That Time I Was in a Magazine! Part 1: Maple Bacon Pancakes

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Good day my friends! Did I ever tell you that I got featured in a magazine?

Spoonful collage.png

Yeah, it was back in 2015. I was contacted by a small independent new magazine called Spoonful Mag. You can see more about it on their website

DSC_0527.jpg

It was such a fun experience. I got to make stacks and stacks of waffles and pancakes for a full outdoor photoshoot with my family. I mixed tons of fun flavors together for toppings and syrups. Everyone loved them.

DSC_2390.jpg

Now, while I can't share the full article I thought I'd give you all a little peek of what was in it and include some of the leftover photos from it. If you want to read the full article you can purchase a copy of it - Summer 2016 – Volume One, Issue Two – “Dog Days”, or you can even get a yearly subscription.

DSC_0172.jpg

And surprise! I'm sharing one of the recipes from the article.

Bourbon Caramel & Bacon Buttermilk Pancakes
Serves 3-4

Total Cooking Time: 50 minutes
Active Cooking Time: 35 minutes

Bourbon Caramel:
1 ¾ cups dark brown sugar
1 cup whole milk
¼ butter
2 tablespoons honey
¼ teaspoon salt
½ cup heavy whipping cream
2 tablespoons Kentucky bourbon
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Bacon Buttermilk Pancakes:
1 pound uncooked bacon
1 cup + 2 tablespoons prepared pancake mix
1 egg
3 tablespoons reserved bacon grease
⅔ cup buttermilk
1 tablespoon prepared bourbon caramel

Method:

Bourbon Caramel:
Combine brown sugar, butter, milk, honey, and salt in a medium saucepan over medium low heat. Bring to a soft boil and stir occasionally, scraping sugar from sides of pan, for about 10 minutes until it starts to get thick and develop a dark amber color. Add cream and bourbon and reduce heat to low. Simmer for about 5 minutes until sauce is thickened, then stir in vanilla and cool. Store in an airtight container until in refrigerator until ready to serve.

Bacon Buttermilk Pancakes:
Cook bacon in a medium skillet until crispy. Remove to paper towel lined plate and pour grease into a glass mixing bowl. Crumble bacon and set aside for later.
Add buttermilk and caramel to mixing bowl and mix until smooth. Whisk in egg, then add pancake mix and stir until smooth.
Heat a griddle over medium high heat and grease lightly. Pour about ¼ of batter per pancake, leaving about 2 inches between for flipping room. Cook pancakes for 2 to 3 minutes per side or until lightly browned.
Serve pancakes topped with bacon crumbles and warmed caramel.

DSC_0953.jpg

Later I'll share the recipe for the mentioned "pancake mix" from this recipe and I just might share a little bit more if you guys are interested!

Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos :)

  1. BUTTERNUT SQUASH MAC & CHEESE CHICKEN PASTA

  2. CHOCOLATE BROOKLYN BLACKOUT CAKE, CUPCAKE STYLE

  3. BUTTERNUT SQUASH MAC & CHEESE CHICKEN PASTA

  4. CINNAMON APPLE CARAMEL UPSIDE DOWN CAKE

  5. Taste Bud Travel Tuesday - TURKEY KEFTEDES (GREEK MEATBALLS) & COUSCOUS w/ ROASTED GREEN BEENS

  6. PUMPKIN SPICED WHOOPIE PIES WITH KAHLÚA BUTTERCREAM

  7. GRINGA'S PUMPKIN JUICE SMOOTHIE

  8. Perfect Party Dip Idea - SAUSAGE CHEDDAR CHILI QUESO DIP

  9. SOUTHERN STYLE CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

nice....rs and upvote for you

Wow, a comment, a rs, and an upvote, how awesome. Thanks so much @lautenglye

u r welcome...keep post more blog...will always support you :)

Finishes dinner

logs into Steemit

Sees waffles and pancakes

Drools

Upvotes

Dreams about waffles and pancakes

ROFL! Thank you so much for a great laugh @sidwrites!

How does it feel to make a happy and satisfied man hungry? 😂

Keep posting! Love these pics.

Just started following you!

Hope to enjoy those pics, if I can't enjoy the food! God damn! :)

Likewise @gringalicious, good day to you. Wow, good thing you mention this. It means that you're not just an ordinary woman but a woman with popular personalities.

Thanks so much @juvyjabian, those are very, very nice words

You have an amazing sense of displaying food, almost in a theme manner and then taking excellent pics. I just love it.

I'm absolutely flattered @siddartha. Thank you!

@goatgarden and i are both looking at this post. Before breakfast. Suddenly the bacon and eggs i had planned, again, seem insufficient. Lol

Haha, well I'll both apologize for it and accept it as a compliment. Thank you @clickinchicken and @goatgarden!

And wow! What a great experience for you! Beautiful pictures! You are very talented.

This will be the first meal I make after I'm done dieting.
Thanks for this!! :D

Hope you enjoy it @ikigai!

That's right @gringalicious, it's fantastic that you don't hide your recipes any more! 😊

Are the photos yours, or there was a magazine photographer?

Nope, all the photos are mine taken by me. With the exception of the magazine cover and the one of me of course. My sister took the ones of me. Thanks @photo-trail.

Then you are going to DPS, of course 😊

What is DPS, may I ask?

Daily Photo Selection.

I'm sorry you felt it necessary to say "it's fantastic that you don't hide your recipes any more! 😊" I just want you to know that I have never 'hidden' recipes, they have ALWAYS been available upon request and will continue to be. My reasoning is to encourage engagement. I do appreciate your support and comments. Thanks for your understanding.

Wow. The pictures look heavenly. I can't cook but surely I would love to taste those pancakes. Good Post. Cheers!!!!

Wow, what a perfect thing to read in the morning, those pictures are awesome and now I'm starving :) I'm actually here because I read @liliana.duarte's raving review of you on the user chain. I thought your name sounded familiar, I know you from @rigaronib's posts...you once told me that I sounded like your mom LOL.
First time someone's ever said that to me, makes you unforgettable ;)
That's awesome you were in a magazine. I will definitely be checking out more of your stuff after this :)

Wow, I can't believe you remember that comment, haha. Thank you so much @dreemit I'm so happy you like my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54158.26
ETH 2857.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01