Freewrite #211 Prompt: Swing - Childhood Memories

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Childhood Memories

swing.jpg

Day 211: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: swing by @mariannewest

I woke up this morning and decided to seek out @mariannewest’s five minute freewrite to see if I could write a decent story in five minutes given I'm one of those people that agonise about every word I write and often re-write blogs numerous times before hitting the post button.

At this stage it's still not uncommon for me to reread and edit post publish. Lucky for my OCD, Steemit only gives me seven days to do so before it's seared into the blockchain for all eternity never to be changed again. Im hoping through things like this freewrite to reduce this.

Freewrite Now!

Prompt: Swing

It was a beautiful Sunday afternoon, the sun was high in the sky with not a cloud to be seen. I looked out the window to see the children playing on the swing their dad had made for them years before.

The oldest two of the three had managed to squeeze on the wooden plank with the youngest doing her best to push their combined weight when suddenly I heard a crack, then the thud and finally the screams.

The old swing ropes had snapped under the pressure and the eldest two were in a crumpled mess in the dirt, tears streaming down their faces as the youngest looked upon the whole scene with a smirk that was so desperately hiding a laugh...

This is actually a true atory written through the eyes of my mother. I was the eldest in the dirt crying.

Time flies when you're having fun.

Wow, that is not long when you are writing, may not help that I am doing it on my phone while walking on the treadmill but in the world of multitasking and competing priorities, time is in short supply so multitasking is the way.

I have to apologize as I think I may have even gone over by 30 seconds to finish it up.

Thanks for taking the time to read my #freewrite. I enjoyed writing it and think I may do more of these going forward. Thoughts?

Power Up and Steem ON!
---

Want some inspiration, a hint or a maybe a laugh, I'm pretty funny I have been told. CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet!

Mini Motivation #2 Tough times never last, but tough people do! Walk with Me - Mother's Day Markets #5 What is it? First to guess right wins!

My hubby @shai-hulud is also a great steemian worth a follow, check out some of his below:

Steemit Week 1: Who Are You Don't get hooked by a Phishing scam. Actual steps you can take to protect yourself. Steemit Day One #2: Why lock an Empty House Welcome to Steemit. Day one: Get ready for the learning curve.

Shai & I.jpg

#### What to know more about @shai-hulud and I Check out these posts:

Butt naked with 2500 other cruise line passengers! Featured in @qurator & @asapers
Love isn’t always shit free. Featured in @thesteemengine and #themagnificentseven How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL! Featured in @thesteemengine

Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.

Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!

If you like any posts above and they are past seven days please consider upvoting a more recent post as these while very useful have already paid out.

asapers 2.png

One last thing! @asapers has started a profit-sharing curation post called Read me A.S.A.P that picks from their followers so make sure you follow the @asapers to be curated next.

The STEEM Engine Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Steemit Bloggers

Upvote follow resteem.png

Team Australia Banner @bearone, @asapers by @shai-hulud, @steemitbloggers by @zord189 All images my own or directly sourced at the image.

Sort:  

Growing up, I wasn't sure if devices like swings , monkey bars and min-merry-go-rounds were created to cull excess child population or to produce practice patients for pediatricians?!

Namaste, JaiChai

BTW, you still can fix "atory" to "story"...

Haha so true! Either way someone wins. But im not sure it was just to cull kiddlets. As druck adults are often the ones harmed from these devices. Lol.

The fact that you did this on your phone while walking on a treadmill is way beyond me! LOL I could almost feel the sun beating down on me! You should try the free write when you have some free time (I know, who the hell has free time!?). :)

Hsha yes free time is quite illusive. I could stip the gym but then Id have to stop chocolate and who wants to do something like that. I will have to find some time to focus on it instead of multitask but I'm sure there will also be many tredmill stories to tell.

Maybe I should start a treadmill series, lol.

haha, I thought the same! there's freewriting... and there's threadmill-freewriting. :D I guess you invented a new sport. Thanks for sharing it. Now, for the first time I got here because of a link in Discord. And I'm glad!

Also, this freewriting thing, might be something I want to try out soon too! Must be the ultimate "perfectionism-killer".

