The blind date - Chapter 13 - Fiction

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

 

James drove straight to his house and they arrived there just after midnight. The lights in the living room was still on, and that meant that Sam and Sylvia was still awake.  

“Do you want to go inside first?” James asked but Olivia shook her head. 

“I don’t want to see anyone else tonight. Would you mind if we skip this?” 

“Not at all.”  They were both tired, and once they were inside James locked the door behind them.  

“Come let me show you the bedroom. I don’t mind sleeping on the couch.” 

“Don’t be silly James, I don’t bite…but I’m tired. I really need some sleep. You are very welcome to share the bed with me. I feel bad enough to impose on you like this."

“Don’t feel bad, I'm happy to help, and I'll gladly share a bed with you. 

He smiled at her “Come, let me show you the way, just don’t expect too much.”

He showed her the tiny bedroom and started to empty a shelf in his cupboard for her clothes. Apart from the being that small, everything was meticulously neat and tidy.  

“Gee whizz” Olivia said, "you can hardly change your mind in here."

James seemed a little embarrassed.  

“It’s not much” he said “I'm hardly ever here. I’m close to my brother, and that’s all that really matters. Sylvia often sends over an extra plate of food, so I don’t even cook that much. I can’t think of the last time I actually cooked a proper meal. It is just me myself and I.” 

“You don’t have to explain anything.” Olivia realized that she must have sounded terrible and said “I think this is pretty cool. If I had a twin brother I would also want to live close to him. Hell, I would’ve wanted to live in the same house as he did.”  

“Which side of the bed do you want?” Olivia asked. All of the earlier passion was lost for this evening.  Olivia got into bed and fluffed the pillows behind her. She smiled at him. 

“Thank you James. I really appreciate your hospitality.”  

James excused himself and took a quick shower. When he got back, Olivia was already fast asleep. It seemed very awkward to have someone in his bed and he climbed in very carefully not to wake her. James didn't fall asleep so easily. 

He kept tossing and turning and got up to get a drink of water. Olivia was still sleeping like a baby when he got back. He eventually fell asleep, but somewhere during the night Olivia moved closer to him and she was literally all over him when they woke up the next morning.  

Just like James, Olivia wasn't used to sleeping with someone, and they had both become very selfish in their sleeping habits.  Olivia literally had her one leg wrapped over his leg, and her one arm was clinging to his arm, as if she was holding on for her life.  It was a mission to free himself from the entanglement and when he eventually freed himself, he went to make them some coffee. 

It was just after seven and while he was busy in the kitchen there was a knock on the door. It was Sam.  

“How was your dinner bro?” He asked. James asked him to talk softer because he did not want to wake Olivia.  

“Olivia is here? Hey bro, you don’t even give the grass time to grow… do you?” 

"No it’s not like that." He explained to Sam exactly what happened, and they were still sitting outside on the porch drinking their coffee when Olivia appeared behind them.  

“Oh hi Sam, how are you? I’m sorry to interrupt, but Detective Harding phoned. He wants us to get down to the station right away. He has some information to share with us."

“You two go ahead. I need to get to work anyways. Would you mind if I use your car today James? My car is going in for a service and I forgot to ask you last night."

“Sure let me grab the keys. 

“You drive careful now, hear me. You know that car is my life.”  

“You won’t let me forget it! I hope everything gets sorted Olivia. You two should come over for dinner tonight. I’ll tell Sylvia. Love you bro!”  

Olivia went to take a shower and when she came back James had already made the bed. 

"I could've done this. Gosh I haven't slept this well in a long time." 

When they arrived at the station, Detective Harding was already waiting for them.

He invited them to sit down.

"There is no sign of Jean Pierre. He left the studio last night and didn't go to his hotel. I suspect that he is hiding out somewhere else. We've checked the airlines and he is definitely still in the city. We have a warrant out for his arrest. The good news is we found his computer and he was definitely spying on you. We have all the proof that we need. Just hang in there.  We will find him, and we will put him behind bars."

"Thank you detective Harding" Olivia said. "I really appreciate your effort."  

James's cellphone rang and he excused himself while Olivia spoke to the detective. 

"I suspect that Jean Pierre is waiting for you to get back to the ...." Before he could finish speaking James burst back into the office.  

"We have to go! Sam's been in an accident.  We have to get to the hospital now. They're bringing him in with an ambulance. "

Olivia looked shocked, grabbed her handbag and quickly walked to the car with him. When they arrived at the hospital, the ambulance just stopped.  

Olivia went into doctor mode immediately and ran into the emergency room with Sam.          


To be continued

Chapter 1 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date 

Chapter 2 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-2-fiction 

Chapter 3 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-3-fiction

Chapter 4 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-4-fiction

Chapter 5 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-5-fiction

Chapter 6 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-6-fiction

Chapter 7 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-7-fiction

Chapter 8 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-8-fiction

Chapter 9 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-9-fiction

Chapter 10- https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-10-fiction

Chapter 11- https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-11-fiction

Chapter 12 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-12-fiction

   

Sort:  

You may want to consider having a beta reader?

Why would she need a beta reader?

O my word this JP is causing more trouble - love to read your stories.

Good keep going

Jean Pierre, just the name sort of sets you off now when you see it in the story. Not a very nice guy.

Definitely not a nice guy...

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52