Food Adventure #15 | YUMCHA FOR LUNCH! Landmark Restaurant in SUNNYBANK

Welcome to another FOOD ADVENTURE!

Today I had YUMCHA for brunch with my mum at Landmark Restaurant in Sunnybank


FA15.png


YUMCHA!

Yumcha is traditionally a Cantonese cuisine, often eaten for brunch, that involves chowing down on delicious Dim Sum and washing it down with hot Chinese tea. Dim Sum is the term given to the small plates and small bamboo baskets filled with delicious, tasty servings of food.

I always feel that Yumcha is best enjoyed with a few family and friends so you can order a wider variety of food and eat a bit of everything. There are so many different dishes on offer it's always so hard to choose what to feast on. It was just my mum and myself today so I couldn't choose everything I wanted to eat, or there would be WAYYY too much food on the table for two people.

Today's Menu

  • Prawn Dumplings (Ha Gow)- FAVOURITE
  • Pork Soup Dumpling (Siu Lung Bao) - FAVOURITE
  • Fried Pork Dumplings (Ham Sui Gok)
  • Pork Spare Ribs in Black Bean Sauce
  • Fried Squid Tentacles
  • Steamed Rice Noodles with BBQ Pork

PS. Can't believe I forgot all about ordering EGG TARTS! They didn't have any when I first went to order. Then I completely forgot about them 😭

I guess I'll have to go eat Yumcha again soon so I can share all the other delicious Dim Sum dishes I love with you all, including my beloved Egg Tarts.


Landmark Restaurant

When I think of eating Yumcha in Brisbane Landmark Restaurant comes to mind. Today was no exception as I met up with my mum for our brunch. It's very easy to find in Sunnybank Plaza Shopping Centre and is absolutely CRAZY busy on the weekends. Today was a Monday so it was relatively quiet and much easier to order food.

IMG_5898.JPG


Two ways to order food

There are two ways to order food and we always take advantage of both.

Firstly, once you are seated, you will see the mobile food trolleys that have stacks and stacks of steaming bamboo baskets filled with piping, hot food. There are always a few food trolleys making their way through each row of tables so you can see what they have to offer and order directly from them. The second way is to walk up to the food counter that usually has a different variety of food on offer.

I usually wait at the table and if there isn't any food we want from the first trolley, I'll make my way up to the food counter to select food from there. Either way, the food is usually quite fresh and delicious.

IMG_5900.JPG
Hot food trolley. Ordered my favourite Prawn Dumplings from this trolley.

IMG_5902.JPG
Another food trolley. This one had dishes that don't have to be served piping hot. Ordered the Fried Pork Dumplings here

IMG_5907.JPG
Food counter window. Fried Squid Tentacles ordered from this display

IMG_5908.JPG
Delicious Steamed Rice Noodles with BBQ Pork under the metal covers. Getting the sauce poured over the rice noodles!

IMG_5909.JPG
So many different Dim Sum to choose from at the food counter

IMG_5911.JPG
You can see my Steamed Rice Noodles, Fried Squid Tentacles and Pork Ribs on a black tray at the top of this photo - Ready for me to take back to our table


TIME TO EAT!

Prawn Dumplings (Called Ha Gow in Cantonese)

These dumplings are one of my absolute favourite Dim Sum dishes. The dumpling skin is translucent and chewy and holds the prawns inside. Dip it in a bit of soy sauce and chilli sauce and I'm a happy person! No Yumcha dining experience is complete until I've devoured a few of these dumplings.

IMG_5905.JPG

Pork Soup Dumplings (Called Siu Lung Bao in Cantonese)

These aren't your ordinary dumplings! You need to be careful not to break the dumpling skin like we did in the picture below. Reason being is that this delicious dumpling has a tasty Soup that is held within the skin. I love having this dumpling with a little bit of Chinese vinegar and soy sauce. It definitely hits the spot! 👌

IMG_5904.JPG
Mum got to the dumplings before I could take a photo of them all haha

Fried Pork Dumpling (Called Ham Seui Gok in Cantonese)

Now, these babies don't look or taste like your regular "dumpling" but that's what they're called on the menu so I've kept the name the same. The inside is made up of a savoury pork mince filling and is encased in a glutinous rice flour mixture that becomes oh-so-crispy on the outside when deep fried. The rest of the rice flour "dough" is chewy with delicious morsels of tasty pork inside. I LOVE this dish when it's fresh, hot and crispy - but it is sometimes served at room temperature instead. I suppose it depends on how long they've been sitting on the trolley but I always try to get a fresh batch.

