3 Days Of Beauty! La Isla Bonita, La palma!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #minnowtowhale7 years ago (edited)

I want to present to you a new series..

Moments Of Beauty! Living The Simple Life And Its Precious moments..

Preface

As you know I have been travelling for a while now and writing about it from the beginning of the story.
A month ago I was staying at a friends place in Tenerife while I discovered steemit and started learning about it. I planned to go back to my favorite Canary Island, La Palma but first I needed to figure out steemit before adapting to the life on the street/beach again. Finally after a month of spending too much time inside learning and writing on steemit I decided to go. My brother and cousin who where travelling with me in the last six months were already there with a good friend from belgium who came to visit us "the three muskiteers". That is how they call us in the familiy.. haha..
After 3 magical days on La Palma I wanted to write about it while everything is still fresh in my memory. This post is also inspired by my steemit friend @rootingrobert, follow his amazing journey in china here "My first brewed Espresso with Laser-Soap Fun [Day 1 in Changde]"

Day 1


Here I am.. breathing in the clean air and absorbing the good vibes of La Palma again... aaah.. I missed this!

My favorite place in the world! I could see myself getting old in this place.. It's a piece of paradise somewhere in the ocean near Morocco. I wish I could order food from Morocco, delivery by boat..lol.. that would be "cool" but also "cool" on arrival..haha.. I love Moroccan food, I definitly have to travel to Morocco one day.


I took a glimpse back and said goodbye and thank you to the ARMAS ferry for bringing me back here.


Heading towards the capital of La Palma to find a shop for buying some food and be on my way to Tazacorte beach again.

While I was on the bus my cousin called me and told me they would pick me up in Los Llanos so I could go to tazacorte beach together with them. After they picked me up and a half hour drive we arrived! On a terrace in Tazacorte we find our friends sitting under a large umbrella, hiding from the midday sun in company of some fresh Spanish beer, they are a couple we met here a few months ago.

Ola muchacho! Como estas?
So nice to see you again!

We joined them under the big cozy umbrella, and started enjoying the good company and Spanish beer. A little later and a little drunk we decided to go to another beach all together, a beach in Los Guirres.
When we arrived at the other beach on the parking lot we noticed everything was full. So we decided to go to a small village nearby to drink some more.. La Bombilla, it looks like a tiny old Cuban village, definitely worth a visit.

A few beers later in a local bar on a terrace in La Bombilla we were already having good times with the family sitting next to our table. A Spanish family united on a Sunday in a local bar/tavern. They behaved a lot like our family when we come together, a lot of beer, a lot of laughter and a lot of fun! My cousin and our friend ended up playing music together with one of the uncles!


^Here you can listen how getting drunk with musicians in La Bombilla sounds like! Amazing!^

What an amazing night! We ended up in Los Guirres to sleep on the beach under the beautiful night sky, illuminated by billions of stars because of "the new moon".
What an amazing day and as a closure the most beautiful sky I have ever seen in my life.
This is the magic of La Palma! These things tend to happen regularly on this island.

Day 2

The next day we went back to Tazacorte beach to meet another friend we met before on the island.
Enjoying the beautiful day, swimming, lying on the beach under a big and beautiful straw umbrella enjoying each others company, all united again...:)

became a nice pick nick on the beach

After the pick nick we decided to go to the north with the couple, they had invited us at their place, they wanted to prepare us some food and later go to the top of the volcano.
Arriving in the north it struck me again, the amazing beauty of the island!

Walking around their place, trying to capture the beauty of the moment...

attempt number one


attempt number two


attempt number three


attempt number four

After drinking some wine, chatting and enjoying the beautiful place, they started preparing food and I helped a little by making a site dish with mackerel fish..


Mmmmmm.. yummy...

The master chef prepared us some rice with onion, garlic and turmeric

Freaking delicious!!

I forgot to take a picture of the delicious appetizer my friend from belgium prepared for us. A piece of red bell pepper with feta cheese, olive oil and oregano inside, yummy yummy!


This was our little cozy eating corner

It was time to move on after this amazing dinner, on to our next adventure

Walking down to our parking spot, breathing in the most healthy air in "Europe"

We were to late to go to the top of the volcano "Roque de los Muchachos" because they close the entrance at 8pm. But this didn't stop the island to reveal its beauty to us.. While we were driving we stopped somewhere on the road to look at the magnificent view.
We were already above the clouds, the top was nearby. I took some pictures before taking a small pad walking up to look for more amazing views.


Every time I turned around and look behind me on the way up, the view got more amazing

Finally I reach a point where I was struck the magnificent beauty again, only to find the most beautiful sunset I had ever seen in my life!


The day just couldn't get any better, everything was perfect! The island had revealed its amazing beauty again like she always does!
You can clearly see why they call it La Isla Bonita!
Before going down again I wanted to show you more of the alien like vegetation on these heights


It is so cool to see so many different climates on such a small island

I can never get sick and tired of the beauty of nature, from the oceans to the forest to the top of the volcanos, every part has its own story to tell in the form of mysterious beauty.

One of the last shots of the three musketeers +1 before we go down

From here on we went looking for a place to sleep and ended up somewhere in the area on the side of the road. A road with almost no traffic between the huge pine trees of the mountains. It was already pitch black outside. We lit a candle and enjoyed the rest of the evening with some wine and "grass" from La Palma..haha..
One thing we didn't expect was the mosquito invasion of the beautiful forest. I almost didn't sleep that night but after waking up in this beautiful place, all was forgotten..