Sam

This is a very detailed story that gives so much imagery for the reader. I feel like I'm there playing with them. Freewriting is so much fun and really helps to hone the craft of writing. I can be very OCD with my writing too so I totally understand where you are coming from. Love the short story!
Ivy

Thank you Ivy A.K.A. @socent, I really appreciate you taking the time to comment. The sorey story helped a little with my OCD, so I may have to do some more. Thank you for stopping by. 😁

Well I hope you do more and share them :)
Ivy

@socent I hope to get back to them soon, since getting approval to fly to pick up our son, life has been full on. lol. exciting times ahead. 😆

Wow you did this while walking on the treadmill??? You are on whole new level @insideoutlet. I think you are very good at it. You could think of a real memory to write about. I can't think much with such time constraint Hahaha. I too joined freewrite recently. Boy, it is challenging too for me because I do not like spelling errors so I too would check and edit my posts to make them sound better and more compact. Freewrite is making me throwing all these out if the window!! Not sure how many freeewrites I can survive, but let's try this some more, shall we?? :)

Im in, the reason I tried a freewrite was because I saw you write your first one in the post promo. It reminded me to give it a go.

Im on the tredmill for 35 minutes four too five times a week. But would like to find five minutes with my computer as I can type heaps faster and hope I can get a decent short story up.

In all honesty I wrote it in the five minutes and then corrected the spelling. If I didn't you wouldn't have been able to make much sense of it. I'm not a great at spelling. I look forward to seeing your next freewrite.

Hahaha you read mine, really? Wow I'm flattered :P I love your honesty. Sometimes I too read back and edit, especially if I can feel my mistakes right after I typed it. We will get better at this! Let's do this! :)

Pretty solid effort for 5min! LoL I can imagine that scene happening here except my youngest would have either been outright wetting himself laughing or if his siblings were really bawling would have come racing inside in sheer panic to get me XD

Obviously you were all fine in the end or have you never gotten back on a swing since that fateful day ;D

goatsig

Haha, if it were my brother, the middle one. He would have been wetting himself but he was in the pile crying on this occasion lol.

I still love a good swing so no permanent damage done. Lol

I love this! Of course you were one among the heap on the ground haha

I've been meaning to to a 5 minute free write as well, but there just never seems to be the time! And yes, I realize I'm talking to the person who just wrote this on a treadmill lol

Of course, it's no fun on the sidelines. I'm sure if you found 5 minutes for the treadmill then you could find five but you priorties are a little more pressing than mine, so dobt be tp hard on yourself. Plus 5 mins is never 5 mins on Steemit, as posting it is only the begininning. Especially if you want some views, thers discord to share it to, which involves more time to find quality to engage with. All fun and games.

My memeory too swi gs to my childhood with the swings story. @insideoutlet swings are always a parr of everyone life...no matter wat many would have some fabulos memoriea...

Swings are fun and sonething I think even adults can enjoy. I mean who doesn't love the idea of flying.

did you hart at that time @insideoutlet?, I can imagine how panic your mom was. Remembering the old memories can bring the happiness inside.

your write indeed bring me to my old memory too...thanks

Im not sure if she was panicked, as after she realizedwr wernt seriously hurt she just gotmad that dad didn't check it more often lol.

This is great!!! Yes, 5 minutes go by fast - but we are not sticklers over here. I am so glad you gave it a try and hope to see you around often!!

I will be back. It was nice and one of the reasons I came to Steemit. To write and explore my life creative side. It's sad it's taken me this long to remeber that. It's so easy to get caught up in it all.

For sure. We are here every day with a new prompt :)

Hahaha, I share your same habit of re-reads and re-writes... agonising must-dos... ;) I actually thought you were the mum in the story! I did one or two marianne's freewrites but then my OCD (shhhh!) got the better of me.. lol. Good luck to you... :))

With any luck Ill be able to reduce my OCD through multiple #freewrite's. I tried again with a three prompt story. It got a bit messy but I posted it anyway , which was against all my OCD standards lol... thanks for checking it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43