500 Shades of Freewrite

in #marchmadness5 years ago (edited)

"My mind can't cope with it." @wakeupkitty said "Those never ending sounds of silence. None of them had said a word.”

She was talking about the proposal to go to the movies to watch “500 Shades of Freewrite” in the Isle of Write Discord.

"Do you think it was a bridge too far” I asked her.

"To be honest I don't think so, but I do believe we can start something new if we all agree with it, are willing to do so." @wakeupkitty concluded.

We were standing in front of the @freewritehouse on @mariannewest boulevard. Jerry’s was closed on Monday’s and @d00k13 was getting ready for a walk in the park with his dog "Just getting what I need, It’s the peace.” He smiled.

“Did you know that I like to write stories in my free time?” @mr-neil said overhearing our conversation. "I actually recently had one published. A Story About A Stitch And A Witch. We could go and search for it at a local bookstore or you guys could just show me around”.

@mr-neil was one of the frequent visitors of the Bed & Breakfast. He was working in the Middle East, but considered the @freewritehouse his second home. He was such a regular, @felt.buzz even made sure he had his own room. I got to know @mr-neil during his previous visit, as we both had an Arsenal football shirt on during a premier league match viewing at Jerry’s.

"We can go to the local bookstore" @wakeupkitty suggested. "It’s right around the corner, on Zapfic Avenue, where @kaelci held launch of Certain Chaos”.

Being free from work @dranuvar and @owasco decided to join us. @carolkean stayed at Jerry’s as she still had some work to finish and @wonderwop was out of the State, visiting some friends in San Antonio. @pixiehunter jokingly said she was giving me a day off and went back inside. That was our cue to start walking to the bookstore.

As we walked into the bookstore, it seemed extremely busy. Especially the Microfiction section was crowded. Probably a lot of people looking for the new @jayna micro-fiction I thought.

There were a lot of freewriters in the store as well. @preparedwombat came over to great us. "Have you checked out the new Anisimova? in Natasha’s honor"
"Is it about A family trip to a hotel deep in the Catskills?" I asked.
"No, silly” @owasco looked at me “That’s The House Melody"
“My apologies” I said “Let me give it another guess, the title sounds familiar, wait.. is it about a girl named Alistha and telepathic communication”
“Wrong again” @owasco said with a little bit of a disappointed face. “That’s @aislingcronin’s A Drop in the Ocean”.
“Oh, is it that Tomb Raider book” I blurred out of relief “I didn’t read it, but I read comments about it in my expat groups, @fitinfunfood recommended it I think. That’s got to count for something…right?”

@preparedwombat and @owasco now both looked at me with a disappointed and somewhat upset face. And I was sensing I wouldn't just be getting the look this time around.

Before they could say anything. Someone started screaming a the top of his lungs. “Miss Marble!!” It was the shopkeeper, Tom, who seemed to have lost his cat. He waved and pointed at his ears.

"No sneezing, or sudden movements and certainly no loud headphones!"
While pointing towards @kimberlylane.

For a brief moment, the room seemed to freeze. “Do not fear him” @balticbadger said, who was in the store together with @wordymouth, looking through some science fiction. "Nothing to worry about".

"Maybe a mix of fear and anger?" @dranuvar added. "Probably, this guys has a weird relationship with his cat” I concluded.

In the meantime @kimberlylane had spotted us and greeted us as she removed her headset. "How have you guys been? I just discovered something new. Did you know that you now can earn money for reading?"

Every week the week select a book to read with an additional incentive. This week they chose The sound of waterfall curtains by @aejackson. The reading incentive is his initiative, you should check it out.

We did. And looked at a lot of different books. In the end, we decided to go with this one.


This is part 4 of my March Madness freewrite novel for the @freewritehouse.

Read the other parts here:
1.A Night at Jerry’s
2.The audition for Saturday Night dancers
3.The Meat and Gravy that wasn’t

Word count: 664 words
March Madness total: 2412

The Writers (or should we say the poor, afflicted MAD people)

@kaelci
@ireenchew
@mariannewest
@kaerpediem
@linnyplant
@aislingcronin
@balticbadger
@wakeupkitty
@juliamulcahy
@carolkean
@jeanlucsr

Make sure to give them some support and follow @freewritehouse for more March Madness.


