The Freewrite Novel: A quick snapshotsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #marchmadness5 years ago (edited)

Let’s take another snapshot, that’s hot
Let’s take another snapshot, that’s hot
The @freewritehouse is rocking, around the clock

I wanted to use the snapshot prompt for an official song for my freewritehouse novel so bad, but I think it is about time to give a little more insight to what I’m actually doing this March Madness.

The Format

While replying to a comment of @pixiehunter today I realized I never fully explained the format that I’m using to writing my March Madness pieces. Every day I go through the posts of @MarianneWest and the @freewritehouse to check out the comments and read all the freewrites that have been posted with the daily prompt.
I like to take at least one line out of every freewrite that was written with the prompt of the day. If it fits, I'll use more. Most of the times, especially when 15+ writers join in, there is a clear pattern. And for the first freewrite I actually did have to go through the bio's and old posts to create some character background.

Character-Building

From Day 1, I have slowly been building up the characters in the Freewrite House novel. I’ve mainly used the bio’s of the people that post freewrites often and in some cases gone back a couple of months in their posts to find small bits of personal info. As more people joined in, I started building their character based on the type of posts they write. To better connect with the story, I decided to make a snapshot of all characters/key elements mentioned in the Freewrite House novel. Between brackets the episodes in which they appear.

The core

@mariannewest boulevard (1,3,4) > A boulevard in Steem City, pretty popular among Freewriters

The @freewritehouse (1,3,4,5,6) > One of the main houses on @mariannewest boulevard, also popular among Freewriters

@kaelci (3,4,5) > Famous writer/director known for multiple books and TV Series. Most notably ‘Certain Choas’, the series that is the talk of town at the moment.

The Freewrite House Crew

@felt.buzz (1,2,3,5,6) > The owner of the building which resides the @freewritehouse, who uses the top floors as a bed and breakfast, and rented out the bar and lounge downstairs to @d00k13. Avid reader.

@d00k13 (1,2,3,4,5,6) > The owner of Jerry’s (named after his dog), the bar/restaurant/lounge/club on the ground floor of the Freewrite House.

@wonderwop (1,2,3,5,6) > Bouncer, Chef and the main can-do-it all of the Freewrite House. Helps out @felt.buzz and @d00k13 whenever needed.

@carolkean (1,3,4,6) > The hostess at Jerry’s, helps the staff on special occasions. Author and book critic that keeps everything together.

@dranuvar (1,3,4,5,6) > The barmanager. Ingenious mixer of sorts.

@owasco (1,3,4,5,6) > Retired restaurateur, previous owner of the restaurant now known as Jerry’s. Still helps out at Jerry’s, mainly as entertainer, occasionally as waiter/barkeep/chef

@improv (1,3,5,6) > In house artist, MC and creative do-it-all. Doesn’t get a lot of sleep. Might own a timer. Might not own a timer.

@jayna (4) > Famous writer/director. Micro-fiction expert. Silent businesspartner of the Freewrite House.

The clique

@iamjadeline (1,5,6) > A friend I hang out with at the Freewrite House. Sometimes Twitter just isn’t personal enough.

@wakeupkitty (1,3,4,5,6) > A friend I hang out with at the Freewrite House. The one I turn to when I need to express myself in Dutch. We made a pact. Have an exclusive dinner at home or a restaurant on Sunday.

@tristancarax (1,3,5,6) > A friend I hang out with at the Freewrite House. The one I turn to when I need my mind blown.

@pixiehunter (1,2,4) > Freewrite Regular, likes a good joke. Freelances for the Freewrite House when needed.

@fitinfun (1,2,5) > My cousin, who looks after me. A bit too much, because she cares.

@fitinfunfood (4,6) > @fitinfun's little sister, talks mainly about food. Weirdly she and @fitinfun almost never show up together.

Freewrite regulars

@aejackson (1,4,5,6) > Storyteller, writer and entrepreneur. Leaves special rewards for his readers.

@mr-neil > (4,5,6) > One of the frequent visitors of the Bed & Breakfast. He works in the Middle East, but considers the Freewrite House his second home. He was such a regular, @felt.buzz even made sure he has his own room.

@botefarm (1,3,5,6) > Musician with a big following, recently moved to Steem City, where he is rapidly gaining popularity.

@balticbadger (3,4,5,6) > Regular who also helps out at the Freewrite House. Not afraid of anyone.

@glenalbrethsen (2,5) > Another frequent visitor to the Freewrite House Sports fan,

@mrnightmare89 (1,5,6) > Storyteller and frequent visitor.

@deemarshall (1,3) > Artist, painted the greeting mural at the Freewrite House.

@grandiosae (3,6) > Poet, writes poems that are placed throughout the Freewrite house

Other regulars include: @wems, @kimberlylane, @aislingcronin, @deadmoonwrites, @preparedwombat, @wandrnrose7, @juliamulcahy, @scribblingramma, @brettblue, @whatisnew, @ntowl, @kaerpediem, @wordymouth, @heartbeat1515 and @ana-maria

Also, a warm welcome to @raikuhen who recently joined and have yet to feature.

As you can see, I wouldn’t be able to write this without your help. Thank you all so much for your inspiration that makes me want to continue writing. If you want, I would love it if you could add your real name and possibly even some personal interests or fun things I can include in future freewrites. And no, this is not mandatory at all.


This is part 7 of my March Madness freewrite novel for the @freewritehouse.

Read the other parts here:
1.A Night at Jerry’s
2.The audition for Saturday Night dancers
3.The Meat and Gravy that wasn’t
4.500 Shades of Freewrite
5.Much Ado About A Minivan
6.Flying mushrooms and liquor trips

Word count: 889 words
March Madness total: 4995


The Writers (or should we say the poor, afflicted MAD people)

@kaelci
@ireenchew
@mariannewest
@kaerpediem
@linnyplant
@aislingcronin
@balticbadger
@wakeupkitty
@juliamulcahy
@carolkean
@jeanlucsr
@freedomtowrite
(I think this list isn’t fully up to date, will update tomorrow).
Be sure to follow @freewritehouse for more March Madness.
Want to be part of this story simply join @mariannewest’s 5 minute freewrite.


Let’s built #SteemAwareness, connect on Twitter!
Steemians on Twitter


#Lobi
@jeanlucsr

Special shoutout to @zord189 for this awesome signature

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

So much fun. I love my persona! Thank you for that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad you like it 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the mention. Haven't do mine today. Will be doing the prompt later.

Posted using Partiko Android

Really digging the unique writing style! Can't wait for the next one 💪👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @jeanlucsr! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

If you.publish it I will buy it. I think nearly every post I write is (very) personal.

Thanks for the support. I think I will seek a publishing option come April.

Posted using Partiko Android

Have I told you how much I love that you are doing this! Yes I have! Several times! I am a retired restaurateur who has always wanted to be an entertainer. I have been moving toward that on a community level (read "for free") learning to act, to sing, to play the piano and violin, and now to write, for nine years. I feel like you GET me in your stories.

And from what I know about the others, you get them too. Amazing!

Thanks, Stacey

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jeanlucsr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64937.78
ETH 3242.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63