The blind date - Chapter 5 - Fiction

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Image source

Olivia lay in bed thinking about the weird coincidences of the last two days.  She literally lay in bed laughing at herself, because she was so angry at James and then it turned out that it was not even him. She really like Sylvia and Sam and they already felt as if they were part of her life. She couldn't stop thinking about James and how good they were together.  

She was in a relationship no too long ago, but it turned out he was only after her money and status.  With James it was different. They were equals and they even worked at the same hospital. At least if this didn't work out it would not be awkward because she never saw him at work. She was still thinking about the date and just began to doze off when she heard her cellphone buzz. It was nearly half past one.  

"I had a great evening.  What time can I pick you up for breakfast in the morning?"

She giggled and answered:  "It's already morning. Aren't you going to sleep?"

"I can't...too excited!"

"Excited?"

"Yes, I can't wait to see you in the morning"

Olivia laughed.  "You can be excited all you want, but I am going to sleep now."

"What time can I pick you up? Seven o'clock?"

"Your crazy...I'll text you when I'm awake. Chat tomorrow."

She put her phone on charge and then switched off the bedside lamp. She fell asleep almost instantly and the next morning slept until nine o clock.  She picked up her phone to send James a message and saw that there were three missed calls.  She smiled, but then frowned when she realized that the calls were not from James.  She immediately phoned back the number but no one answered.  

She decided to phone James instead of texting and he picked up the phone after a few rings. "Hello..." He still sounded fast asleep. 

"Hey sleepyhead...did I wake you?" 

"You might have...I didn't get to bed until five this morning. Geez what time is it?"

"It's nearly half past ten. Do you still want to go out for breakfast?"

James laughed. "Sure but we better make it lunch. We're halfway there already.  Anyplace special you want to go?"

"Surprise me."  Olivia said. "I'll be ready"

"I'll pick you up just after twelve." James said. 

Olivia took a bath and decided to dress casually. She had no idea what James were planning for lunch or where they were going.  She just finished putting on her make-up when there was a knock on the door. It was too early for James and she didn't invite anyone over.  

She opened the door and was surprised to see a package right in front of her door.  There was no card attached and she picked it up and put it on the kitchen counter.  "I wonder who this is from?" She wondered and was just about to open the box when the doorbell rang again. This time it was James.  

"Come on in, I just need to finish something in the kitchen then I'll be with you.  I'm nearly ready to go." James took a seat and Olivia walked over to the kitchen. "Would you like some coffee?" She shouted to James.  

He declined, but she still poured herself a cup and took one sip.  She was curious to see what was in the box and very carefully opened the lid.  Inside the box was the most beautiful doll that she had ever seen. 

She lifted the doll out of the box and she was absolutely delighted to see that it was the one doll that she missed from her collection. "Who would send me this doll?"  

None of her friends knew that she collected dolls and she couldn't think of anyone that would spend this much money on an anonymous present.  This doll was sent by someone that knew her very well, but she couldn't pinpoint it.  

"Come on, I'm hungry!" James shouted from the lounge.  She carefully put the doll back in the box and put the box in her bedroom.  She took a last look in the mirror, touched up her lipstick and grabbed a jacket.  She was very puzzled when she walked into the lounge, but smile nonetheless when she saw James.  

"Come on, let's go.  I'm so hungry I can eat a horse."  

To be continued

Chapter 1 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date 

Chapter 2 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-2-fiction 

Chapter 3 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-3-fiction

Chapter 4 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-4-fiction

Sort:  

Where dolls are concerned I usually get an eery Chucky feeling!! Suspense is building

That was the funniest comment I have seen today. thank You for making me laugh.

Hahahaha I am glad I made you laugh but I am serious :)

Well written, you do well in luring me back time after time!

That is my evil plan...lol

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.36 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Love your story thanks fo writing it.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Seems that the X knows that there may be a new beau. Or some secret admirer. Strange calls, and then a package that only some close to her would know to send. I guess I was way off base with the surrogate mommy thing, so now wondering what next. Wonderful job keeping us glued.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61358.50
ETH 3378.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52