[LEARN & EARN - Week #5] What did you learn in the last couple of days? **2 STEEM + NEW TIER**

in #education6 years ago (edited)

One thing a day, keep stupidity away :) I've lately started to write morning journal similar to how Tim Ferris does. But I've added one more column:

What did I learn yesterday?

It quickly became my favorite thing to write down in the morning. Just couple of words. Usually between 3-6. Just keywords. The realization that I'm waking up smarter than yesterday just totally boosts the energy for the next day.

LearnEarn_GreyRedUpNewRules.png

text10.png

Last week entries from my personal journal

  • Monday - Javascript keyDown event has also a flag for Shift being pressed, not only Control
  • Tuesday - You can get McDonald's Christmas present (socks) even without buying anything :D
  • Wednesday - Nice wrestling technique to score 2 points on belly down opponent
  • Thursday - LSD scientific experiments and studies have been executed in Czechoslovakia long before communist regime left
  • Friday - Whole lot about ETF investing

text16.png

STEEM BOUNTY (2 STEEM ) - new tier!!

I want YOU to do the same! And because I know that we're all driven by the number in our STEEM wallet, I'm adding a tiny STEEM Bounty on this post. There are two ways how to get the bounty:

  • UPPER (20%) - Idea came from @brittandjosie. To get into the upper tier, write a post with your submission. The only thing the post has to have is to use the picture above (my notebook with week number) as the title picture and [Learn & Earn] in the title. No need to use any special tags, just comment the link to your post here :)
  • MEDIUM (15%) - Comment and write what have you learned on each day of the week
  • LOWER (10%) - If you've just randomly came over, comment just 3 random things you've lately learned and you will get some cut as well

Whale users? Anyone?

I thought about fourth REAL LEARNERS' bounty size which would require participants to daily fill in the Google spreadsheet! I could take care of writing the script to check if people are not cheating. But to make people come back daily, the bounty needs to be higher than 1 STEEM. If some whale users read & like this idea, just lemme know if you could donate couple of STEEM for the cause to increase bounty and get the REAL LEARNERS' division going :)

Continued sponsorship from @simplymike :)

Im starting to be more and more comfortable with writing her name ;) Again added 1 STEEM from what she sent me to the pool this week as well.
text16.png

Learners' table

Hmm the circle/community of stable participants is starting to be formed. It's not a big number but I honestly didn't ecpect more anyway. Let's keep this up and hope with time we'll get some more traction. Rewards-wise as well as community-wise.

Current title holders:
Hard worker (the longest current streak): Same 4 people as last week battling for the throne (@simplymike, @trincowski, @manoldonchev and @mattifer)
Efficient learner (most STEEM earned): @delishtreats defending the title for the 3rd time

LearnerCurrent streakWeeks attendedEarned Learned together
@delishtreats230.883 STEEM
@simplymike330.593 STEEM
@trincowski330.624 STEEM
@manoldonchev330.421 STEEM
@mattifer330.412 STEEM
@brittandjosie130.485 STEEM
@booster916120.306 STEEM
@zekepickleman120.247 STEEM
@blanchy120.255 STEEM
@cloudblade110.18 STEEM
@romaldos010.169 STEEM
@zzuzza010.355 STEEM
@macchiata010.128 STEEM
@el-nailul010.101 STEEM
@gmatthe2010.057 STEEM
@mariannewest010.057 STEEM
akomoajong010.057 STEEM
nickyhavey010.188 STEEM
felt.buzz010.188 STEEM
vimukthi010.062 STEEM

I'll be untagging people (removing @ sign) after two weeks of inactivity so that they don't get unnecessary notifications.

Previous weeks can be found here:

You'll be surprised how addictive this habbit is :) The great feeling of being smarter then couple of days ago is just too good to resist :) It doesn't take even 3 minutes really! Join us and see yourself!

Can't wait to read the stuff you learned this week :) Matko.

text10.png

You can find my latest posts here:

🏆 My STEEMMONSTERS trophies/scalps 🏆

ATS_NIGHT VIEW-2.jpg
Reached #16 in leaderboard
ATS_NIGHT VIEW.jpg
One-sided win over JoeParys
ATS_NIGHT VIEW.jpg
Proud owner of legendary Hydra

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

@matkodurko has set 2.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

One thing that I have been learning during the last few days is Invision Studio. I found a great website- https://learnux.io/course/invision-studio to learn about it and have completed watching first 5 videos. The 3 main items I learned about Invision Studio in the tutorials were:

  • Using shapes and creating vector controls./elements.
  • A bit about animations.
  • Finally, how prototypes can be published directly on to the Invision platform for collaborating with other users.

