You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Make More Steem: Verify Your Introduction Posts!

Pardon my skepticism, but some people may want to post revealing or controversial content that they don't want connected back to them by name. Case in point is Tyler Durden on Zerohedge. The journalists are anonymous. By focusing on the content and not the author, there is no one to attack and its the information which is highlighted, as it should be. I'm sorry but this dictating to people what they should and shouldn't do seems counter intuitive to a platform such as this.

Sort:  

Steem as I am aware is not just a place to post/blog, it is more than that. There is value in Steem because it is a crypto-coin and is open to abuse if the proper checks and controls are not there. I understand the team's requirement to have some sort of verification of its members to ensure that the integrity of the platform is preserved but I hope it does not go as far as the "Know Your Customer" principle in the financial sector.

I'm not a paid employee of Steemit.

By the way @hattorihanzo, I never dictated anything to anyone nor did I say anonymous accounts didn't have their place on Steemit in fact I explicitly mentioned anonymous accounts can bring value to the platform. Sorry if that wasn't clear.

Sure anonymous account can bring a lot of value to Steemit but clearly the posts mentioned above haven't brought much to Steemit.

I've upvoted introduction post from people who haven't verify themselves in the past and it might very well happen in the future but what I think these 2 posts shows is that we should try to be more diligent.

I absolutely agree with you.

Particularly in the current ubiquitous data harvesting online ecosystem we inhabit, and further enhanced by the gradual migration of that information to 'state actors' whose commencement of operations have been characterized by misinformation, at best, and malicious disinformation in all likelihood, it behooves prudent posters to limit the potential of such entities to link social, business, and political activity.

The chilling effect I experience when posting items I know my mother, children, competitors and overlords are watching is a cogent reminder that freedom is neither free, nor easy. While I am not complacent when posting anonymously, I know only nefarious actors can harm me through illegally using my personal information. Honest people might disagree with me, but can't, for example, threaten my children to shut me up.

This is why I need anonymity.

I wondered the same thing, but couldn't have elucidated it so well @hattorihanzo
Because of my content ilk, I'll be verifying, but not everyone is in that camp.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55