Make More Steem: Verify Your Introduction Posts!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

There's a lot of awesome inside! TeamSteem Style! I've spotted a couple of scammy introduction posts. Here's one blatant example which is currently worth more than $18. (Back to $0)

Scammy Post (not welcome)

"Introduction Post" by @daniwong (Screenshot #1 #2 #3)

Copied from this post.
"Introduction post" by @bungasalsa (Screenshot #1 #2)

Only the name, pictures and a couple of lines are different.

Welcome New Steemians!

Everyone who know me know how much I love Steem and how much I want to help as much as possible. Yup, there's a very real possibility the people making these fake introduction posts are poor but the reality is upvoting those posts isn't making Steem a better place.

Steem's Infinite Potential!

The number of daily visits and content creation is skyrocketing. It was expected. Steem offers more than what some other much more popular websites are currently offering except Steem pays its users and allows peer-to-peer banking.

I'm thinking in particular about Redddit. Yes, you Reddit! We're coming! Expect us! (We're very friendly and looking to help.) But not just Reddit, as many people who read my latest article have realized Steem's potential is much bigger than any other websites.

I'm encouraging all of us to upvote our friends those who bring value to the platform and we know are real. We also know they will bring value back to our posts and Steem social network. Let's encourage people to create valuable content, verify themselves and also to share their Steem posts on their other social networks.

Mutually Beneficial Always Pays Best!

There's no need for us to upvote people who don't verify themselves with video or pictures mentioning Steemit. Sure anonymous account can bring a lot of value to Steemit but clearly the posts mentioned above haven't brought much to Steemit.

I've upvoted introduction post from people who haven't verify themselves in the past and it might very well happen in the future but what I think these 2 posts shows is that we should try to be more diligent.

I just realized part of the text as also been copied in this introduction post. (Screenshot) It makes my case stronger. Let's bring empowerment/Steem to people who bring real value to Steem.

I'm encouraging people who are interested in creating scammy account to try to create more valuable content instead. In the long run, mutually beneficial behavior always pays best, at least on Steemit!

Find Out More!

Sign Up!

Have fun and sign up!
No credit card needed.

Financial wealth is just a tool and not an end in itself.

Advancing the ideals I share in my articles is what I'm about. Consider approving my witness if you share those ideals and consider approving other witnesses too, seriously!

Type teamsteem at the bottom of the page and then click vote.

(https://steemit.com/~witnesses)

Thank you to everyone who's been reading and Steeming!

Questions and comments are very much welcome!

I'm not making this up. This is like it is as I post this and people keep upvoting this post.

Sort:  

Thanks for this post! I found it really insightful seeing as I just created an Introduction post for myself about an hour ago. Is there anything additional I should add to mine to make it more valuable and trusted?? I'd appreciate advice! Thank you!

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@sarahjanele/introduction-who-is-sarah-rodebush

Very cool post!

I'll give you a vote if you add a verification picture as your first picture in the post. That's what I should have mention in my post and put an example of it.

This is what I want to see in introduction post. It make it super fast to determine if this is a real person and not someone creating multiple accounts with picture they took on the internet.

I know you're a real person. It's pretty easy to see by the quality of your post but nonetheless, I'd love if more people knew even if this picture is not a prerequisite it help and people who don't mind not remaining anonymous should do such verification picture.

The reason for it to be the first picture is so that we can see it as the thumbnail and be easier to distinguish from other introduction post who don't have this picture.

No matter what, your post is doing really good and I'm glad to see you join Steemit. I love how your post looks and what it says.

Edit: I upvoted because you verified yourself with your Steemit contact on your website but my points still stands for anyone reading this.

Thank you so much for the feedback! I really do appreciate it, and the upvote! :)

I'm glad I'm not the only one who is actively trying to improve the content on Steemit. To that effect I created this campaign (please give me feedback, I just want to help):

I will upvote every constructive comment I get on Steemit with 5-10 cents in order to create a WIN-WIN-WIN.

You win by having me upvote and follow you, I win by having great comments and more followers and above all Steemit wins by getting better content.

Read about the rules and conditions here.

Please respond here or on my post with any feedback you have, thanks!

I hate to disagree, but I didn't find anything wrong with Bungasalsa's post. It should not be called scammy post. The screenshots of the first one don't work, so I can't say about that one. Verification should not be made to done forcefully. I would have appreciated you if you had suggested Bungasalsa, to verify and why to verify, but your comment, "Can you verify yourself with a picture of you holding a sign that say hello Steemit or with a video?" doesn't sound good. Hope you don't mind my comment, just my view.

You're very right. Thank you for pointing my error. I edited my post earlier and that is where the error came in. I re-edited it. I also re-edited my comment. You were also right on this too. Thank you for correcting me.

I think verifying yourself with a picture of you holding a sign that says hello Steemit or with a video could help you in the future on Steemit.

Thank you for taking my comment in a positive manner. Very less people have guts to accept their mistakes. Hats off to you sir.

Verification should not be made to done forcefully. I would have appreciated you if you had suggested Bungasalsa, to verify and why to verify, but your comment, "Can you verify yourself with a picture of you holding a sign that say hello Steemit or with a video?" doesn't sound good.

Agree 100%

I agree and I changed it. It's suspicious but that doesn't prove anything, yet she didn't answered to the request which makes it even more suspicious.

For sure. I do a little reporting myself but I would only really value something of substance over suspicion.

It amazes me how much work they will go through to setup an account and then copy and paste something. They could have just as easily spent an extra five minutes and started earning long term from a few camera phone pictures and original content.

Yes to what you just said!

How does one "verify" themself?