Day 3

This day went slow and I couldn't absorb too much of the beauty because I didn't sleep a lot the last few days but this didn't matter because nobody could take away the beauty I had experienced the passed two days.
I was completely in love with La Palma again!
In the evening we had to drop off our friend from belgium at the airport.
Before we dropped him we had one last good laugh together in a small town next to the airport. We had stumbled on the biggest attraction of La Palma!

The "shitting table"

His holidays were over but he enjoyed every bit of it and said goodbye with a big smile. I think he will be back again, this island is like a magnet! After dropping him at the airport we headed back to tazacorte beach to rest and relax a little bit on the beach..

Resting with my eyes open

I bought me some local comfort food for a lazy day

Papas locas con salchichas y queso

After this the day slowly faded out ending in my sleeping bag on the beach...Zzzzzzz...

Today


This is what a typical morning looks like waking up at the beach of Tazacorte

Wake up and take a dive in the beautiful refreshing ocean, to eventually end up in a city close by writing you this story in company of a green tea trying to be healthy and creative again...:)

Let me know if you enjoyed the story, and if you have some questions I will be happy to help you where I can. If you would like to know the side dish I made with fish I will be happy to give it to you in the comment section. Have you enjoyed the beauty of La Palma? Don't hesitate to tell me I would love to hear about it! Thank you for reading my "Momemts of Beauty"! Post you soon...


I am a member of the minnowtowhale team, thanks to @joerocketfilms. If you are new to steemit and want to become a member to help each other grow and participate in the community go here for guidelines, and go to the discord channel and talk to @joeyrocketfilms in the team minnowtowhale channel https://discord.gg/Xuw5DF


Tips

Video Tutorials

Here are some of my older posts if you are interested in some healthy recipes, travel stories or health related topics. Now you don't have to search in between the pile of resteemed posts..:)

I would like to leave you with some amazing talents I discovered until now and their Pieces Of Art!


Graphic design is done with the website https://www.canva.com/ and all non-sourced images are 100% my own work.
The GIF image is the designed by @pulpworx

Sort:  

Hola, Mitchie!

Your sound-clip from La Bombilla is great! Aplauso!!! Far away from mass-tourism. That is what I also enjoy on La Palma, have been there five times. Some of my favorite places on earth, from Tijarafe to Garafia.

Hola amigo. Amazing :) the island is like a magnet! Everybody always comes back.
I decided to stay eventually, my new home base..

My heart is dying and growing on the same time reading your post about La Palma. Is it possible? All this beauty, all the usual days - what are special every day - the drie musketeers, Benedek, the nomadic lifestyle, La Bajita, La Bombilla, cervezita, drunk musician under the thousands of shiny stars…
More more more my dear. Please more posts of this non-existent island.

Haha :D yeah not everyday is like this.. now I live together with friends and don't go out as much as before. Until now the life is going quietly, focusing more on earning some money before I go out into the world again. I still have to wright about the first time I arrived here ;) so more is coming soon...

Wow! La Palma is really very beautiful @mitchiesfoodrace! You made an amazing post which I really enjoyed reading!
Btw you should visit Morocco, it's indeed a very beautiful country, I have been there in 2015 and will go again soon! Well my wife is Moroccan!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Thank you @progressivechef :) nice, you have probably tasted a lot of amazing moroccan dishes by now, I am jeloes.. haha.. thanks again for your support. Cheers bro :)

Oh yes, I eat Moroccan quite often! One of the best cuisine in the world !

Looks amazing. Is it La Palma Mallorca? I was there once, I loved it so much and found it very similar to South Africa

Lovely lovely pics 👏🏻👏🏻

It is la palma on the canary islands. It is an island group from spain and the two most famous islands are Tenerife and Gran Canaria. The islands are located next to Morocco. La Palma is the nicest island in my opinion. Here only nature lovers spend their holidays, and party people prefer Tenerife :)

Getting warm inside! ❤️😉

Damn, I can't wait till I have more steem power so I give a big fat reward for posts like this. You and @rootingrobert are giving me inspiration among others, now I just need the time! That's a wild lifestyle. Very much enjoyed the story and all the pics too. Especially the meal on the beach 😃 Resteeming!

Glad to hear , Joey. Same does your dedication inspire me ❤

Thanks you Joey! The same goes for me, I am inspired by your dedication to help others and the platform grow. I believe you play an important role and it will pay off. It's an honor to be part of the team! Cheers bro

Hey thanks man! Happy to do my part :)

Spending some wonderful days in La Palma indeed Mitchie. Seems like you had a great time. Thanks for sharing. I am feeling very honoured to be part of your inspiration for this post.

Keep rocking your path! :)

Thank you homie :) now I am preparing to go into la caldera, the jungle of la palma..haha.. probably I will come back with some amazing pictures to show you guys! Post you soon brother :)

Doesn't 'la caldera' mean the boiler, haha? I remember not having hot water in my house on El Hierro. I speak Spanish but had to get myself a diccionario to look up the word for boiler, so I could make a phone call to the repair guy. It was 'La caldera'. So I wonder, is it hot in there? ;)

My spanish is still basic, a desent conversation is still challanging but I can communicate a little.. yes it was very hot in la caldera and it means boiler indeed my friend :) but it was an amazing place, now it is one of my new favorite places on the island :)

Suene como un lugar bastante interesante!
No puedo esperar por la historia de esta avenurita y las fotos! ;)

Gracias, el resto seguirá..

Congratulations @mitchiesfoodrace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 2.67 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @mitchiesfoodrace.

Congratulations @mitchiesfoodrace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42