Nothing beads a pound cakesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #marchmadness5 years ago (edited)

Photo by Alexandra Golovac on Unsplash

"What are we going to do?" I looked at @felt.buzz. I wanted to get @pixiehunter back for the Saturday night dancers audition prank. I knew he was in on her prank, but I needed a culprit and figured I would be able to get back at him another time.

I wanted to come up with something fun and unexpected at the same time. “Not sure what you have in mind” @felt.buzz said “But whatever it is, you can count me in”. As my mind wandered, I decided to listen in on a couple of song rehearsals. @aislingcronin and @botefarm were practicing for their duet later this week. Their freewriting style was a bit different, but it matched pretty neatly.

"We retrace our steps
Our stories
Our memories, too long buried,
And in them, we find our freedom."
@aislingcronin sang with a soft voice. While @botefarm continued with a rap.
"Steem, bitcoin, ethereum, airdrops
They, I know not
A friend brought me here
From newbie to minnow
I've had my own pound of cake."

"That was it, a cake prank” I said to @improv “A beads in a cake prank"
“I’m not so sure” @wonderwop responded while walking post “The sound of it, it sound like it's just a crapshoot.”
“Well kinda” I laughed “But it’s better than everything I had in mind previously"

@d00k13 give me a bit of a stare: “Beads in a cake? When I think of beads the first thing that comes to mind is their decorative function. Speaking of which, @deemarshall can we also get a wall art with beads in it?"
@deemarshall shook her head “You know, it's very time-consuming. I think I'd have to give up work to have enough time to do it. Well, maybe one day I will."

I looked at @mrnightmare89 who had gone silent. “What’s up?”
“Well” he said "I felt sad suddenly, it brought back memories from the past. Cake life, pound cake specifically.”
“That has some trickiness" @owasco said joining in on the conversation "I've also been a professional baker. But I tried to make a pound cake and I gotta tell ya it wasn't pretty"

Why don’t you go to 'Granny!’? @mariita52 suggested. “They make them custom made and you can add everything you want"
“hahaha, I love that” I thought out loud "I had not thought about that."

Granny! Was a popular bakery in the Global Village district of Steem City.
“That’s on Latin street right?” @improv asked.
"It's not Bourbon street, thank goodness, but it is a full street of wonder"

"I love that place!” @wandrnrose7 said overhearing the conversation “especially the employee outfit! Each man wears garments carefully decorated with bright embroidery.”

I looked at @felt.buzz “why not give it a try?”
@wakeupkitty are joining”
She looked at me in disbelief
"I think I already made that clear. I’m not joining in on your shenanigans"

@felt.buzz and I decided to give Granny! A try. @d00k13 decided to join for fun and @mariita52 also tagged along, mainly because you was worried we would get lost.

It was relatively busy at Granny!
Open entering the shop we were greeted by @cloudblade whom explained us the rules of the building your own pound cake.
“So how would you proceed if we wanted to add some beads in?” I asked while trying to keep a straight face.
“Well, that’s simple:
1 bead on top = 5 ,
The following 4 beads, each bead = 1."

@felt.buzz decided to join in on the fun “@mariita52 told me it is always good to pour a glass of milk over the pound cake”
@mariita52 looked in complete shock “You know my allergies, that would be a huge mistake"
“A beautiful mistake” @d00k13 responded "hell 90% of bakery good are developed by mistake!"
"Pound cake is meant to be spongy and moist, mine are at best used as a defense mechanism, throw it at someones head they sure to enjoy the slight vanilla aroma, not much more!"
The shop manager @joanstewart came over after hearing the conversation. “You guys are like little kids I should put up a No Entry Sign."

We started to bake our own cake. We got assigned to @sayee who stared at the ingredients. "Will it be a flop? not sure. I’m a simple person, but I guess beads can be added..?!?” After finishing the prep the cake went in the oven and wow didn’t it turn out a beauty. There was just one thing.
"That can't be right.” @wordymouth, who was helping out in the shop laughed "The whole cake should only weigh a pound.” “Let me get a knife so we can make cut a couple of pieces.”

The cake in the end looked awesome.
Three hours later, it was showtime. I took @pixiehunter to Granny! and….

You have to read her freewrite to find out the ending to this story:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@pixiehunter/5-minute-freewrite-tues-wed-prompts-pound-cake-and-beads

Thank you for reading :)..


This is part 13 of my March Madness freewrite novel for the @freewritehouse.

Read the other parts here:
1.A Night at Jerry’s
2.The audition for Saturday Night dancers
3.The Meat and Gravy that wasn’t
4.500 Shades of Freewrite
5.Much Ado About A Minivan
6.Flying mushrooms and liquor trips
7.The Freewrite Novel: A Quick Snapshot

  1. The Jittery Dream
  2. The Elder Dream
  3. The Meditation Dream
  4. The Hunger Games
  5. Good beads on dead Tuesday

Word count: 821 words
March Madness total: 6205

Episode 8-11 will be part of the #mmfan contest which will be announced this Thursday March 14th (Later today!!).


