🎶 Open Mic Week 100 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic6 years ago

Holy hell guys we made it to week 100, firstly a massive shout out to the brilliant and amazing @luzcypher - without you mate none of us would be here, hearing and sharing these amazing tunes.

You created something epic and stuck with it through some intense challenges, I am honoured to be a part of this amazing family - thank you so much for having me as part of the team, it's more than I dreamed when we first spoke all those week ago!

Now for the entrants I also want to thank you, cause much like @luzcypher without you guys there wouldn't be a contest - so again thank you for the amazing privilege of hearing your amazing music, you guys make this all possible and I am eternally grateful.

It was so amazing to see so many familiar faces drop by for the historic week 100 of Open mic, it really was an extra special treat to see you all again - it was a bit like a family reunion and so many memories came flooding back in, for some of you it's been too long (but seriously thank you for blessing us with your music this week, it made it all the more special).

I cannot express what an amazing ride it has been here with you all, I am so lucky to be a part of this and I want you all to know - that while I am dodgy at times at responding to you all (I have serious time management issues lol, and two disabled kids :P), I love and appreciate you all for being a part of this and helping make it what it is.

It's insanely late here in Australia, so I'm gonna try and cut myself off before I get all emotional on ya's - so here it is... my week 100 judges top 5 selection!

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @dianakyv - POR TI VOLARE

Oh wow lovely every single time I hear you, I realise just how lucky I am to get to hear such an amazing and pure vocalist - this was absolutely epic in every sense of the term, I just couldn't get enough.

Talk about a perfect performance, both of you were the epitome of perfection - I just can't get over how brilliant this entry was, you both have such insane skills.

I loved the playing, it was so spot on and the perfect accompaniment - played to absolute perfection, just making the sound complete and well balanced throughout, filling the smaller lulls and making this everything it is.

As for the singing I have to say holy hell lovely you have such an epic gift, your voice is just divine and your control of it much the same.

The notes you hit in that song are amazingly impressive, you have an astounding vocal range and capacity - not to mention your impeccable control, it was angelic and full of power just a transcending moment in music.

I wish I had better words to describe the brilliance I just heard, but to hear you smash out an operatic number as though it was no thing - is just breath taking, I knew you had some serious skills but you just left me gobsmacked in the best way possible.

I thought that was sublime, your precision was unparalleled and I cannot wait to hear what you have for us next time - keep it up both of you, this was epic and I cannot thank you enough for sharing it!


2nd Place - @paintingangels - Too Quiet

Ohhhhhh this isn't fair any more hun, you have such an amazing ability to write and create these amazingly encapsulating songs that just speak to my soul - your chilling voice is just so jam packed with emotion, you make me want to cry your songs just make me so emotional.

Now as always your playing is spot on, creating the perfect highlight and accompaniment for your brilliant vocals - it's a subtle backing that makes your music focus on the lyric and melody.

I just can't get over how amazing this song is, you never cease to amaze me with what you can create - I just cannot get enough of your soulful melancholy, it speaks to me on a primal level and I cannot get enough.

Then there is the pure beauty and brilliance of your vocals, you have the most amazing voice ever - the texture tone and feel you can convey is breathtaking, you are an artist and your voice is your brush the song your canvas and you create epic works of art!

This is all I want from music and more, I cannot thank you enough for sharing this part of yourself with us each week - you really have an unparalleled ability to create emotion through music, it's an amazing gift and were just so lucky to receive it!


3rd Place - @lisamalletart - Tempo ao Tempo

You two are just brilliant, so glad to see you both back with us for the 100 week of Open Mic - you never cease to impress or amaze me, you guys make this all look so easy.

You perform so brilliantly and create these amazing songs, making it all look effortless in the process - I have never found an entry from you to I didn't fall in love with.

You guys have such an infectious energy when you perform together, the audience can't help but be drawn into that energy - then there's the fact that your performances are always flawless, you two seriously kick ass with all you do.

(I also want to say I am sorry for not getting back to you when you reply in my posts, you guys are amazing but I suck with juggle two little ones and keeping up with everyone on here - but know I think you two are both amazing musicians and I cannot get enough of your brilliant music!).

Thank you so much for the extra effort you went to with this video, the 100 cake was a lovely touch and the ride wouldn't have been as amazing without entrants like the two of you.

