Food Adventures #11 | Pho Hung Vietnamese - My favourite Bun Bo Hue (Spicy Beef Soup)

Welcome to another Food Adventure! I went to my local Vietnamese restaurant with my friend for dinner & ordered one of my favourite dishes - Bún Bò Huế!

FA11.jpg

Bun Bo what??!?

Bun Bo Hue is a very popular Vietnamese spicy beef and pork noodle soup - although not as popular as the famous Vietnamese Pho. I absolutely love BOTH of these classic Vietnamese noodle soup dishes but sometimes I just get that craving for spicy food and Bun Bo Hue fills that void in my stomach.

Bun (pronounced more like boon) = rice vermicelli
Bo = beef
Hue = Hue is a city in Central Vietnam that this dish originated from

FYI - Although it's called a spicy beef soup, it is often topped with pork hock as a meat, so be wary of this if you can't eat pork.

Put it all together and you have this steaming hot delicious bowl of round rice vermicelli topped with marinated slices of beef shank, pork hock and a Vietnamese meatloaf. This soup is a perfect balance of spicy, salty, sour and sweet flavours, brought together with a delicious lemongrass base.

The soup is already served with thin slices of onion and spring onions, however, you can also add additional condiments such as beansprouts, lime, mint and extra chilli if you want your soup EVEN MORE SPICY!


IMG_5675.JPG
Bun Bo Hue

IMG_5676.JPG
Close-up!


I know this noodle soup doesn't look amazing but trust me when I say that looks can definitely be deceiving. This soup will warm you to your soul and is perfect if you want a spicy kick out of your meal!

Thank you so much for eating this meal with your eyes! 10/10 from me. My only wish is that I could eat more right now!

-Frances
@supernovastaffy


Quick links to my other Vietnamese Food Adventures:

Sort:  

This just made me drool! We miss the food from Vietnam. Are you from there? We did a double For 91 Days there last year and LOVED it! We just recently did Bun Thit Nuong here at home! SOOO GOOD!

I'm living in Australia, although I have a Chinese heritage. My husband is half Vietnamese and I love Vietnamese food so I really, really want to go and visit Vietnam soon. But first we are saving up for Europe and then we'll definitely get around to eating our way through Vietnam.

Bun thit nuong is so good! Now I feel like going out to get some. YUM!

If you like ping me on Discord I'd be happy to share either our Hanoi or Saigon book with you .... contains some fun food articles as well.

Food articles sound amazing!

looks heavenly :) I love Vietnamese food, but unfortunately there's no restaurants with Vietnamese food where I live.

I’m on the Central Coast, we do have Vietnamese restaurant here but they don’t have every dish and most of them don’t compare to what you find in Cabramatta or Bankstown.

Better head to cabramatta or bankstown for your Viet food fix then! YUM!

That’s what we have to do, over 1h30 drive for lunch and shopping

That's too bad but I guess you could always try your hand and making the classic Vietnamese dishes yourself at home. I'm sure it will be just as delicious!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 13:14:40
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 205.40/200.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 14
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33