This story includes sentence of and/or references to the following writers/stories:

@aejackson > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@aejackson/sound-5-minute-freewrite
https://steemit.com/contest/@aejackson/loyal-reader-rewards-contest-from-a-e-jackson-5cb215f880c61est
@preparedwombat > https://busy.org/@preparedwombat/in-natasha-s-honor
@kimberlylane > https://steemit.com/microfiction/@kimberlylane/sound
@owasco > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@owasco/day-500-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-sound
@wakeupkitty > https://partiko.app/@wakeupkitty/freewriting-the-sound-of-silence-aroukkjm
https://partiko.app/@wakeupkitty/marchmadness-day-4-ul1qq6qf
@wordymouth >
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wordymouth/no-sound-and-no-one-around
@fitinfunfood >
https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfunfood/freewrite-day-500-sound
@d00k13 >
https://partiko.app/@d00k13/prompt-of-the-day-sound-i-build-my-mound-dskx0ujz
@dranuvar > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@dranuvar/5-minute-freewrite-day-500-sound
@mr-neil > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mr-neil/a-story-about-the-knocking-sound-coming-from-the-cupboard-18cde0060560a
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mr-neil/a-story-about-a-stitch-and-a-witch-355905ddf0e3d
@aislingcronin > https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@aislingcronin/march-madness-day-4-reflections-87e9116f3499a
@balticbadger > https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@balticbadger/freewritehouse-march-madness-chapter-4-sound-4j3ch38r
@wonderwop > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wonderwop/day500-baby-freewrite-monday-sound-o3dpmjh8
@jayna > https://steemit.com/challenge/@jayna/2t0xdpo3g5

Want to be part of this story simply join @mariannewest’s 5 minute freewrite.


Let’s built #SteemAwareness, connect on Twitter!
Steemians on Twitter


#Lobi
@jeanlucsr

Special shoutout to @zord189 for this awesome signature


All images are my own unless otherwise stated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Now I m here as a supporter and #mmfan. I am not writing for this because I am not so crazy! You are doing such a great job with a very unique angle. Thank you for the mention of my baby account!

Every 5 minute freewrite is fuel to keep going 🙃

Posted using Partiko Android

How lovely. Kept me engaged from beginning to end. :)

Thank you @juliamulcahy! Glad you liked it. Just realized that your piece was the first I read yesterday, but somehow I didn't include you 🤔.

Is there a reason you didn't link your post in a comment under the @freewritehouse post?

Either way, making sure I include you in the next one 👍😊

Posted using Partiko Android

No reason, other than I didn't think of it.

Note to self: Remember to link post! 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha.. will send a reminder next time 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh Lordy it looks like I have some reading to do. I have a lil crs when it comes to remembering names and titles of movies and books. #mmfan

Haha.. I don't think I'll be passing 1k words a day soon. This format of 400-700 words does work time wise.

I think I will include a small overview of the established characters starting tomorrow as well, since there are some reoccuring once. It will make it easier to read for those who haven't read from day 1.

I did mix a lot of lines from different freewrites today. So it will also fun to see if people can recognoze their lines in this post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol, I caught a few of them.

Waaaah this is pretty cool!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Another awesome free write! Crazy you found all of these lines in our posts!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It really is a lot of fun to do. I like the creativity behind it. Sometimes I do get stuck, but some just fit so perfectly in the storyline 😄.

Thanks for reading!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow what a clever way to weave us all into a tale together! Thank you for including me

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it. You will be included every time you freewrite and comment it on the daily prompt or march madness post 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, this is amazing! I love how you managed to mention so many freewriters in one story. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

I love that you are doing this. It warms my little heart to see so many of the folks I've met on steem in your stories, and it's encouraging me to seek out the others so that I better understand your story. Such a great way to build community!
And I see that in addition to march madness you are posting other stuff too!
I don't know how you are keeping up, but keep it up! #mmfan

Thanks. Appreciate the support. As you can see, I'm running a little behind 😅.
We had a steem meet up, which was great, but after that I head a guest lecture and when I came home I was in zombie mode.

How I'm keeping up? I'm basically banning myself from Facebook and Youtube 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I no longer have much time for FB, thank goodness. Trying to leave that space is how I ended up in Steem.
I have a question for you. I see you use Partiko. Steempeak is bugging out today, and it does that frequently. If I use partiko, can I use it on my laptop?

I think @partiko is still building the desktop version, but I think they can better answer that. Hope they reply to this tag.

Overal great experience so far. Do get an ocasional time out (once a week), but that's solved within a minute.

Do let me know I you decide to use it, because I would love a referral 😂. You could even take @d00k13's referral, as long as it doesn't go to waste 😂.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup still working on the webpage, soon I was told but he has many projects on the go right now!

Yea you want to use a referral as you will get extra points useable for votes just by joining under us!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jeanlucsr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64937.78
ETH 3242.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63