'1800km From Home... The Long Road To Freedom! My Story pt. IV, Puglia, Italy.'steemCreated with Sketch.

Check out part I, II & III of the story to see how I got up to this point in time!

'Why I Became So Attracted To The Modern Nomad Lifestyle?'
'1800km From Home... The Long Road To Freedom! My Story pt. II, Puglia, Italy.'
'1800km From Home... The Long Road To Freedom! My Story pt. III, Puglia, Italy.'

Chapter IX: World Heritage

..28th of august , 2016..
Me and my brother just left the project 'Giardino Della Gioia' and took the train to the next destination Locorotondo a town near to Cisternino..

I enjoyed sitting on the train, staring through the window seeing different parts of Puglia pass by while being in a half dreamlike state of mind..
Puglia really is a special and unique region. It is famous for the tiny houses "trulli". A "trullo" is an old traditional method of building dating back from the 19th century. Mostly they were used as temporary field shelters and store houses or permanent houses for land owners and farmers. Traditionally they are build using dry stone masonry without mortar or cement.


We passed through a town were it was full of trulli, I think the town was Alberobello. I heard it is very touristic because of its many trulli buildings they have in the town. You can buy a trullo and restore it, but because trulli are protected under UNESCO for world heritage you have to conform with many regulations as you restore it.

Like the lucky bastards we are me and my brother, we had the luck to be invited at a friends house that turned out to be a trullo, and it was a beautiful one. My friend's mother bought and restored a trullo and used it as a vacation home. My friend was a traveler like me but he decided and agreed with his mother to take care of the place for a while when no one was there.

We had arrived in Locorotondo, a town nearby our new temporary home. My friend lived in a village nearby called Sisto. He was waiting for us at the train station. After I introduced him to my brother we started walking through the town.. I was struck with its beauty. It looked like a very old, well maintained, typical Italian town. It was completely restored and kept well during the ages. All these little alleys with typical tiny homes of citizens give you the feeling of going back in time, I love these kind of towns. It's like a window back into the past.



A glimpse of the fairy tale like small streets with typical Italian tiny homes, they really gave me a vibe of being somewhere in the distant past. This is one of Italy's preserved beauties

Ice creammmmm.....

While walking suddenly my friend knew exactly what I was thinking, he stopped and asked "first gelato?" I looked at my brother and we both replied "mmmmmmmm... 🍨gelatooo...🍨" My biggest weakness when I am traveling in the country that can elevate every food to an utterly heavenly deliciousness only by simplicity. They have the most amazing ice creams flavors! They truly are masters in the kitchen. This is probably why a have such a deep passionate relationship with food, because my mother is Italian. Walking while eating ice cream we were heading towards his trullo. After half an hour and one super delicious ice cream we finally arrived at his place.

Chapter X: Food, food and food

In the first two days our friend was like our tour guide, showing us around in this small Italian village and surrounding towns and villages. This was the first time I got to experience a real authentic local Italian market. Being so passionate about food this is one of my favorite things to do when I am exploring other countries and cultures.
Because the Italians care so much about food you find a lot of quality food here! And so many delicious cheeses! As food lover this must be on your to do list here!
So much deliciousness in one place, I advice you not to go on an empty stomach...
you will buy everything! I still dream about it sometimes...

A beautiful view I had to capture while walking up to Cisternino

We had bought a lot of stuff, our friend is a very good cook and also very passionate about food. The combination of 2 passionate cooks and my brother a huge food enthusiast made it one of the most culinary highlights of me and my brothers life!🍕🍲🥘🍦🍰🍽
We made our own pasta, pizza, fermented grains for breakfast, picked wild herbs for lunch, etc...
We enjoyed each others company a lot. We also helped our friend in the garden doing some permaculture gardening..

Our sleeping room right in the middle of the garden, sleeping outside and waking up with the sounds of nature is still my preference nowadays :)

If you are in Puglia I definitely recommend visiting Locorotondo and Cisternino. They are both on the list of the most beautiful villages of Italy "borghi di più belli d'Italia".
Near the end of our stay his neighbours arrived. They owned the trullo next to him, a bigger house consisting out of 3 trulli. He invited them for lunch. We made filled pasta and they brought some vegetable oven dishes and desert. I am getting flashbacks of the foodgasms..😆
What an amazing lunch that was, eating with a real Italian family. I really was in love with Italy for this kind of happenings.
But considering I am a health freak Italy is a dangerous place for me. Ice cream overdose could become a new term if I would live there..haha.. No day passed by without overeating. After Italy came the great detox..lol...

After all these amazing experiences in this beautiful area and with our amazing friend it was time to move on because a friend from belgium was coming to visit us. We had agreed to meet at the airport. So we said goodbye to our friend and were very greatful for the beautiful week we spend with him.
We moved on to our next destination Brindisi airport...

The second image with the trulli is from Pixabay, source.



I am a member of the minnowtowhale team, thanks to @joerocketfilms. If you are new to steemit and want to become a member to help each other grow and participate in the community go here for guidelines, and go to the discord channel and talk to @joeyrocketfilms in the team minnowtowhale channel https://discord.gg/Xuw5DF


Tips

Video Tutorials

Here are some of my older posts if you are interested in some healthy recipes, travel stories or health related topics. Now you don't have to search in between the pile of resteemed posts..:)

I would like to leave you with some amazing talents I discovered until now and their Pieces Of Art!

Friends




Graphic design is done with the website https://www.canva.com/ and all non-sourced images are 100% my own work.
The GIF image is the designed by @pulpworx

Sort:  

Italian gastronomy is really one of the best man! I have been in Rome in 2009 and I still remember all the amazing food I had there!
And Italian ice cream...omg!
Lovely post as usual man!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Thanks for reading and for your kind words my friend :) It is amazing how they can have such a simple and utterly delicious kitchen, food paradise! :D

This post has received a 1.95 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @mitchiesfoodrace.

Congratulations @mitchiesfoodrace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mitchiesfoodrace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60133.79
ETH 2686.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49