Mouth watering tagine mediterranean style! Vegetarian or vegan it is up to you😉

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)


Like I promised in my introduction post, let's go to heaven…

This one will blow your socks off!

I have one special ingredient today that I value very much!

The mushroom!!

Why I value this amazing wonder of nature you ask?
Because I recently discovered a very special man who has been deeply passionate about mushrooms most of his life. And this man’s life story is truly amazing!

By following his passion, his life was a series of coincidences and events that led up to an amazing discovery!

He found the cure to help the bees overcome the so called colony collapse disorder.
This man is a true hero in my opinion.

By coincidence he stumbled on how we can make food for the bees that makes them survive this horrible colony collapse disorder.

And he shares it with the world so we can all help these magnificent little creatures of mother nature!

The guy is Paul Stamets he is a mycologist. I will put a link at the bottom of the page if you’re interested in his amazing story.

Now, I don’t know about you but I am hungry!! Let’s get this delicious, mouth watering tagine recipe out there....


Ingredientes: (2 servings)
2 sweet potatoes (medium size),
1 big aubergine,
2 or 3 red peppers (paprika),
250gr oyster mushrooms,
1 can of tomato sauce or 600gr fresh ripe tomatoes,
1 bunch of spinach,
1 small jar of green olives,
1 big clove of garlic,
1 tsp of dried thyme,
1 tbsp dried oregano,
A small handful of fresh parsley,
Pepper and salt to taste,
Chili flakes to taste (optional for the spicey chili lovers!)
Semi Cured or strong flavored goat cheese (optional for the vegetarians who love cheese!),
Olive oil.

Preparation:

Cut the sweet potatoes in cubes of 1cm. The aubergine I do half of the size because they are more difficult to steam.

Cut the peppers into strips but not too long, maybe cut them in half if necessary.

If fresh tomatoes, throw them in a blender or cut into small pieces and bring to a boil in a small sauce pan. If u have a can of tomatoes, just put them in a small sauce pan and start cooking them. Once boiling simmer at low heat.

Start with adding a glas of water in the tagine, put on a low heat and start to arrange the vegetables.
First I put a layer of the aubergine and pepper, sprinkle this with the thyme and half of the oregano.
Put salt and pepper to taste.

Tear the mushrooms in strips like the peppers. And on top you put the cubes of sweet deliciousness! Close the tagine and let it slowly steam (approx. 1 hour)

Keep in mind that the water should not completely evaporate. Check every now and then.

Cut the olives in smaller pieces,
cut the garlic in very small pieces and add half of the garlic to the sauce with the olives and the spinach.
Also add the other half of the oregano.

Chili lovers make the sauce explode to your liking! Add salt and pepper to taste.

Now, cut the parsley roughly and put a side with the rest of the garlic.

After 1 hour the tagine should be as good as ready.

Add in the tomato sauce stir a little and simmer another 5 minutes in closed tagine.

It’s time to launch! Serve in a deep plate and sprinkle the rest of the garlic and parsley on top with good quality olive oil and some cheese if you like.

Now, let the flavors take you away… dissolve in the deliciousness… this kind of food rocks my world and makes me smile!

I hope you guys enjoyed this meal as much as I did, my day just got better!

Before I go, as promised here is the link to the video of my heroes paul stamets and mother nature!

Thanks again for tuning in on my channel mitchiesfoodrace!
Post you soon..
Much love
Michael

#minnowtowhale

Sort:  

That Tagine looks amazing! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I will make that. Dude! I worship Paul Stamets. That guy is the best. I just finished reading his book "Mycelium Running". That book blew my mind. Very cool that we share that interest in mycelium and mushrooms. Do you forage? or grow mushrooms? I drink a lot of mushroom tea and mushroom coffee. Usually Chaga, lion's Mane or Cordyceps. Nice post.

Thank you @chefsteve I really appreciate you checking out my old posts :)

I was waiting to meet another fan of paul stamets I love this guy :) a true hero!
I have to remember this book, I will read it someday, for sure.

I would love to learn foraging, but until know I was never in the right place at the right time to learn it. I am still wishing for the right time to come :)

Right now the only mushrooms I ingest is the one in my probiotic capsules :D it is combined with turkey tail & reishi mushruurms, I have to eat more mushrooms again.. I just settled in a house after travelling so now I can cook again.. soon the day will come that I buy a big pack of oystermushrooms again :) one of my favorites together with shiitake. I would love to learn to take wild mushrooms!

Did you gain a lot of health benefits with the mushrooms teas, certain things you noticed?

Hi @mitchiesfoodrace Yes, I did gain noticeable health benefits from drinking mushroom teas/coffees.

In the morning I drink mushroom coffee with lion's mane and chaga from Four Sigmatic
https://us.foursigmatic.com
This combination of mushrooms and a low caffeine (40mg) coffee gives me great steady energy without the restlessness and edginess that occurs when you take too much coffee.

At night time when I want to relax I will drink Reishi mushroom elixir also from Four Sigmatic. This mushroom tea has the same effect as having a glass or two of wine without the side effects. I have recently been rethinking if I want to continue drinking alcohol. I love wine and beer but after reading about alcohol, it has almost no benefits and a lot of negatives. It makes you dehydrated and is full of empty calories. It is the only thing that we consume that has calories but does not make you full. In fact it makes you hungry. And when you have been drinking and become hungry, you often make bad eating choices. So, for now I am experimenting with Reishi mushroom tea as an alcohol replacement. So far I like the results.

In the morning, If I need to really focus on a task and "get into the zone", I will drink a regular or strong coffee (100mg to 200mg caffeine) and take a 100mg capsule of L-Theanine. L-Theanine is an amino acid that naturally occurs in green tea. It makes you relaxed but still alert. You can focus without being distracted. You cannot get enough of it just by drinking green tea without getting too much caffeine. That is why you take the capsule with coffee.

Interesting things you take, I also believe this mushrooms are very medicinal but haven't really experimented with them. I was thinking about it after I saw some videos of paul stamets but haven't got to it yet. Starting the new habbits is always taking a long time for me haha :)

And about the alcohol I gave that up a year ago but now every once and awhile I drink again but on completely different level than before and I am much happier with the results :) I don't have to get so wasted anymore :D

P.s. I have always been more a tea person then a coffee person but every once and awhile I like cup of coffee too :)

If you don't like coffee you can try Schisandra Berry Tea. http://www.medicinehunter.com/schisandra
I drink this as a tea in the afternoon when I do not want caffeine. It has a ton of health benefits, but I drink It because it increases energy and increases endurance.

Thank you for the tip my friend :)

Yay for a Tagine recipe. Ive missed these type of recipes ever since I moved from Morocco.

Looks tasty & healthy, well done!

Looks so good!!! Good job! ;)

Hey Mitchie! Awesome Recipe, I love mushrooms too. In one of your pics the mushroom pieces look like Mock-Duck. That's a Chicken-flavored piece of Seitan you can find in Asian markets. At least here in Germany. Do you have any experiences with that? Looking forward to reading more from you :)

#minnowtowhale

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87