Vegan Shrikhand (Mango Rich)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Shrikhand is a hung curd recipe, traditionally made with animal milk yogurt. It is a very popular dish specially in western India.
Here I made its vegan version without using any plant-based curd. Consistency and taste is similar to the traditional recipe. I learned this recipe from one of my vegan friend who once invited me to attend a vegan marriage and this dish was show-stealer in that party.
As mango season is at peak so I made it mango reach.

_MG_8946.JPG

Ingredients

  • Green coconut flesh chopped 3 cups
  • Green raw mango chopped 2/3 cup
  • Ripe mango chopped 2 cups
  • Dry fruits as required
  • Cardamom powder 1/2 tsp
  • Sugar 1/2 cup or according to taste

_MG_8923.JPG

Procedure-

  • It is very easy to prepare. Just have to mix coconut flesh, raw and ripe mango and sugar and blend in a high-speed blender. Make sure it becomes a smooth paste.

IMG_8933.JPG

  • Add cardamom powder and mix again.
  • Add crushed dry fruits and keep in the fridge for few hours.
  • Garnish with chopped mango and serve chilled.
    _MG_8943.JPG

Check here my other mango related posts-
Mango-Coconut Balls { Aam Nariyal ke Laddo}
Aamras Poori { Mango Juice and Indian fried bread}: Food Photography
Mango Semolina Halwa : Vegan Recipe
Mango Phirni (Mango rice pudding)
Aam Papad : Delicious Mango Snack
Mango-Coconut Ice-cream (Vegan)
Mango Lassi : Yogurt based mango drink
Beat The Heat With Refreshing Mango Iced Tea!
May is a Mango Month, love for MANGO is in the air!!
Mango Semolina Cake : Simply Vegan Recipe

U5dsqLssqhV6SUKw2Af6NLAy3MmdDDT.gif
upvote follow resteem.png

Sort:  

This looks and sounds delicious and it is simple enough so that even I could make it.

Is the sugar necessary or could you just leave it out? It is a very fruitheavy dish so I'd imagine that it is sweet enough even without.

I could also see Pineapple go well with this.

It is up to your imaginations. You can make as you like!

This must be delicious, as it looks. Even without sugar, the ingredients would make it sweet

I've never heard of it before, but it definitely looks delicious! I think it's a great idea to make it when you're having a bunch of people over! Hopefully I'll manage to make it taste as good as it looks :) Thanks for sharing the recipe with us!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Excellent publication! If you want to know about nutrition, I invite you to read my blog :)

mouth watering

You got a 2.00% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @chetanpadliya!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

It looks good, @chetanpadliya! 💕 And basing on its looks and ingredients, I'm sure it tastes good as well -a crave-worthy kind of good.

It seems that it's a healthy and fresh food that my friend, I like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35