Steemit Open Mic Week 100 – July (Original)

in #openmic6 years ago

Hi Steemit, I’m Ari...

This is my very first time posting! I’ll be sure to make a more in-depth post properly introducing myself a little later, but for now, I thought this would be a good way to finally start engaging with this platform.

I’ve been singing for as long as I can remember. I started learning to play the piano at age nine, and sometime in the eighth grade I taught myself to play guitar. I think I wrote my first song at age twelve. I had the privilege of attending a wonderful high school where I had the opportunity to explore music academically.

During those 4 years, I often found myself on stage, performing covers and the occasional original, sometimes in a band, others by myself. Since then, however, my music has become much more...intimate — something I usually only share with people who I know I can trust with the deeper and more vulnerable parts of my being.

So, when I played this song for my dear auntie @zipporah (who I’m sure some of you may know), and she insisted on recording a video for me so that I could enter the open mic, I was initially hesitant. After some self-reflection about why I am so guarded with this aspect of myself, I agreed to let her record the song. After all, the initial spark of inspiration for the lyrics came from a conversation between her and I about the various patterns us humans constantly find ourselves falling into.

I should warn you: this is not a happy song. Although I am only twenty-two, I have had my heart broken quite a few times. Recently, I noticed a pattern: every year for seven consecutive years, someone broke my heart in July. This song is about that.



people are such funny things
we spend our lives spiraling
I, myself, have lived the same story
time and time again – on repeat

it's always been this way
maybe you can tell me why
nobody ever seems to stay
oh, it's heartbreak in July

lovers are peculiar things
they come in, make their nest, rest their wings
some may stay for a while, and pass the time
but truth, their hearts are never mine

it's always been this way
maybe you can tell me why
nobody ever seems to stay
oh, it's heartbreak in July

but this year, something changed
it's different than it was before
my mind has been rearranged
my heart is an open door

it's always been that way
maybe I finally know why
I must be the one who walks away
oh, it's heartbreak in July


Huuuuge shoutout to @zipporah for shooting and editing this for me. I am eternally grateful for your presence in my life.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, my dearest Arzipan!

Though I've said it a bajillion times (and then some), I love you so much. Really – more than all the guitars, in all the hands, in all the shops, in all the towns, in all the countries, in alllll the world.

Oh....and I'm super fuckin' proud of you. <3

xo, auntie zippy

steemit-posts(rw)-15.jpg

@zipporah you really are the best. Olive juice!

Olivejuuuiiice! ;)

Olive juice?

serena is intrigued

It kinda rhymes with ‘I love you,’ if ya say it just right

Oh, Ari, what a beautiful song! I love your voice and the bittersweet lyrics are lovely! I can already see you will be a wonderful addition to the Steem blockchain and to the wonderful music community that is here! We love your Auntie Zipporah so much, and I am glad she brought you here! Welcome to Steemit! 😊

Awwww, KittyGirl! Thank you for showing Ari the same loving sweetness you've always shown me. She really is a special one – even if I'm biased. I hope she feels inspired to keep posting after this. I'm working on getting her onto Discord...excited to introduce her to everyone! <3

@zipporah ~ I wondered if you'd have her in PYPT tomorrow... 😉

Alas — she’s a busy gal; in her final year of college, doing an internship and working full time. Might be a minute before she’ll be free for PYPT sessions! But I’ll definitely be pimpin’ her post tomorrow. 🌸🦋🌿🙌🏼⭐️

Thank you @thekittygirl! I’m excited to be here :)

I'm not sure even where to start here. I am IN LOVE with your beautiful voice. It's so warm and delicate, so very much like your dear Aunt Zipporah's. She is such a special force in this world and in this community, and having you here makes everything even more special! I can't wait to see your future songs and I would be SHOCKED if this did not place top 5 this week. I'm for real stunned by the magic that is your voice and aura. Lots of love to you, much respect and best of luck in your travels here! I'm now eagerly following you! Thanks for sharing!

Also, side-note I love your hair and your sweater!!!
♥- Serena

I knew you'd all love her as much as I do! I know I'm biased – but I recognize her brilliance and know that it's far more than my loving, Auntie lens that sees what a gem she is. <3

Thank you for extending such a lovingly warm welcome. I want her to experience the magic of this place as I have – hopefully she'll feel encouraged to start posting more. :)

Thank you so much @paintingangels!!! My heart feels so warm and fuzzy <3

i find this to be true, tho my pattern is to meet people in november. ive never tried to figure out if the breakup is consistent, but july or august seems about right for a few.

It’s always interesting when we identify patterns isn’t it? Thanks for listening @torico

Hola, me gustaría leer los artículos que escribas para la comunidad de Steemit.

welcome to Steem. Zippy's family always welcome!

Ahh, @aggroed, I’ve heard so much about you! It’s nice to ‘meet’ ya :) thanks for the warm welcome

Thanks for showin’ up, @aggroed! 🙌🏼💜

Hi @arigenevieve
Nice to meet you!
I like your video. About the pattern, I think your heart is yours, it will obey your control :) So everything will be fine next year :)

Thank you, I hope so :)

well aren't you just a doll, beautiful song, pretty finger style, pretty voice and a nice recording, looking forward to hearing more from you. :) keep it up!!

Thank you so much @vladivostok :)

You're welcome :) will be looking for you in OneLoveDtube ...can't wait to see what you have next!

beautifulllll ! @zipporah.. has the @helpie kidnapping been deployed???

Welcome to Steemit!!! Looking forward to hearing more of your music :D

I’m workin’ on that! I’ll get her on Discord soon enough. 😘

Wow @arigenevieve, the long sigh at the end... You have a unique talent and voice. Followed and resteemed. ;) Have a great day ahead.

Thank you so much for the love @alvinvoo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90