The Gold Pamplemousse Orchard

in #freewritehousepoetry5 years ago (edited)

sunset174276_1920.jpg
Pixabay

The gold summer sun slips below the pamplemousse orchard,
Sparking glitter in the trees and the raw-weed taste of dust,
A glass of lemonade to wet my whistle and overcome this scorcher,
Yet, nothing halts the hot sunset thrust,
My comrade, Bully, shifts to plead for water,
I tarry in my reply,
He licks his lips with his tongue,
Sloshes his red ribbon around and I still give no quarter,
His eyes plead as if to say "It's bone dry,"
I relent and pour lemonade in a stream flung,
Bouncing on the heated rocks and into his mouth.

Day 529: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: gold by @mariannewest

Copyright © 2019 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Border
Steemit Amazon RSS

Wordsmith Holler

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png
Click on the image to join the fun!

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg

Border

Sort:  

One thing I love about poetry is a word that jars - e.g. the raw-weed taste of dust. I have to stop and think what that's like. Love how it rhymes with the hot sunset thrust.
Had to look up pamplemousse - French for grapefruit.
Great imagery!

I thought about ragweed, but I always come away from a dusty field with more of a raw taste of dried stems and dirt. So, I thought raw-weed taste of dust fit. I'm glad you saw the imagery. I haven't written any poetry for a while and today's prompt felt like it deserved a poem.

You nailed it with raw-weed taste of dust and all the imagery!
Keep writing poetry--it's good practice for writing good prose. :)

That word "pampelmousse" stirred a distant memory, but I had to check a dictionary before I really remembered learning the word "die Pampelmuse" while studying German. That aside, I enjoyed reading your poem. I've been trying to read more poems on Steemit recently, and am finding it more enjoyable than anticipated.

What a beautiful poem! I could feel the warmth of the sun and see it sparkling in the trees. The hotter the better for me. : )

Resident cat here, helping to deliver today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-530-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-jewel-thieves

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30