My first trip to Morocco - The land of the setting sun!!!

in #travel7 years ago

Morocco is a country rich in history, tradition and culture!

And it is also one of the most exotic of travel destinations in the world!

As my wife is Moroccan, I had the opportunity to visit this beautiful country for the first time in 2015!
It is one country that won’t leave you indifferent… Once you surrender to its many charms it will seduce you, as I was!

Come discover and enjoy the beauty of some of the random pics that I took during my first trip in the land of the setting sun!!!

58FrVDC.jpg
Source

13 ‎September ‎2015, ‏‎14:22:02!!!
After nearly 14 hours of flight, me and Rheem are ready to discover Morocco for the first time!!!

IMG_6399.jpg

This is the first picture I took of this beautiful land!
Welcome to Casablanca!!!

IMG_6412.jpg

Casablanca is really a very unique city, you will find some places super luxury and others still locked in the ancient times!
I really enjoyed that I found a traditional shoe maker on the streets in Casa! Lovely!

IMG_6492.jpg

Just near where I was staying, there was this Sfenj seller still cooking in the traditional ways! Check below to know what is Sfenj!

IMG_6630.jpg

Sfenj is a Moroccan savory fried dough which is eaten hot on the stop! I can't recall how many I ate! A lot!!!

IMG_6444.jpg

The abundance of fruits is just amazing in Morocco! It was the first time I got to discover these Barbarian Figs! It is really very sweet to eat and is from the cactus plant!

IMG_6421.jpg

On a specific area in Casa, you will notice many of these white two wheels trucks selling one of the most famous soup in Morocco! I never knew that Moroccans love these! Check below to know what they sell!

IMG_6455.jpg

Hmmm yes Snail soup! It is called Bebouch in Morocco!
Bebouch is popular year round, especially during the winter.
The soup broth is a concoction of 15 different spices including thyme, aniseed and licorice root. Every gulp of broth ignites the back of the throat with a tingly sensation.

IMG_6452.jpg

It was so hot when I visited Morocco and you feel so thirsty! No worries, you will find this amazing man dressed in a colorful dress selling fresh cold water served in copper glasses! It is really refreshing!

IMG_6512.jpg

In the city of Tangier, I found these donkeys which are still a type of transportation!

IMG_7057.jpg

I enjoyed a horse cart tour when I was in Marrakech! Unforgettable experience!

IMG_7186.jpg

I also got the opportunity to visit a distant village in the region of Marrakech! It felt like I went back in time! But it was great!

IMG_7198.jpg

In this village I got to taste a traditional food... Grilled lamb liver and heart! It was so delicious!

IMG_7221.jpg

Fresh beef cuts on sale in open air, I have never seen that in my life! In Morocco this is a normal practice and the beef quality is really good! Check below how I tasted the beef!

IMG_7103.jpg

Oh yes, the best Tajine ever! Cooked on charcoal with the fresh beef above and plenty of veggies, simply marvelous!

IMG_7098.jpg

As I told you earlier, fruits are in abundance there! The Moroccan oranges, especially the one in Marrakech is known as one of the sweetest in the world! And it is true!

IMG_6915.jpg

To end up the journey, I was so happy to finally see an olive tree with olives on it! This was in the Rif mountains! The olives plantation is just unbelievable! There were olives everywhere!

IMG_7072.jpg

So here we are dear friends some random photos of my first trip in Morocco!

How you find this country? As for me it is sure that I will be visiting this land again and again as I still have a lot to discover!

Please do comment below and let me have your views! Should you like the post, kindly upvote and resteem if you wish!

Thank you!

chef.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for your sharing, and I will travel there in the future.

That's great to hear @cornelia! You'll really enjoy it there! Life is so beautiful in Morocco!

Fantastic post ! I wish to visit there some day ! 👍👍👍

You should definitely visit this amazing country @karenmckersie! It's really worth it! And the food! Wow! You'll love it!

I wish to some day when im rich and famous ! LOL! Steem on !👍👍👍

When Steem will be $10 and we start getting some decent votes! hahaha!

Great place. We have been to Morroco once and def wanna go again. But wow 14 hours to get there! That's crazy. From Europe it was only 4 hours.... but reckon it will be a day trip now from Asia. Have a great day!

Oh yes from Europe it's quite near! You'll feel it from Asia now! hahaha!

This post has received a 2.69 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @progressivechef.

Cool love the barbarian figs and the snail soup sounds... interesting LOL No I bet it is good :) Great post! Love the pics! Following you now :)

It was really good @carlgnash! Well everything is good in Morocco! Hahaha!
Thanks for stopping by mate!

Very nice pictures! Looks like you had a great journey and time. The food looks great.

Thanks a lot @gavinthegreat! I really had a great time indeed, it's one of the best country I've ever visited!
The food is just awesome, i just loved eating the food from the street vendor, so nice!

Loved this post! I've always wanted to go to Morroco.

The sfenj looks especially good, and Morocco looks bright and diverse through your eyes 🤗

The culture is absolutely stunning @princessmewmew! I will post abt the sfenj soon, it's not healthy but super easy and delicious!

You had me wishing at first with the picture of the camels in the sand but then you showed the parking lot and tourist trap and it sort of ruined it.

I'm sorry for that @thebul!
Thanks for stopping by anyway!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Wow Morocco! I hope I will be posing about it too in somewhere in the future..hehe. Nice post, thanks for sharing :)

Will look forward to your adventure mate!
Thanks a lot for checking!
Really appreciate it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by progressivechef M2W from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60133.79
ETH 2686.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49