The blind date - Chapter 9 - Fiction

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

 

The champagne glass shattered into a million pieces and people jumped out of the way. James carried her outside into the fresh air. When she came to, she seemed utterly confused. James still had her in his arms and he looked very worried.  

“Have you eaten today?” James asked and she shook her head. 

“You can put me down now” Olivia said “I’m not an invalid”  

“I know that silly, but you could have hurt yourself. You know better than to let you blood sugar drop like that."

He put her down carefully and grabbed her arm to make sure she kept her balance.  Olivia suddenly remembered about Jean Pierre and peeked through the window into the studio. She saw him chatting with someone inside and she asked James if he could fetch her coat inside. James didn’t want to leave her there, so he grabbed her arm and pulled her inside with him.   

It was like Jean Pierre sensed her presence and in a matter of seconds he stood right in front of her. She had no choice but to face her fear as James went to fetch her coat.   “Hello Jean Pierre.”  

“Did you receive my present?” Jean Pierre asked. Olivia couldn’t figure out what he was talking about and then remembered the doll.  

“Did you send me the doll?” She asked cautiously.  

“Yes, I found it in Paris in one of those antique shops you loved so much. Wasn’t that the one you needed to complete the collection?” 

“Yes, I didn’t know who sent it. Why didn’t you enclose a note?” 

"I wanted it to be a surprise. I knew you would be excited about completing your collection, and you know I would do anything for you.” 

Olivia felt a chill down her spine when he said it and was relieved when James showed up with her coat.  

“Olivia did you see that painting?” James asked. “It looks just like you! “ 

“It should, because it is me.” Olivia was not happy. She reluctantly introduced James to Jean Pierre and immediately told James that she wanted to leave. James still wanted to talk to Jean Pierre, but Olivia was already on her way out the door. 

“What the hell is going on?” James asked when he finally caught up with her.  

“Nothing, let’s just go please.” Olivia kept on walking down the street and James had to walk fast to stay with her. The art studio was close to the restaurant and Olivia walked in and asked for a table. James seemed concerned and couldn’t figure out what it was that upset Olivia so much. 

Olivia ordered a whisky on the rocks and when it arrived she gobbled it down like it was a glass of water.  

“Wow!” James said and then ordered her a glass of wine. 

"You are upset, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves. Please tell me what’s going on.” 

Olivia took a deep breath and then told James the whole story about her travels and Jean Pierre. She told him that they lived together for a while but she left him because he was obsessed with her.  

“Tonight when I saw the painting and Jean Pierre….. All those feelings just rushed back into my system. I swore that I would never be controlled by any man again.” 

She told James about her doll collection and the box that arrived the previous week with no note.  

“And it wasn’t until tonight that you realized that it was from him?” James asked.  

“I had no idea. I didn’t even know he was in town. I haven't seen him in nine years.”  

“Well that clears up something for me” James said. 

“Someone delivered the art show tickets to me anonymously last week. I thought they were from a patient, but now I’m thinking otherwise.” 

“Do you think we have reason to be suspicious?” James asked. 

“I honestly don’t know. I just know that Jean Pierre creeps me out and I never want to see him again.”  

“Well then let’s forget about him” James said adamantly, and called the waiter to order a bottle of champagne. Two bottles later Olivia was all fun and games and she hasn’t had this much fun in a long time. She felt totally relaxed and it seemed like James was also having a good time.  At nine thirty they have had enough of the restaurant and decided to go visit Barry at the rooftop bar. Neither of them wanted the night to end and they decided to walk the three blocks.  

James grabbed Olivia’s hand as soon as they left the restaurant and giggled while they walked down the street hand in hand. James felt like a kid again and he knew that he was totally falling for Olivia. What he did not know was that she was thinking the exact same thing. 

James pulled her closer and put his arm around her waist. They were so focused on each other that they did not see the car driving next to them with the lights off, following their every move. When they stepped off the sidewalk to cross the street, the car suddenly blinded them with bright lights and sped past them, nearly running them over…

James literally pushed Olivia back on the sidewalk and she fell down for the second time that night. All they heard were the screeching wheels when the car went around the next corner.  



To be continued

Chapter 1 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date 

Chapter 2 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-2-fiction 

Chapter 3 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-3-fiction

Chapter 4 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-4-fiction

Chapter 5 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-5-fiction

Chapter 6 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-6-fiction

Chapter 7 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-7-fiction

Chapter 8 - https://steemit.com/fiction/@giantbear/the-blind-date-chapter-8-fiction

   

Sort:  

It will take me awhile to catch up on you writing. Hopefully my voting bot voted during the time I was away. Please take care!

She's drunk... time for a little menage au trois!!!

She seems to be drunk a lot...what a complete mission it was to post this...Hopefully it will be fixed soon but I am on word now...typing and pasting and then saving again just for in case. Not losing one word ever again.

That's what I'm doing as well. One article I wrote I had to post 3 times just to get it out! Thank God for drunk chicks... it made it possible for ugly guys like me to get dates!!!

Ha ha ha...I like your story about the chicken!

First one I've done where nobody got raped or murdered!

Nice view without peaceful comfort

I wonder if the doll has wireless eyes? So that mr. frenchie can watch her at night. He is after all obsessed with her. Pretty intriguing story, a good mystery/drama story. What next for our love birds, tune in tomorrow for another episode of "The Blind Date" brought to you by our sponsors, or maybe not, steemit is broke again... Fun read @giantbear.

Thank you. I was thinking in that direction but we all have to just wait and see! It took an hour just to post but I'm writing on word now just for in case!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $19.02 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Enjoying your story very much thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64