IMG_5903.JPG

Pork Spare Ribs in Black Bean Sauce

This dish can be oily but it's extremely tasty and the fat from the pork renders down as it's cooked to add to the black bean sauce. Definitely not healthy, but definitely delicious! One of my go-to dishes when I go and eat Yumcha.

Pictured in the bottom right corner in the photo below.

Fried Squid Tentacles

This is exactly what it sounds like. Squid tentacles that are coated in some sort of light batter before frying. These are tasty, crispy and tender. I personally love the smaller sized pieces as I find they're crunchier!

Pictured in the top left corner in the photo below.

Steamed Rice Noodles with BBQ Pork

This Dim Sum dish was one of my childhood favourites. Delicious morsels of BBQ Pork are found inside a giant roll of steamed rice noodle. The rolls are cut into bite-sized pieces when they are served and a delicious sweet soy sauce is poured over the top. There are other varieties of this that can be ordered, such as prawn and beef, but the family favourite has always been the BBQ pork version.

Pictured in the top right corner in the photo below.

IMG_5912.JPG
Starting top right corner then clockwise: Fried Squid, Steamed Rice Noodles with BBQ Pork, Pork Spare Ribs in Black Bean Sauce, Prawn Dumplings


Since I forgot about my favourite Egg Tarts today, I now have the perfect excuse to go and eat Yumcha again sometime soon. I'll try and select a different variety of dishes to share with you all.

Thank you for stopping by and hope you are hungry now!!!

-Frances


Still hungry? Here are some quick links to past Food Adventures

Sort:  

OMGosh!!! What a great place to eat! I have never heard of Yumcha before but those dumplings looks SOOOO good!

The prawn dumplings are my absolute favourite! If you have a "Chinatown" in your city, you should be able to find a restaurant that serves Yumcha. Service usually starts late morning (around 10:30-11am) and goes for a few hours at least until early afternoon (maybe 2PMish). Let me know if you manage to find a place!

好想吃啊...... 這裡一餐 平均花費多少??

Hello @laiyuehta! My Chinese skills are not very good but I can read a bit of what you've written. I'm learning to read and speak Chinese at the moment.

It cost around $35 AUD. I'm sure it will be much cheaper for a similar meal in Taiwan. Average price for Australia though

真是太好了 @supernovastaffy你懂中文!! 也許你可以考慮來台灣旅遊!!
原諒我打廣告台灣--安全的旅遊地"

I can only read & understand the first part of what you wrote. Used google translate for the rest! 😅

I visited Taiwan maybe 5 years ago with some friends. We had a lot of fun eating and shopping. I would love to go back someday and eat more food!

Welcome again!Taiwan has many interesting places you can come again

I'm so unbelievably hungry right now, after reading this.

That makes me so happy! haha. Love it when I make people hungry by looking at my food blog posts. Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

I'm missing Dimsum and would love to go eat! I'll have to do that on the weekend maybe :)

Any excuse for binge eating! Take some yummy pictures if you go and I'll be there drooling over your food pics haha

Hahahah, I'd be happy to share it. Hopefully, the soonest! ^^

It looks so appetizing and I hope it was yummy too! :)

It definitely was yummy! I wanted to eat more but my stomach thought otherwise haha. Thanks for stopping by!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-14T07:30:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 253.40/200.00
Total Photos: 42
Total comments: 14
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=supernovastaffy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=food-adventure-15-or-yumcha-for-lunch-landmark-restaurant-in-sunnybank


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 25 SBD worth and should receive 95 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15