivy
Re-steemed

thank you!
I appreciate that a loT!

AHA these are things that I want to know actually!
If you dont own a fancy camera, you phone is your photo friend. At least, it is for me hahahha.
But shooting things in the dark, I dont know, they just do not turn out the way I want them to. Let me try with out the autoflash, see if it will help on the S7 (should right??)

exactly ... that makes us two ..
as for shooting in the dark with your S7 it would probably give you a better result
that one has a higher specs - you should give it a try
good luck!

Oh! I see they are all identified! Good!

I find that interesting that they turn black like that with the flash, but, not the option. You know I will have to do it now. I have always wondered how to get the very selective look.

I had no idea it was chilly ever in the Philippines!

Thank you for the useful photography tips!

no not yet :)
look again ..

am not in the Phils :)
am in .. Venus hahah just kidding

Amazing photos, look like professional and the flowers are still very beautiful. My garden has long been cleaned, I just collected seeds from flowers until next spring. Excellent post. Thanks.

thanks!
mine is not :) the weather here is just unpredictable
yesterday it was misty, winter cold all day long
but today it was sunny with a blue sky
I still have a lot of flowers in my garden
the lavenders are still blooming in my front garden and the many other flowering plants in there
the frost - we had it but it just melted at the first streak of sunshine :D

The pics really turned out to be awesome having a pitch dark background really can do wonders

Wow, the great effect turned out and the flowers look very nice. Especially bright looks Cosmos and Petal. Thanks for the beautiful post @englishtchrivy

How wonderful post. I love

wow awesome flowers photography friend @englishtchrivy..
i resteemed your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39