I want to mention the amazingly complex vocal gymnastics, you both did casually throughout the performance - you both have such amazing vocal control and range, using your voices to such epic effect.

I love everything you guys do, so I hope to keep seeing you both round - it was an amazing performance as always and I cannot wait to keep falling in love with your music!


4th Place - @branhmusic - Flying

Wow mate what a way to come back, it's so great to see and hear you again - your music is always just brilliant man.

Your playing is always so encapsulating it draws in the listener, then your kick ass vocals always seal the deal - seriously you have some amazing vocal control.

Your lyrics always play such an epic part of your music, you couple it with incredible melodies and vocal gymnastics and displays that captivate the listener.

I am such a fan of your music and it's really great to hear some more again, hope we get to see more in the coming weeks when you can :D


5th Place - @lucybanks - Weights and Measures

Oh lovely you kicked absolute ass with this one, I just get sucked in by your stellar vocals - there just so much emotion captured in your vocals and it takes me places whenever I hear you sing.

You have an amazing vocal range, the notes you hit are not the easiest - especially in the arrangements displayed in the music you perform, I respect the skill required to pull it off as well as you do.

You have some serious power behind your voice as well, I always love hearing a voice belt out a tune full of passion and emotion - but to make this even more impressive you can hit the soft chilling notes, that you use to create this amazing sense of depth.

I am just in awe of your talents and always love hearing you perform, I cannot wait to hear more from you in the coming weeks - its always such a privilege and a pleasure!


Honourable Mentions:

@joseacabrerav - Cambiemos El Modo

Even with the high wind you can hear just how brilliant you are man, your playing is fantastic and your singing as always is divine - it's always awesome to have you with us and you always leave me wanting more!

@drewsmusic - I Say A Little Prayer

This was absolutely brilliant, I adore this rendition the subtle changes make it work so well for you - this was a perfect honour for her and just a kick ass performance, keep it up I look forward to hearing more.

@arigenevieve - July

This was stunning lovely, I am a massive fan of your Aunties and I can see such amazing similarities in your work so I'm sure it will continue on with you - welcome to steemit and Open Mic, I'm sure you will do brilliant here and I look forward to hearing more and soon!

@jaybird - Gone

Oh my God man I have missed your entries, you have such a great energy - your performances never cease to impress, kick ass song mate I really hope to keep seeing you round.

@pechichemena - El Balcón

Ohhh Pechi you melt my heart man, you have such a soft gentle tone and delivery - your voice soothes and entrances, I always love your music so please never stop sharing it with us here.

@ - Chapters Just Begun

Man this was brilliant, you have a serious knack for creating a catchy tune that captivates - great lyrics, playing and singing mate, all around brilliant entry!

@abelfernandez - Boreal

Wow this was really awesome, watching all the layers come together to make such an awesome and cohesive sound - just brilliant keep at and I hope to see more soon!

@siomarasalmeron - SHE WILL BE LOVED

This was a fantastic entry, just really caught my attention and held it - Once I saw it I knew I needed to give you a mention, keep it up and I hope to see more from you in the coming weeks :D

@huascargarcia - Freestile

So I may have no idea what your saying, but to me the sound was amazing - you guys improvised this well call me impressed, just a kick ass entry and I hope to keep seeing more like this from the both of you!

@basilmarples - 100 (and 1)

OMG BASIL I missed you man, your infectious attitude, not to mention your ability to entertain the crap outta me - your music is so perfectly you and encapsulates so much, honoured to have you back even if only for a week (but really do hope to keep seeing more of you... we miss you man).

@shookriya - Parkinglot Blues

I couldn't not include this in my honourable mentions, this was a bloody brilliant song, performance and entry - I absolutely enjoyed every second of it, hope to keep hearing more :D


Master Shortlist:


@skycorridors, @robertonavs, @jons0318, @victorochoa, @drewley, @shephard, @katrina-ariel, @melor9, @salvadorhr18, @itslobianco, @tarotbyfergus, @cristmounicou, @emiliojmoreno, @nihaoema, @minuetoacademy, @the3metrewrap.


It has been such an amazing ride and getting to listen to all these entries and catch up with some missed faces, it was an amazing way to see in this epic milestone.