Verify themselves with a picture or video mentioning Steemit or even better post one of their Steem post preferably their introduction post to one of their other social network.

My steemit introduction did horribly.
I called it "Steemit I N T R O" and I did put a picture.
Oh well.

From what I've noticed, the "IntroduceYourself" posts that have pictures of girls get more upvotes... Mine had zero pictures, but I actually gave introductory info about myself, and I made like $4... Some post with a couple words and 6 pics of a girl makes over $50

One of rare cases where gender inequality is reversed, lol.

The only reason you can say that, is because I actually introduced myself in my IntroduceYourself post.

Ya, I know.
:s

Thats unfortunately just the world that we live in friend.

Steem will hopefully bring about a new world. Hey one can dream.

Exactly....the future of social media possibly.

Now why didn't I think of that??? My original photo was more recent and scared everyone away, I think!

Keep creating new content and have fun! Bring in new Steemians!

I just uploaded a video about Steemit and my move from Youtube.

Does my video verify me?

It totally does. Awesome video. I upvoted and I'm now following you.

Excellent topic and thoughts shared with us here, thanks a bunch.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

I had no idea what the introductory posts were until I was on here for a few weeks and read someone else's post saying, "Do an introduce yourself post!" Since posting my own, I noticed that people often post a picture of themselves holding a sign with the date and Steemit on it. Obviously creating fake posts or abusing the introduce yourself tag is wrong, but I would also bet that a lot of new users just don't know how to do it the right way.

I agree. A lot of people don't reach much either so that can partly explain why.

Great post, I didn't do so well in my introduction post... However I obtained my account using "anon steem" for privacy (for my own reasons).

I've only been using Steem for a few days but I also believe that it will take over reddit as THE front page of the internet, it's only a matter of time. The issue will be the hardcore Reddit users that are pretty stubborn.... Quality posts and active users are the key

Cool! It's good to see people using anon steem.

I don't give Reddit much chance but we'll see.

I think you miss out on the both right and desire for some users to remain anonymous. Steem seems to have this thing for "verifying" everything... those silly steemverify.com badges and the like. The only verification needed is upvotes, period.
That said, posting a verified picture or video allows you to prove that account belongs to you - if you are a notable figure, or hope to be :).

Pardon my skepticism, but some people may want to post revealing or controversial content that they don't want connected back to them by name. Case in point is Tyler Durden on Zerohedge. The journalists are anonymous. By focusing on the content and not the author, there is no one to attack and its the information which is highlighted, as it should be. I'm sorry but this dictating to people what they should and shouldn't do seems counter intuitive to a platform such as this.

Steem as I am aware is not just a place to post/blog, it is more than that. There is value in Steem because it is a crypto-coin and is open to abuse if the proper checks and controls are not there. I understand the team's requirement to have some sort of verification of its members to ensure that the integrity of the platform is preserved but I hope it does not go as far as the "Know Your Customer" principle in the financial sector.

I'm not a paid employee of Steemit.

By the way @hattorihanzo, I never dictated anything to anyone nor did I say anonymous accounts didn't have their place on Steemit in fact I explicitly mentioned anonymous accounts can bring value to the platform. Sorry if that wasn't clear.

Sure anonymous account can bring a lot of value to Steemit but clearly the posts mentioned above haven't brought much to Steemit.

I've upvoted introduction post from people who haven't verify themselves in the past and it might very well happen in the future but what I think these 2 posts shows is that we should try to be more diligent.

I absolutely agree with you.

Particularly in the current ubiquitous data harvesting online ecosystem we inhabit, and further enhanced by the gradual migration of that information to 'state actors' whose commencement of operations have been characterized by misinformation, at best, and malicious disinformation in all likelihood, it behooves prudent posters to limit the potential of such entities to link social, business, and political activity.

The chilling effect I experience when posting items I know my mother, children, competitors and overlords are watching is a cogent reminder that freedom is neither free, nor easy. While I am not complacent when posting anonymously, I know only nefarious actors can harm me through illegally using my personal information. Honest people might disagree with me, but can't, for example, threaten my children to shut me up.

This is why I need anonymity.

I wondered the same thing, but couldn't have elucidated it so well @hattorihanzo
Because of my content ilk, I'll be verifying, but not everyone is in that camp.

Not every one who wants anonymity is dodgy. I post quite a few times a day however I can't reveal my true identity as it would cost me my job a clearance. But I won't stop trying to get the truth out there, take a look at my posts and follow me I'm for real dudes.

I never said anonymous accounts didn't have their place on Steemit in fact I explicitly mentioned anonymous accounts can bring value to the platform. Sorry if that wasn't clear.

Sure anonymous account can bring a lot of value to Steemit but clearly the posts mentioned above haven't brought much to Steemit.

I've upvoted introduction post from people who haven't verify themselves in the past and it might very well happen in the future but what I think these 2 posts shows is that we should try to be more diligent.

I think one of the biggest problems comes with the definition of anonymous. Just because you don't post pictures or videos of yourself doesn't mean you're anonymous.

I'm not anonymous. I share who I am. I share my passions, my life. I'm a real person.

I assure you, seeing a photo or video of me will not help you get to know me. In fact, it'll likely hinder it.

I'm not anonymous if you take the time to get to know me.

No worries. Thanks for the clarification. I doubt if my wife could identify me from the picture.

Hehe, you seem to have frightened a multitude of anonymous Steemit users. It's comforting to know that you weren't treating them as terror suspects, haha. On a serious note, I'm glad that you agreed with @personz that one's work should stand on its own. Because that's exactly what I had in mind and wanting to convey it to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31