That Time I Was in a Magazine! Part 2: Pińa Colada Pancakes

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hey friends! Time for part 2 of my little pancake post series.

Spoonful collage-2.png

So I mentioned in the previous post about the magazine article I did and I shared one of the recipes from it also. Today I'll be sharing another one so stand by for Pińa Colada Pancakes!

DSC_2420.jpg

It was a gorgeous day for a photoshoot and, of course my whole family got involved. I mean, hello, there were pancakes! My sister brought out her guitar and played some beautiful music while everyone dug into the goodness.

DSC_0478.jpg

So obviously each of the pancake recipes can be enjoyed in a very casual manner in your own kitchen. Yeah, so no pressure to make things picture perfect.

DSC_0413.jpg

On the other hand, for me I somehow think setting the table with fresh flowers surrounded by vibrant green grass was just a bit more eye-appealing for a magazine than my kitchen would have been on this particular day. Let's just say that a pancake party makes a lot of dishes, hehe.

pancakes.jpg

Alright, so I'll cut to the chase here and share the recipe for the pancakes already. Hope you're all having an awesome day.

DSC_0429.jpg

Also, the recipe for the "pancake mix" listed in the recipe is available upon request.

Pińa Colada Pancakes

Total Cooking Time: 30 minutes
Active Cooking Time: 25 minutes

Topping:
¼ cup coconut milk
1 ¾ cup fresh pineapple, diced
½ cup sugar
1 tablespoon dark rum
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons unsweetened shredded coconut
Pancakes:
1 cup + 2 tablespoons prepared pancake mix
1 egg
½ cup 100% pineapple juice
¾ cup full fat coconut milk
2 teaspoons coconut oil
2 teaspoons dark rum
unsweetened shredded coconut for garnish (if desired)

Method:

Topping:
In a medium saucepan, combine all ingredients except vanilla and bring to boil. Reduce heat to medium low and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 10 to 12 minutes until fruit is very soft and liquid is thickened. Add vanilla and cool. Store in refrigerator until ready to serve

Pancakes:
Whisk egg, pineapple juice, and coconut milk together in a medium mixing bowl until combined. Add melted coconut oil and whisk in pancake mix until smooth.
Heat a griddle over medium high heat and grease lightly. Pour about ¼ of batter per pancake, leaving about 2 inches between for flipping room. Cook pancakes for 2 to 3 minutes per side or until lightly browned.
Serve pancakes topped with cooked pineapple topping and shredded coconut flakes.

Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos and you can also look at the first part from this series :

  1. BUTTERNUT SQUASH MAC & CHEESE CHICKEN PASTA

  2. CHOCOLATE BROOKLYN BLACKOUT CAKE, CUPCAKE STYLE

  3. BUTTERNUT SQUASH MAC & CHEESE CHICKEN PASTA

  4. CINNAMON APPLE CARAMEL UPSIDE DOWN CAKE

  5. Taste Bud Travel Tuesday - TURKEY KEFTEDES (GREEK MEATBALLS) & COUSCOUS w/ ROASTED GREEN BEENS

  6. PUMPKIN SPICED WHOOPIE PIES WITH KAHLÚA BUTTERCREAM

  7. GRINGA'S PUMPKIN JUICE SMOOTHIE

  8. Perfect Party Dip Idea - SAUSAGE CHEDDAR CHILI QUESO DIP

  9. SOUTHERN STYLE CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS

DSC_0902.jpg

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

I resteeming your post :)

Thanks so much @jraysteem, that is so nice of you

Dang! Pina colada pancakes! I definitely need to print some of your recipes out.

Thank you.

nice....your post deserve upvote and resteem...

I miss those buttermilk pancakes. Can't get those in the UK...

Well, now you can make them yourself - I hope you get inspried

I actually might ;)

Yummy! I guess it's time for me to start following you, I keep enjoying your posts... Thank you.

Followed back, thanks so much @mprgrmmr

Good idea for pancakes and great photos!

Awesome pancakes and posts!

Well, thank you so much @team101

Amazing and YUM! Love your pics.. makes me even MORE hungry

That's super sweet of you to say, @tammyp! Thanks a million.

This food looks good :)) And cool post I like it :)

I am thrilled you liked it. I really appreciate your comments @foxkoit

Thank you!! and you are welcome :))

Look delicious))
Thank you for this post)

Thanks so much for commenting @lada94

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64