A night at Jerry’s

in #freewrite5 years ago

It was a busy Friday night. I decided to go to a local club with @iamjadeline, who had promised to give me some tips on vlogging.

We decided to go to Jerry’s, a popular spot in the Steem District. The building, located along the @mariannewest boulevard, was known as the @freewritehouse, as a lot of freewriters lived in the area nearby and would regularly drop by.

The building was owned by @felt.buzz, who used the top floors as a bed and breakfast, and rented out the bar and lounge downstairs to @d00k13.

He had recently renamed and restyled the place when he took it over from @owasco, who ran a very popular restaurant before. She however had decided that she wanted to focus on her music, which is why she often performed at Jerry’s in the weekend. As we were about to walk in, we saw her standing with @deadmoonwrites practicing a new catchy song which seemed to be derived from a familiar haiku.

As we walked past the beautiful greeting mural that @deemarshall had painted, we saw @improv, the host MC of the night in the corner. He looked a little tired, but we knew his funny jokes would crack us and himself up.

The place was already packed. On the left, a lot of laughter was coming from a table with regulars. @scribblingramma was sharing her secrets to @brettblue, @whatisnew and @pixiehunter on how cats actually contribute to having a clean garden. On the right @botefarm was giving the band some final instructions.

As we walked into the club, we were greeted by @wonderwop, who did a quick security check, after which @carolkean brought us to our table. She asked if we wanted to participate in the weekend prompt karaoke competition and we laughed. @wakeupkitty and @tristancarax had completely destroyed the competition last week and it had been all over the blockchain news.

I decided to get a quick drink before the competition officially started and walked up to the bar where @dranuvar was calling the shots. I passed @aejackson and @mrnightmare discussing storytelling tips on how to choose the right karaoke track and greeted @wandrnrose7, who was the photographer for the night.

All of a sudden I got a bit distracted by the lights of the Drug Wars slot machine next to the bar. Before I could make a single step, I bumped into @fitinfun, who saw me looking at the machine and said “You know... right?”. “Yes Sharon, I know” I said while looking down in shame. “I’ll have an SBI instead”.


This is an entry to the single prompt freewrite by @mariannewest. View the full announcement post here.

Be sure to follow @freewritehouse and @mariannewest for fun writing contests.


Let’s built #SteemAwareness, connect on Twitter!
Steemians on Twitter


#Lobi
@jeanlucsr


Special shoutout to @zord189 for this awesome signature


All images are my own unless otherwise stated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That was great!!! I love how you hit everyone's personality. And the part about Sharon really cracked me up LOL

Haha.. thanks! Was a lot of fun to write and research as well.

The last part was easy. We actually had a conversation this week about games and gambling 😂.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like you had fun and you got everyone's character spot on 👍

Time for the next chapter 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha! Reminds me of the beginning of the @freewritehouse! Thanks for knowing I'm always tired. ;P

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you like it!
I actually got the tired part from your freewrite of today 😅. Had to read some because I basically just tried to mentione anyone who dropped a freewrite today or yesterday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my lord I love this. Perfect drop of my name too talking about cats.

Haha.. glad you like it 😊

Me destroying a karaoke? That would never happen I avoid this kind of "fun". LOL
Will share this one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok ok.. messed up that one. In my defense, it was freewrite karaoke 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

OK.. well.if it is a freewrite Carnival I might have messed it up.😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha.. no, this one is on me. Speaking of carnival, I was going to do a carnival post. But now I don't remember why 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

This was fun reading and I guess it was even more fun doing the research :). Great idea @jeanlucsr !

Note: Smart move of the @fitinfun role :) #ISWYDT

Yes. Research was fun! But also difficult. I wanted to take elements from everyone's introduce yourself post, but that was a little more complicated than I thought.

Posted using Partiko Android

You were right on giving the bands some instructions, I love music.

Posted using Partiko Android

I did a little research. Not a lot, but hopefully just enough to make the roles fit 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I like that, I run the bar and @wonderwop is my bouncer 😅 and the hangout is named after my dog Jerry 💪

Ingenious freewrite 👌

So many personal details all wrapped into one imaginative piece, definitely getting a favourite referral for this one 😍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Will there be dancers?

Posted using Partiko Android

@wonderwop. I had yet to identify freewrite dancers, but since you asked for it, I'll include an audition in today's freewrite.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, thanks!

I'm going to try to see if I can continue the storyline in future freewrites. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

That’s a cool idea 💡

Gives us all something to look forward too 🤔 will you be looking into people and their posts for further topics? Could seriously be a thing

“The FreeWriteHouse Author Story” .... needs a better name 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes. Exactly what I had in mind. So basically I look into who has posted a freewrite today and depending on the length include authors from yesterday.

The best part is that at a certain point it you have built the characters and it will feel like we know eachother better. I think I have my challenge for this month 😊.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea buddy, it will be as if people could read your posts to know what we are all up to... community update in story form 🥰

Definitely going to be a fair amount of work cut out for yea, I’ll watch for your posts in future 💪 shouldn’t be hard to keep track I imagine @mariannewest will be resteeming these with @freewritehouse hint hint

Haha.. cool.

I will be joining the march madness of the @freewritehouse. But not going to go for 50.000 words. I think I was at around 400 with this one and it took at least the time of 4 regular freewrites 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

Loved it...me a bouncer! Is that because I'm round like a ball? 🤣🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL..😂.. No not at all. I made you the bouncer because you are often the first one to greet when people enter the freewrite and in my eyes you were the most likely one to know how to handle a stungun.

Posted using Partiko Android

And so am here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt.

Holla!, am here with the weekend freewrite prompt.
...
...
You might like the single prompt https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-3-2-2019-single-prompt-option
...
...
To go pro with us.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-322019-part-1-the-first-sentence-1551501574
...
...
Do have a nice weekend.

And you have just up the level of freewriting by including alot of freewriters here with some added personality. I wish I can teach give you tips on vlogging but I am amateur myself and still prefer blogging than vlogging. And I super duper love this freewrite. 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68237.15
ETH 3499.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72