Melty Penne Pasta with Gouda, Ham, & Zucchini (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Oh my gosh, I’ve been getting my seasons so confused recently.

DSC_0159.jpg

It’s technically still winter where I live but at the same time it’s summer where I'm at. Then there’s the fact that most of the recipes I’m working on right now are starting to be geared for autumn and the holidays because crazy people like me have to start planning these things months ahead.

DSC_0047.jpg

Ha, and I used to think that seeing Halloween displays in stores anytime before October was pushing it. Then I’m also working on a project that’s for summer. I’m seriously going to lose my mind soon with all these seasons.

DSC_0095.jpg

Gringa problems, ay ay ay! This, my friends, is what happens when you work online, primarily with the other side of the world. The dual beauty and curse that we all know as the internet.

DSC_0053.jpg

Therefore, please forgive the fact that my recipes follow a very broad definition of “seasonal” and are entirely unpredictable. That’s why I love things like this pasta that are fairly multi-seasonal. Zucchini is a mid to late summer veggie but you can change it out with what’s in season and available to you locally. Although, we live in a modern age so it's likely that you have access to fresh zucchini year-round, however, if you want to add asparagus in the springtime or butternut squash in the fall then that would be awesome too.

DSC_0146.jpg

Your typical creamy pastas are parmesan alfredo or cheddar mac n cheese, both being delish choices, but I was in the mood to change it up and use something different. And you know what, gouda sounded…..gouda (I know, that joke was corny).

DSC_0035.jpg

White cheeses are what’s common in Chile because they don’t do a lot of aging to their cheeses. In fact, I remember the days before I had access to cheddar. How sad the world is and gray the outlook on life without cheddar! (haha) Okay sorry, but we’re talking gouda here (excuse my ADD), yes, gouda is the star of this pasta.

DSC_0060.jpg

It’s a super easy meal to throw together and pretty economical too, for those of you searching for budget friendly meals. It makes a great weeknight dinner and, like I already said, it works for almost every season. You can skip the meat too if you’re not feeling very carnivorous. Enjoy the rest of your Spring……. I mean Winter……no Summer…..nevermind.

DSC_0065.jpg

Melty Gouda Penne Pasta with Ham & Zucchini

Yield: 4 - 6 servings

Ingredients

16 ounces uncooked penne noodles
4 cloves garlic, minced
3 medium zucchini, chopped into small cubes
1/4 cup (4 tablespoons) butter, divided
2 tablespoons flour
2 1/2 cups whole milk
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried oregeno
1/2 teapoon dried parsley
2 1/2 cup shredded gouda cheese
1 cup diced ham
freshly grated parmesan cheese

Instructions

  1. Cook the noodles according to package instructions until al dente. Drain and rinse; set aside.
    In a medium saucepan, melt 2 tablespoons of butter over low heat and add garlic and zucchini. Cook for 6 to 7 minutes until zucchini is softened, then turn off heat pour mixture into a separate dish.
  2. Melt remaining 2 tablespoons of butter in the still warm pan and whisk in flour until smooth, then return to medium-low heat and slowly whisk in milk until completely smooth with no lumps. Increase heat to medium and stir gently until it begins to thicken. Stir in cream, oregeno, parsley, salt, and pepper then add gouda to pan and stir until smoothly melted in.
  3. Reduce heat to low and add ham and zucchini/garlic mixture. Cover and simmer for 6 to 8 minutes until warmed through, then add pasta and gently mix to coat in sauce.
  4. Serve hot topped with freshly grated parmesan cheese if desired.

DSC_0167.jpg

Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos!

  1. That Time I Was in a Magazine! Part 1: Maple Bacon Pancakes and That Time I Was in a Magazine! Part 2: Pińa Colada Pancakes

  2. BUTTERNUT SQUASH MAC & CHEESE CHICKEN PASTA

  3. CHOCOLATE BROOKLYN BLACKOUT CAKE, CUPCAKE STYLE

  4. BUTTERNUT SQUASH MAC & CHEESE CHICKEN PASTA

  5. CINNAMON APPLE CARAMEL UPSIDE DOWN CAKE

  6. Taste Bud Travel Tuesday - TURKEY KEFTEDES (GREEK MEATBALLS) & COUSCOUS w/ ROASTED GREEN BEENS

  7. PUMPKIN SPICED WHOOPIE PIES WITH KAHLÚA BUTTERCREAM

  8. GRINGA'S PUMPKIN JUICE SMOOTHIE

  9. Perfect Party Dip Idea - SAUSAGE CHEDDAR CHILI QUESO DIP

  10. SOUTHERN STYLE CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS

DSC_0099.jpg




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Sort:  

It's nice to see somebody use a good amount of black pepper. I think it's under-appreciated these days, as people go for the Sriracha or other hot sauce. Have you ever written about your content process here? From just this post, it sounds so interesting - having to think ahead in different amounts of time for different outlets. And think of it this way -- you get to enjoy all the seasons, all the time! : )

You make a really good point, but it is largely in part due to the fact that I am traveling. Currently in North Idaho

Your post made it sound like you were back already. You've been traveling for nearly a whole month. I haven't kept up, lol! I hope you are having a wonderful time! And "nice job" on being able to make all your cooking posts while you are traveling -- I know that takes a lot to prepare material in advance and just keep up while you are on the road. Happy travels!

Well, right now I am at my Aunt's house in North Idaho and it looks like I will be here for a while longer, probably at least one more month. So, it gives me the opportunity to keep posting. Thanks so much for the great comments as always

So you will get a double summer, lol. That means some good summer recipes from you - yay! Enjoy North Idaho -- such beautiful country!

Yes, that's right, two summers. The weather here has been erratic, really warm one day and really cold the next. Last week I got sunburn on Tuesday and rode a 4 wheeler in the snow on Wednesday. But it's all be beautiful which ever way it has gone. I just love it so much here

I love your photo!!
check my profile is a photogallery
upvoted
bless

Hello @abouteverything if you liked this post please check out my first food blog post. It would be greatly appreciated, thank you :)

Looks so good. I'm going to have to try making this. Thank you for putting this in my life. I'm hungry now.

Hello @sash-pacino if you liked this post please check out my first food blog post. It would be greatly appreciated, thank you :)

It looks very delicious again, a wonderful work of yours!

wow....gnammmmmmmmmmm!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @sardrt

Hello @sardt! If you liked this post please check out my first food blog post. It would be greatly appreciated, thank you :)

Great cheese choice. Gouda is a great cheese from the Netherlands :)

Thanks @gococonuts. And that's so cool. I've always wanted to go to the netherlands.

Congratulations @gringalicious! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @gringalicious! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Awesome recipe I will try making it ^,^

Fantastic @blazykelly, thanks so much for commenting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49