fiftywords stories: Round-up and Genre for Weekend 3: CRIME

fiftywords.jpg

"The hurrier I go, the behinder I get."
– The White Rabbit, Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

This is always the case for me. In rushing to get my analysis finished yesterday I caused more problems and lost more time than if I'd just gone slowly and steadily to get it finished. A lesson learned. One which I shall no doubt forget by tomorrow.

So apologies for being a little late with this week's round up. But here it is, better late than never!

The exciting news is that we passed our first milestone this week. With one hundred and twenty-nine individual stories our fledgling project rocketed past the century mark. Congratulations all around!

We've also added seven new authors to our ranks. Please welcome:
@ahmadmanga, @belemo, @preparedwombat, @pyrowngs, @sukhasanasister, @svarozich, and @sweetjoy.
Make sure to visit their blogs and their stories to give them a welcome start.

And of course a congratulatory round of applause and pat on the back for all of you who have joined in so far. At the end of week three we’ve now had stories from forty-seven amazing authors - here you all are so that you can visit your fellow fiftyworders:
@ahmadmanga, @authorofthings, @belemo, @bentheredonethat,
@birchmark, @busdriver, @byn, @calluna, @charlesmackenzie,
@chidiarua, @crookshanks, @deirdyweirdy, @elementm, @elijahniel12,
@ellievallie, @felt.buzz, @gonzo, @greycrasan, @hannihealth, @hazem91,
@improv, @jayna, @jrhughes, @kyrian, @lonestarpoet, @mctiller,
@metzli, @miniature-tiger, @navaneeth, @niallon11, @not-a-bird,
@preparedwombat, @pyrowngs, @saoirseronan, @saryn, @someoneusual,
@spalatino, @sukhasanasister, @svarozich, @sweetjoy, @thechosenwhan,
@therosepatch, @tibra, @tin-tin, @vaitelavicius, @yadah04, @yomibolo.


So a big thank you to everyone who joined-in with the "Wave" theme this week. We saw our protagonists pitted against ocean waves, heat waves and attack waves. We had waves of emotion and pain and last waves goodbye.

I particularly liked this wonderful prose-poetry-piscine-piece from @charlesmackenzie:
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@charlesmackenzie/50-word-stories-or-good-tidings
It's beautifully written with some hugely creative original photography. And it's fifty words on the nose!

Congratulations also to @preparedwombat whose heatwave-themed story topped the fiftywords trending page for most of the week:
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@preparedwombat/fifty-words-story-wave


I thought that this weekend we could have a little twist. Rather than proposing a theme I thought I would suggest a genre. So this weekend challenge yourself to produce a fiftywords story in the CRIME genre. Think Sherlock Holmes or Lisbeth Salander, Miss Marple or even Rick Deckard. Channel your inner detective or your secret criminal masterplans. Police detectives, crime-scene investigators, or true-life stories, the scope is wider than you might think!

As we're starting a little late I'll round up again late on Monday or early Tuesday with the weekday theme. I will be happily resteeming one of the stories I like best and no doubt I will be offering some of my small upvotes as encouragement.

Thanks for reading everyone and good luck with your stories! And enjoy the rest of your weekends!


If you would like to join in, particularly if you're new to the platform, or recently returned, and looking for somewhere to start, please do! Just post your story with the "fiftywords" tag. You can follow the theme / genre or simply take your inspiration where you find it. The only unbreakable(!) rule is to keep it to fifty words - ideally fifty on the nose - and also try and produce a complete and contained scene, moment, or story. In a future post I'll try and put some thoughts together as to what I think makes a good fiftywords story. But everyone will have their own ideas and all are welcome!

Sort:  

My first entry: The Interrogation
My second entry: Chicken Soup
My Third Entry: Following Orders
My Fourth Entry: The Usual Suspects
My Fifth Entry: Peer Pressure

Nice work @gonzo.

Thank you!

Oh my word! The feature! thank you sir! I'm afraid I've expended all my up votes, so please don't take offence. My appreciation is the greatest!

No problem Charles. Your story is your gift. And your appreciation is most welcome.

Here's my entry: Cemetary

This was so fun! Think I'll be doing this every weekend!!! :D

Congrats to @preparedwombat! That's awesome about his trending post. Interesting trivia/side note. He is the person who brought me to to Steemit and is my brother-in-law. :^)

And here's my weekend 50-words post: https://steemit.com/fiction/@jayna/the-man-in-hiding

I got some words for the world again! Thanks for the prompt
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@lonestarpoet/fiftywordscrime-angels

I got a kick out of doing this. I think I may be hooked :-)
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@pixiehunter/death-of-a-snowman-fiftywords-story-crime

Thanks for the new theme ^^

No worries!

It's a genre rather than a theme this time, so the idea is your story can be about anything as long as the genre is loosely "Crime" orientated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55