I almost DIED flying to China!!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

image

A plinging noice emerges and the fasten your seatbelt sign lightens up. An announcement is ongoing.

The captain is speaking. "Please put on your seatbelts and remain seated."

Breakfast is served. Rice with fried vegetables accompanied by fruits & coffee.

image

Moments later the airplane starts shaking. I put my plate with quite tasty food over my coffee cup. It spilled nevertheless.

Spilling... I looked down at my pants. Once white and now with a brownish touch. The spilled coke on the way from Munich to Cairo left its mark.

Suddenly, it felt like reaching the top & turning point of a rollercoaster. Free fall combined with a lack of gravity.

While I was strongly believing everything to turn out alright I simultaneously prepared myself for my last moments.

IMG_20170719_240038422.jpg

I almost shit my pants if I hadn't forced myself to keep as calm as possible while mentally stabilising the airplane with my thoughts.

I don't know if that helped in any way but it certainly helped myself to not freak out totally.

A woman's scream fills the airplane which's interior darkens thanks to the stormy sky. "Am I going to die?"

While we were doing some extra circles above Wuzhou shaking and rumbling I just hoped the fuel to last until Guangzhou.

image

Having basically accepted to not make it to China in one piece I noticed that I can be thankful to have lived such a experience rich -yet too young to die- life I'd never want to switch with anybody.

A big thank you goes to everybody who I've ever met and also to you my dear Steemian.

Later that day:

Being now in Guangzhou I got the chance running a marathon through the whole airport after passing the immigration office to get to my gate to Changde as time was running late.

... and it turned out that not I was running late but rather did the designated plane.

The plane I was aiming to board got delayed thanks to the cloudy weather responsible for the turbulences on my prior flight.

IMG_20170719_202332656.jpg

Having no access to WIFI and just the staff being able speaking English I started watching people.
While people back out of China spend most of their time on their mobiles using Facebook and Instagram Chinese people use apps still unknown to us Westerners.

I recognized WeChat and QQ but also many undefined. I like them. Need to find some friends to intoduce me into the Chinese way of Internetz.

In addition to different mobile apps, some kids also get an extra application here. Do you remember the rope you use to go for a walk with your dog?

Well, here at the airport I just saw a kid attached to its mother through a spiral rubber band.

IMG_20170719_183145343.jpg

Let's see when the flight finally takes off. Although I'd appreciate it not taking off at all after surviving latest turbulences.

After running through the airport again

My flight to Changde is delayed. Now for 3 more hours. After 2 hours of waiting a vivid discussion in Mandarin arises at the boarding counter. As you could guess I don't understand anything but seems like people are upset.

I finally managed to acquire some WLAN. The first plan of getting a Chinese Sim Card didn't work out because of the Simcard Shop being located outside the boarding area.

So I am just passing my time here at the boarding gate B 904 and reading a book I've caried in my backpack for quite some time. "The longest way"

IMG_20170719_203645461.jpg

It's a book about a guy who went through China by foot from Beijing to Northern Germany and his sometimes funny sometimes strange encounters with the Chinese Mainland. I think it's quite fitting for my current situation.

Few moments later

Reading did not last long as a white guy at a Chinese airport sitting on the floor scrolling through book apparently doesn't get away unnoticed.

Soon I was the middle of attention and became friends with Mr. Wong who likes Basketball and lives just 10 minutes away from the German Town as well as with Helen who kindly translated from Mandarin to English and back.

IMG_20170719_205848481.jpg

They were interested in where I am from and what I am going to do in Changde so I did some Coffee propaganda. Helen wants to visit later this week.

Boarding time

Together with my new friends I hoped onto my thankfully last flight, have been part of some more selfies and arrived safely in Changde.

Just to discover that my luggage didn't move as much as I did and was left behind in Guangzhou. Who would have guessed that that would happen?

IMG_20170719_234458995.jpg
Had to fill out some papers

Seems like I won the flight catastrophy bingo.

  • Spill something on your pants - Check
  • Almost die - Check
  • Get your flight delayed - Check
  • Baggage gets missing - Check


Good thing is I enjoy experience happenings like that as long as I don't get hurt.

I am glad that I don't need to board a plane anytime soon!

While reading the newspaper on my last flight to Changde I got to know that during June until August a lot of flight delays and cancellations occur because of extreme weather conditions.

If you want to avoid this, fly to China during other months.

