The Meat and Gravy that wasn't

in #marchmadness5 years ago

@wakeupkitty and I had made a pact. Have an exclusive dinner at home or a restaurant on Sunday. For her it was something from her childhood, for me it was another reason to get out of the house. Since we lived quite far apart we didn’t visit each other so often, but the @freewritehouse on @mariannewest boulevard was right in the middle and a great compromise.

Every Sunday, Jerry’s changed from a nightlife hotspot to a big cousy restaurant. It used to be mainly for the guests of @felt.buzz’s Bed & Breakfast upstairs, as they often requested some easy to get food on Sundays. Eventually the Sunday lunch at Jerry's became so popular @freewritehouse regulars would come in and join as staff, some as waiters/waitresses and some in the kitchen. Even @owasco came out of retirement to provide some quality gluten free meals. This weekend @wonderwop was preparing a special meat and gravy.

"Can I tag someone along?” @wakeupkitty asked. Her name is @freedomtowrite, she used to be a regular at @thefreewritehouse. I’m pretty sure you’ve seen the Lola books on the bookshelf in the reading area, she wrote those. “Sure" I said “Lets meet at 12, so I’ll be home in the afternoon with the kids. I don’t want to turn into the man from the Dutch commercial who is only home to cut the meat”

On my way to lunch a firm but gentle hand on my shoulder caught me. It was @deemarshall, who was on her way to the @freewritehouse and meet with @carolkean to see if the front wall painting needed some touch ups. When I told her I was on my way there as well to have some meat and gravy she responded quit excited. "I very rarely eat meat now that I live alone but I used to like the meat and gravy dinners my mum made on a Sunday."

On Sunday 12 PM sharp we were at Jerry’s searching for a table. The cafe was packed, which was a good sign. I had decided to invited @botefarm along and he accepted largely because he read that there would be meat and gravy and he recently read a @grandiosae poem about the dish as well. In the end he was just really curious what it was.

We decided to sit down and order the Sunday special, while the ladies started to discus @kaelci’s ‘Certain Choas’, the series that was the talk of town at the moment. While they were discussing who was #TeamCassandra or #TeamLoren, I was still trying to decide if should feel sorry for Henry and if I could really trust Sebastian. While I was initially worried if this group would find enough talking points to avoid it becoming a bit awkward, they instantly hit it off, the drinks were flowing and they felt an instant connection. That is what made the @freewritehouse so great. In my head I could hear @balticbadger say “hospitality, my dear son”. The conversation went on while @pixiehunter served our plates.

"What the heck is this?”
"It's food. You need the protein. I see how hard @felt.buzz works you. You need to eat healthy. Besides, @wonderwop made it, so you know it's gonna be good.”
“It’s Curry” I responded a little confused.
“Curry is just the Asian gravy”, @d00k13 said while walking by, pointing at the sign that read “@wonderwop’s Sunday Special: Asian Meat and Gravy”.
I was stumped, I had so much junkfood in the past weeks, that I immediately had assumed the special would be traditional biscuits and gravy with tender meat. I looked at @botefarm. “I’m sorry man, but this won’t be Meat & Gravy you signed up for”.
While trying to keep a straight face, @pixiehunter asked @botefarm if he wanted an @improv special. “What’s that?” He asked. “It’s meat and gravy covered in whipped cream and strawberries” She replied. "No, it’s ok, I’ll give this a try”. "As long as you finish it” @tristancarax laughed who had been following the situation unfold from the next table. “You know how Bruni responds to little boys who don't finish their meat and gravy”.

This actually really good! I said, now laughing about how silly the day had gone. “Want more sauce?” @dranuvar asked from behind the bar. “Yes please” I responded. “Coming right up” he said while ordering some extra sauce through the intercom. Bruni came out of the kitchen with an extra bowl. “This is really nice. The sauce is really good, what’s your secret?”. "To be honest, I can’t tell you, it’s my grandma’s recipe” he smiled, but I’ll give you a hint.

@wonderwop walked away, stopped at the jukebox. And 10 seconds later everyone was listening to some UB40.


This is part 3 of my March Madness freewrite novel for the @freewritehouse.

Read the other parts here:
1.A Night at Jerry's
2.The audition for Saturday Night dancers

Read more about March Madness here

Be sure to follow @freewritehouse and @mariannewest for fun writing contests.