I want to thank each and every person that has entered open mic, you are the reason we are hear each and every week - thank you for sharing a part of yourselves with us, it truly is an amazing honour and privilege.

This week we had some phenomenal musicians that simply astounded me, I couldn't get enough of some entries (hence why it's now so late... I kept re-listening) - but it has been an epic week and a truly brilliant way to honour the 100th week of Open Mic.

Thank you all for being with us once more and hope to hear more amazing music from you all soon :D


Songwriters Shoptalk:

Everyone involved in Open Mic or a fan of some of our amazingly talented entrants, should know about the Songwriters Shoptalk - it's a radio show that @meno and I co-host on a weekly basis.

During our two hour show we interview amazing musicians on Steemit, we play some of their original music and get involved in all manner of conversations - I'm not kidding here people, some of the topics are so far from the realm of music I often wonder how we got there.

It's an amazing show and I am thrilled to be a part of it, we have an amazing time each and every week - not to mention we share some amazing music and get to know some of the faces behind the tunes.

Join us 2am UTC Thursdays, it would be great to have you all along for the ride with us - get to know your fellow musicians and as always hear some kick arse music!


Steemit Musicians:

I'd also like to remind everyone again that all top five nominations from this week, will feature in the Steemit Musicians live radio show on MSP-Waves every week - hosted on the Peace Abundance and Liberty discord server, through the Minnow Support Project.

A massive congratulations to all of those to be featured in the show, it is going to be great opportunity to get to further share the awesome entries we receive each week - I can't wait to hear the audience's feedback on all our judges selections and your entries.

I hope you can all drop by and support those who made this week's lists, I'm sure they'd appreciate the support - not to mention if you join you get to help choose the weekly 30 SBD winning entry!


Please join us for Steemit Musicians this Sunday 12-1 UTC!

Time Zone Converter

You can listen live at the mspwaves website- http://mspwaves.com/home/listen
You can listen on twitch-

You can join broadcast hosts in a special chat room on the MSP Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6
You can check out http://mspwaves.com/ for more information


MSP waves logo.gif


Open Mic's New Discord Server:

I'd like to officially welcome you all to the new Open Mic Discord server, we have been open a little while now - with many of you having already joined.

But it's still a little quiet and I blame myself partly (I didn't know the world of crazy would set in just after opening it up and I just haven't been there to engage with everyone properly or promptly), I hope to remedy this in the coming weeks and months with some big plans we have in the works.

For now it's very hush hush, as plans are finalised and things evolve - you a can be sure you guys will hear all about it.

In the meantime however, there are heaps of amazing musicians already on there - it's a tool and you guys need to use it to get full advantage.

Ask a question, request a collaboration the world is yours - hell even just go in there and play around listening to some tunes in the jukebox room!

I will be trying to make myself more available on the server as time continues, so feel free to drop by even just for a chat.


Again a big thanks to @soundlegion, @meno, @verbal-d and @passion-ground for all they do as judges, please remember to go and check out their top five selections each week and to @luzcypher and @pfunk thank you so much for making all of this possible - until next week.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

Krystle!! You are so kind to me and so supportive and it makes me just feel so grateful, you just don't even know. So much love to you and I love your other selections as well. You always say the deepest and insightful things about your choices, it's always such a treat to read your reviews! Thank you thank you thank you!
♥ - Serena

you dont have any idea of how much i enjoyed that trip!!! im still there in my dreams (: tons of love, thx for your nice warming words krys <3

It's amazing it's been 100 weeks already. Crazy! Thanks for the kind words and all your help and energy. Love you.

Click here to see who won Open Mic week 100

ooouuh !!! krystle how beautiful your words, I do not know what to say with so many compliments for our entry in week 100, thanks once more for being in your top, for me, it does not matter to win, for me the important thing is to learn from constructive criticism and to improve thanks to the messages of each jury, it is incredible and you can not imagine the happiness that overwhelms me ..... I send you a big hug !!! ....

Thank you for the mention :)

Amazing job on this. I listened and was very impressed.

Thanks for the love @krystle
Have a great rest of your week!
DC

Your radio show with @meno is also by Discord? Where can I hear you, guys? BTW, very kind words. Felt so good reading your review and seeing myself between your picks! Greetings, @krystle!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44