IMG_20170719_212418028.jpg

In the end I managed to get a taxi, enjoyed a ride through Changde at night and was warmly welcomed by coffee master Isabel.

26-32 hours later, depending on how you want to include timezones, I am now finally residing in my momentary new home slightly impressed by its comfortability.

CHINESE HANNOVER - HERE I AM!

IMG_20170720_091617435_HDR.jpg
(That's not Chinese Hannover btw but the view from my floor :D)

Sort:  

Wow holy shit buddy glad you made it okay. You know the universe has your back :)

Keep doing great things buddy

I hope the universe tested me enough in high air. Flight turbulences are the worst because you are basically totally unable to do anything to get out of that situation.

Keeping up the great things same as I know you will my friend! :)

Exactly brother all you can do is have faith. I think that is the lesson the universe was trying to teach you :)

You struggles with changing flights sounds so familiar :(
I once flew from Helsinki via New York to Dallas.
Only when we ere already over the Atlantic Ocean I noticed that I not only had to change flights in New York - but also airports. in something like 1,5hrs - great! And on top of it all I of course had to fetch my luggage.

OK, I got my luggage and luckily they have a bus stop on JFK just outside the luggage department so off I went. Then some running at LaGuardia and I was just about in time at the other desk (like 5 mins before the gate would have closed).

But no hurry - my plane was still in Canada - not even flying to LaGuardia yet... And this was 1 a.m.

I thin we finally got off to Dallas around 4 a.m...

Oh Boy what a hustle! In situation like that I always don't know how to feel. Bad because of the unnecessary hustle one went through or good because you'll get your flight.

At such a late / early time waiting is especially exhausting. I feel you my friend.

Nevertheless I always try to look for cities with just one airport to not get caught in that trap :D

China is notorious for having flight delays and cancellations. I was flying from Shenzhen to Hangzhou last week and they cancelled our flight due to "the military". They must have been doing flight training or drills. Turned out for the best though since we found the best Brazilian BBQ I've ever tasted that night. What brings you to China?

By the way, here is a video made by the author of the book you are reading. Quite a cool timelapse of China:

Every downside has its advantages :D

Thanks for sharing the video. I just noticed I've seen the thumbnail on a Facebook video but didn't bring him into relation with the book I'm currently reading.

They rebuilt the old town of Hanover, a German town I used to live in Changde and the Hannoversche Kaffemanufaktur which offers excellent coffee decided to open up their shop there too. I'm going to support the local team as a Barista for the next few months.

Where in China are you?

That's awesome! Most foreigners who come here work in business or teach English. Being a barista in China would be a fun experience.

I used to live up north near Beijing but now I'm living in Hangzhou.

Yeah, foreign English teachers are often seen in eastern countries.

I sometimes enjoy doing stuff with my hands besides writing so being a Barista sounds quite nice.

Had my first day today. The location and team is wonderful. Changde furthermore has a beautiful park and a late night water- and laser show.

In which province is Hangzhou located? I don't know how to search for stuff yet as Google is blocked and my VPN ain't working all the time :D

RIght on. Do your coworkers speak English?

Hangzhou is in Zhejiang province near Shanghai. So I'm east and a little north of you. Yeah the internet here takes some getting used to. If my VPN isn't working, I'll use bing.com or baidu.com. They pale in comparison to google though.

Well best of luck here dude. If you ever have any questions or need help with anything, just let me know.

Thank you very much I'll let you know in case I got any inquiries. Feel free to tell me in case you plan visiting Changde! :)

My coworkers are a mixture of Germans and Chinese and almost all of them speak proper English. It's more than a team, it's a family. I am happy and honoured to be part of them !

This story is too good buddy sooo...

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Oh Boy! Thank you @chiefmappster. Feeling so honoured. Seems like almost shitting my pants had a higher purpose :D

hahahaha the universe always works in mysterious ways my friend :)

I am curious for your upcoming adventures, keep us posted amigo..:)

Thank you my friend. I'll keep you informed. Next story is incoming. I'm so flashed by my new home!

Wow, this is horrifying to read about, sounds like you dealt with it well.

As well as one if able to do in such a situation. If you're even able to ever deal well in such a situation. You're simply trapped not just in an air plane in mid air but also in a scene of no possible action. Being exposed to higher odds...

Ach du sch..... Und dann lese ich das kurz bevor wir los fliegen 😂 😁

Naja. Ich lebe ja immerhin noch :D Wird bei euch schon auch klappen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29