My Golden Girl steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

Decided to stop by the @freewritehouse today. It was a Tuesday, meaning it was going to get crowded later on, but for now, there was just a small group of people talking about the value of gold. I quickly easedropped on the conversation.

"Have you ever heard of the protective qualities of gold?" @paul.atreides said "It can protect us from dangerous radiation."

Cool! You taught me something I should have known already” @carolkean "If Jenny could see me now!” She laughed jokingly, referring to one of her characters in her latest freewrite book "The Snow Ball".

"When I think of gold I think of the gold summer sun slips below the pamplemousse orchard. And of lemonade. Barkeep, can I get another one.” @wordymouth said holding up an empty glass “what do you think of?” he asked me.

I laughed “right now, I can only think of my proudest moment of my life. Last week my daughter’s team won the sports competition at school and she came home with a medal. She's my golden girl." Great times to be a dad.


This is a free write based on a daily prompt provided by @mariannewest. More info:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-529-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-gold

Freewriters/Freewrites mentioned in this story
@paul.atreides > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@paul.atreides/5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-gold
@carolkean > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@carolkean/day-529-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-gold-march-madness-continues
@wordymouth > https://steemit.com/freewritehousepoetry/@wordymouth/the-gold-pamplemousse-orchard


The March Madness Fan Contest (5 STEEM Giveaway)

Halfway through March Madness I promised and even announced a mmfan contest. I didn't keep my promise, as I never wrote any of the missing freewrites up until today. I still have the 5 steem in my wallet and I want to make up for not following through the first time, so I'm giving it away this week.

Make sure to read the outro to my freewritehouse march madness series here. Below a listing of all episodes:
1 - A Night at Jerry’s
2 - The audition for Saturday Night dancers
3 - The Meat and Gravy that wasn’t
4 - 500 Shades of Freewrite
5 - Much Ado About A Minivan
6 - Flying mushrooms and liquor trips
7 - The Freewrite Novel: A Quick Snapshot
8 - Good beads on dead Tuesday
9 - Nothing beads a pound cake
10 - The Weekend Road Trip
Outro - Deep Space - A Jittery Dream

To participate in the MMFAN Contest you will have to:

  1. Comment on the outdo post by using the #mmfan hashtag. Preferably a response of 25+ words, not just commenting the hashtag
  2. I will respond to every #mmfan comment and will include an 5-25% upvote (currently worth $0.002-$0.010).
  3. Let me know which episode was your favorite and which character was your favorite. Please elaborate why.
    I will choose the winners next weekend and will make a post on Sunday April 7th announcing the winners with prove of payout.

Let’s built #SteemAwareness, connect on Twitter!
Steemians on Twitter


#Lobi
@jeanlucsr

Special shoutout to @zord189 for this awesome signature

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Your daughter is so cute!!!
And I am inviting you to participate in a We-Write - your partner can be anyone - your wife, friend...
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/we-write-partner-up-10-sbi-in-prizes-4-4-2019

Thanks 😊..

@pixiehunter.. are we still on for a we-write?

Posted using Partiko Android

What a fun and creative freewrite! And it has a perfect ending with your cute "golden girl." Congratulations to her! A moment that both of you will never forget. : )

Resident cat here, helping to deliver today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-530-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-jewel-thieves

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Thanks for the link up. Will start with today's freewrite shortly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Look at the smile on the champion :)

Yeah.. she was proud as well 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Fellow Freewriters and #mmfan s, I suggest you read 7 - The Freewrite Novel: A Quick Snapshot to learn more about this unique project, esp this section:

Character-Building

From Day 1, I have slowly been building up the characters in the Freewrite House novel. I’ve mainly used the bio’s of the people that post freewrites often and in some cases gone back a couple of months in their posts to find small bits of personal info. As more people joined in, I started building their character based on the type of posts they write. To better connect with the story, I decided to make a snapshot of all characters/key elements mentioned in the Freewrite House novel. Between brackets the episodes in which they appear. There's more. Check it out! @jeanlucsr, Way to raise the ante on freewriting and increasing the challenge. :)

I like all of these, of course, but if forced to pick, I'd say
#5 - Much Ado About A Minivan- for the dialogue, esp,
"Do you miss the minivan life?” @ntowl asked.
“No. I’m happy to be rid of it,” @owasco said. "At a certain point, they become really hard to maintain.”
"Bad things can happen in older vans, especially ones with some tint" @kimberlylane confirmed.
@iamjadeline had stepped out of the van, so did the driver. It was @botefarm with a very sad face.

Dare I confess I laughed at the last line - out of the minivan stepped @botefarm with a very sad face -? I don't know why it's so funny, or so darkly comic, but botefarm has written a lot of tragic stuff, and maybe I could picture this all too clearly? Thanks for these Jeanlucsr!

It really is the style in which @botefarm freewrites. He always has beautiful stories, but I also somehow pick some of the darker lines. He and @balticbadger always get me to be more creative, because I have to take their lines out of the context of their original story. As for the minivan freewrite. A lot of people joined in on that one to share personal stories, which made that freewrite really enjoyable. Thanks for sharing @carolkean! It's fun to read all of it back 😊.

Posted using Partiko Android

I loved your mm stories. They would spur me to read more of other people's freewrites. And here you are still doing it!

Will try to keep it up. Going to be keeping them a little bit shorter now. Think I'll max out daily on 5-10 freewrites.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congrats to that cute little medalist!

Thanks!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jeanlucsr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60531.60
ETH 2905.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33