This story includes sentence of and/or references to the following writers/stories:

@felt.buzz > https://steemit.com/freewritehouse/@felt.buzz/beads-a-five-minute-freewrite-pjqqqunz
@deemarshall > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@deemarshall/entry-for-day-508-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-beads
@cloudblade > https://steemit.com/lifr/@cloudblade/beads-abacus
@d00k13 > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@d00k13/prompt-of-the-day-beads-original-use-case-d11hndrt
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@d00k13/prompt-of-the-day-pound-cake-the-accidental-trades-person-lgd0vgil
@mariita52 > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariita52/5-minute-freewrite-prompt-beads
https://steemit.com/rreewrite/@mariita52/day-509-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-pound-cake
@wonderwop > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wonderwop/day-508-freewrite-tuesday-beads
@wandrnrose7 > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wandrnrose7/the-martial-dance-s8b32lcs
@improv > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@improv/beads-5minutefreewrite
@mrnightmare89 > https://partiko.app/@mrnightmare89/todays-prompt-pound-cake-2yn2esth
@owasco > https://steemit.com/freewritepoetry/@owasco/day-509-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-pound-cake
@joanstewart > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@joanstewart/freewrite-pound-cake-509
@botefarm > https://steemit.com/busy/@botefarm/keep-on-steeming-a-freewrite-poetry
@sayee > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@sayee/the-pound-cake
@aislingcronin > https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@aislingcronin/marchmadness-continues-a-poem-that-summarises-my-work-65c704da94bc7
@wakeupkitty > https://partiko.app/@wakeupkitty/marchmadness-day-13-a-story-about-oyvmez2p


The Writers (or should we say the poor, afflicted MAD people)

@kaelci
@ireenchew
@mariannewest
@kaerpediem
@linnyplant
@aislingcronin
@balticbadger
@wakeupkitty
@juliamulcahy
@carolkean
@jeanlucsr
@freedomtowrite
@wems
@harmonyval

Be sure to follow @freewritehouse for more March Madness.
Want to be part of this story simply join @mariannewest’s 5 minute freewrite.


Let’s built #SteemAwareness, connect on Twitter!
Steemians on Twitter


#Lobi
@jeanlucsr

Special shoutout to @zord189 for this awesome signature

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

I did. Sorry @sayee. Thank you @checky.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, awed by this. Thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you liked it. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

HAHAHA oml I love it. I was grinning ear to ear while reading this..You are good @jeanlucsr, lol. #mmfan

Haha.. thanks.. enjoyed writing it. Was planning on finishing a #mmfan for yersterday but just was too tired. Will do one today 🙃

Posted using Partiko Android

I hear ya. I almost did the prompt yesterday but couldn't focus. As far as I got was the title.

Think I'll find some time this weekend. Positive side of traveling 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol nice. Safe travels...

Thank you Pixie 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Yw. Can't wait to see what those crazy freewriters are up to, lol.

Lol. I have to catch up again. Maybe one more freewrite before I call it a day.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's so awesome! Thanks for weaving me in here. I have no SP left so a resteem it is. This seems so challenging but you pull it off wonderfully.

Haha.. glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the resteem 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

This was soooooooo funny, I'm loving these. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your support @wonderwop!

I'm happy that the regulars are enjoying the journey just as much as I am 🙃

Posted using Partiko Android

Loved it... BTW there is a Granny's (or was) in Arnhem... nobody choked in the beads?

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha.. cool. The Dutch have awesome names for their bars/restaurants. In Tilburg there was a bar called 'De Buurvrouw'.

Waar was je?
Ja, ik was bij de buurvrouw.
😂 just imagine the convo's

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha indeed... makes one think...

Posted using Partiko Android

Love that you provided a link to someone else's freewrite! Love that you worked @pixiehunter into yours!

I know right? He is amazing at this.

Hey, you should take a least a little bit of credit 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha yeah I know. :) Trouble should be my middle name according to some who know me.

Haha.. thanks @owasco. It did make the freewrite a lot of fun.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jeanlucsr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hahaha, :):):)
OMG!!!
THIS WEEK WAS WONDERFUL FOR ME. Y ...
This is the triple cherry; of the ice cream.
Thank you for so much happiness and joy.
A great play ...
I saw it all; IN MY MIND !!!
Good script

Glad you liked it!!
And thanks for participating by freewriting.
I have to pick up my freewriting. Just stomped with work at the conference I'm working at this week.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99