This story includes sentence of and/or references to the following writers/stories:
@pixiehunter > https://steemit.com/weekendfreewrite/@pixiehunter/5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-meat-and-gravy
@d00k13 > https://partiko.app/@d00k13/prompt-of-the-day-meat-and-gravy-meals-are-meant-to-leave-them-satisfied-abhdmeq1
@freedomtowrite > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freedomtowrite/i-m-so-excited-lola-is-back-relief-lola-part-45-prompt-meat-and-gravy
@wakeupkitty > https://partiko.app/@wakeupkitty/freewriting-what-we-ate-in-the-old-days-6btu2i4p
@dranuvar >
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@dranuvar/5-minute-freewrite-day-499-meat-and-gravy
@wonderwop > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wonderwop/day-499-freewrite-sunday-meat-and-gravy
@owasco > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@owasco/day-499-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-meat-and-gravy
@botefarm > https://partiko.app/@botefarm/ruminating-on-it-all-a-weekendfreewrite-kasbgupe
@grandiosae > https://partiko.app/@grandiosae/am-done-here-a-freewritepoetry-ngdzkeo5
@improv > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@improv/meat-and-gravy-5minutefreewrite
@tristancarax > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@tristancarax/meat-and-gravy-day-499-5-minute-freewrite-sunday
@felt.buzz > https://partiko.app/@felt.buzz/meat-and-gravy-a-five-minute-freewrite-nk3vtwho
@deemarshall > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@deemarshall/entry-for-day-499-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-meat-and-gravy
@kaelci > https://steempeak.com/challenge/@kaelci/marchmadness-certainchaos-dayfour-zcr53hrn40
@balticbadger >
https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@balticbadger/freewritehouse-march-madness-chapter-3-meat-with-gravy-rtvq0lbk
https://steemit.com/hospitality/@balticbadger/hospitality-fujiuwax
@carolkean > https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@carolkean/march-madness-day-3-prompt-meat-with-gravy


Let’s built #SteemAwareness, connect on Twitter!
Steemians on Twitter


#Lobi
@jeanlucsr

Special shoutout to @zord189 for this awesome signature


All images are my own unless otherwise stated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Brilliant!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad you like it!
Did you recognize the instant connection line straight away?

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha that was great! It made smile so big that yiu included Lola...thank you!

Thanks @freedomwrite! Yes, of course I had to include Lola 😊. 45 parts ain't nothing. Hope to make it until 31.

Posted using Partiko Android

I just woke up, saw I had been tagged, read through with blurry eyes, and giggled. 😁

Great job at including so many freewriters and their kookiness!! 😊😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha.. thanks. That's the recipe. If you write a freewrite, you will appear in mine. At least if you post as a comment on @mariannewest's or @freewritehouse's posts. It's getting more fun every day 😊.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Lol, this just keeps getting better and better. But you are safe tonight from my freewrite. Not quite feeling it, so will just drop comments. #mmfan

Haha.. cool. I will add that in my freewrite for today. Just finishing up now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool beans, will be checking it out lol.

Why do you crack me up every time you mention @botefarm? He came because he heard there would be meat and gravy. LOL! Is it because I feel I know him from his freewrites? And do we have a fellow gluten-sufferer - Even @owasco came out of retirement to provide some quality gluten free meals. -? I wasn't even age 50 when I had to go gluten free; at 56, eggs and dairy were incriminated; I feel a black arm band of mourning my be in order for lost loved ones (beer, pizza, cake, cookies, etc). I can't even have the gravy - made with wheat flour, usually - and in restaurants most meat is marinated in wheat-based stuff. Gaaah! Meat and gravy! Beer and Pizza! And here comes Bruni with an extra bowl. “This is really nice. The sauce is really good, what’s your secret?”. "To be honest, I can’t tell you, it’s my grandma’s recipe”***
Food! Glorious food!!!!

This.. this... is exactly why I loved the concept of adding peoples freewrites in. All 3 storylines were from personal freewrites.
@botefarm said he never had it (I think it's just called different in his country, cause I have the same issue here in Suriname)
@owasco is really a retired restauranteur and I think posted about gluten free that day.
And of I remember correctly, Bruni shared one of his grandma's dishes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00