The Audition for Saturday Night Dancers

in #marchmadness6 years ago

There is no doubt that this unquestionable order will come to pass...

Was what I thought when I heard the request. @wonderwop had convinced @d00k13 that Jerry’s needed some dancers for entertainment on Saturdays. Since I had marketing and scouting experience, @d00k13 asked me to hold the audition and set up a profile for dancers that would fit the theme.

I mean, I liked @wonderwop, but ever since he landed an $20.000 antique Chinese vase at a yard sale during his #flipchallenge, he considered his every idea to be gold. I looked at @d00k13 and ask him how serious I had to take the request. "Hardboiled Minds” he said "People set in their ways, already having a fully cooked idea stuck within their heads.” I guess I wouldn’t be able to get out of this one.

While pondering how I would get this done, I headed to the bar, ordered a cold juice and sat down next to @glenalbrethsen. The TV was on and showing highlights of last nights NBA games. My favorite team the Oklahoma City Thunder had just won a road game against the Golden State Warriors. "Have you ever been?" @glenalbrethsen asked. “To a NBA game? Actually no” I responded “Have seen Team USA play once, in Germany, 15 years ago. It’s still hard to believe that they got destroyed by Italy. One of my friends lost a lot of money on that game”. We continued talking about my upcoming trip to San Diego and my plan to celebrate my 35th birthday in Las Vegas in December later this year.

"December in Dublin is remarkably high spirited.”

Someone said, from behind me. It was @fitinfun, trying to once again calm my urges to gamble. This woman is like a freaking beacon! I really couldn’t catch a break. She laughed and gave me a smile. "At least you are drinking healthy my friend”. I nodded. I had been considering giving Actifit a try, but making that commitment was a little much for me at moment. And priorities where just different. I had a book to publish. That was one of my 5 main goals for the year. While other goals were coming along quite a bit, writing the book was continuously put off, as people just kept dumping work on me, while I just accepted it. Like an audition for dancers for Jerry's for the Saturday night.

"Anyone interested in some books?” It was @felt.buzz, who just came downstairs to check

the loose floorboard

behind the bar. "What kind of books?” I asked. “Murder mysteries” he responded. “I’ll take them”, @wems said, who sat down next to me while ordering a glass of dry Martini. Not my cup of tea I thought to myself. Just like auditions.

In the end, I did organize the audition the next day. Only one person showed up. A tall blond guy. I’m pretty sure @felt.buzz and @pixiehunter set me up. @felt.buzz managed to hide behind the bar pretending to fix the floor, but @pixiehunter was laughing so hard and when I asked what was going on, "I plead the 5th” was all I got as a response.

What did I get myself into.


This is part 2 of my March Madness freewrite novel for the @freewritehouse.

Read the other parts here:
1.A Night at Jerry's

Read more about March Madness here

Be sure to follow @freewritehouse and @mariannewest for fun writing contests.


Freewriters mentioned in this post and their freewrites that inspired this post:
@wonderwop - https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wonderwop/weekend-freewrite-03-02-2019-yard-sale-vase
@d00k13 -
https://partiko.app/@d00k13/prompt-of-the-day-hardboiled-minds-raw-so-they-may-flow-freely-llhxgmdq
@glenalbrethsen -
https://steemit.com/fff/@glenalbrethsen/the-man-mountain-a-tall-tale-for-the-five-minute-freewrite
@fitinfun -
https://steemit.com/ulog/@fitinfun/weekend-freewrite-mar-2-2019-single-prompt-option-beacon
@felt.buzz - https://steemit.com/freewritehouse/@felt.buzz/not-the-bad-guy-a-weekend-freewrite-7kjtdkuq
https://steemit.com/freewritehouse/@felt.buzz/in-the-club-a-five-minute-freewrite-dtojsmre
@wems -
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wems/r-i-p-2574c294e119c
@pixiehunter - https://steemit.com/freewritepoetry/@pixiehunter/5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-in-the-club


Let’s built #SteemAwareness, connect on Twitter!
Steemians on Twitter


#Lobi
@jeanlucsr

Special shoutout to @zord189 for this awesome signature


All images are my own unless otherwise stated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This is so creative and well done in execution, @jeanlucsr! I am here as part of the #mmfan initiative by @mariannewest and @freewritehouse. I am not writing for this event, but will support as I can.

I will be interested to see if you can keep this up. It is not an easy task you have given yourself. But I will be watching and expecting great things :)

And yes, do not gamble and be sure to keep on the healthy path!

Haha... I'll try to keep it from gambling until I go to Vegas 😉.

I know I have given myself quite a task. Have to do two freewrites today. One is up, next on later tonight. Will do my best to keep it up 👍.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

hahahahaha
That really gave me a good laugh
Here's another Prompt and Invitation

8A4D536F-B6CA-4A1E-93ED-90BC10AAE49E.PNG

Thanks.. finally got yesterday's story up.
It is getting more fun by the day. But the more people join in the harder it gets 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

You've got this :D

Practice practice practice... 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

I love it, lol. I needed that chuckle after completing my weekend freewrite. You got me pegged with the laughter and the pleading the 5th (my fav phrase at work, along with idk I just work here) (I keep forgetting to leave the Fan tag- #mmfan

Thanks! And thanks for yesterday's freewrite. It brought quite the twist in my storyline 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehehe you are welcome.

Congratulations @jeanlucsr! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

These are fantabulous! When it comes to reading them all, it's@jeanlucsr for the win! And with March Madness too. It is so nice to know you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64