Oh nice :) You can just pinpoint 3 things/tools in the studio you've learned and can qualify :) Sadly this is just one big thing and rules need 3 things. They can really be just some tiny things from the same area :) Waiting for you to come back and edit it in :) Thx for joining :)

Just did that, I hope you like it.
BTW, Merry Christmas!

Nice, thanks ! Same to you :)

Posted using Partiko Android

  1. It can take up to 6 months before a baby realizes it is not the same person as their mom.
  2. Gandhi has 10 possetions when he passed away.
  3. I learned that vinegar is an amazing cleaner. Had lots of luck with it on my bathroom.

Oh nice! Thanks for joining us :) I use apple cider vinegar for soo much stuff. It helps with muscle soreness, I drink a shot after every jiu jitsu session I have. It's also great for skin and stuff. And the first point is suuuper interesting :)

Lower tier

@dosdudes 6 months My 4 kids took years to realize but totally ignore the fact I had something to do with them as a person 👀

Yay welcomeee to the challenge, thx!! Going there to check it out :) How did you find out about this? From @trincowski post? Wow, this separate tier thing seems to work if that's the case hah :D

Upper tier

It might have been his post... I can't remember now, lol.
I'm always learning stuff for my writing, so I should have something every week.

I learned somethings from your learning g curve just now dear 😉

Thx for going with a separate post :) upper tier

Posted using Partiko Android

Great learning the tesla is a dream

https://steemit.com/contest/@brittandjosie/4-o-clocky-learn-and-earn-contest-by-matkodurko

My entry for this week, Thanks for the mention 😉 oh had to pit in some New pictures but I obeyed the rule to use your photo
See ya next week

Thxxxx. Upper tier as always :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Gotta love the challange

This week has been a long one, but a good one. Here we go:

Monday - I learned that a young calf can be purchased for about $300.
Tuesday - I learned that antelope meat is referred to as venison.
Wednesday - I learned that canned spaghetti sauce is sometimes indistinguishable from homemade.
Thursday - I learned that it's really hard to start a bonfire in the snow, but half a bottle of vodka makes it fun trying.
Friday - I learned 5 ways NOT to unstick a prematurely stuck envelope. Hopefully tomorrow I will find a way that works.
Saturday - I learned that my grandfather passed away in 2002.
Sunday - I learned (kind of) how to make a house water tight while in the building process.

Ohh that Friday is gold haha :D It happens more often to me than I'd like :D Wish I could unstick them haha :D Btw my grandfather also passed in 2002. April.

Medium tier

I had about 100 stuck envelopes... I've been working on a wedding guest book and somehow a bunch of envelopes got stuck together. Sad face.

I think mine also passed around April, although no one was able to recall with certainty.

I've always known deer as venison... Maybe that's why here in Wyoming, they just say antelope or deer or elk...

Remembering a whole week back might be a bit difficult. Time is flying and going really slow at the same time...

Here we go - I am thinking I should get at least 3 down :)

Monday: I learned that you are tagging us in your post - and I like that since I forget always when things are due.
Sunday: I learned that some kids don't know what Squeaky Clean means.
Saturday: i learned that an Aldi is in town not too far from me (today, I learned that it is not as good as the ones in Germany)
Friday: I learned that Ellen DeGeneres has a Netflix special - stand up comedy - and she is still funny.
Thursday: I went to the beach and there was so much trash on the beach. I learned that the lifeguards will give you a plastic bag when you ask them and add gloves even if you don't really want them.
Wednesday: I learned that we have way more brown widow spiders around now than black widow spiders - and brown widows are much less poisonous.
Tuesday: I learned that if I think hard enough I can remember a week's worth of stuff - only this should go to the Monday learning part :)

Oh wow you've done pretty well haha, considering you weren't sure if you remember whole week :D Aldi is in America??? :O Wow...Wednesday is diiisgustiiiing :D I absolutely hate spiders, like...suuperhate, I start shaking and stuff when I see some..even now my heartrate got higher haha :D

Medium tier

yes, Aldi is here now. It is okay but I wouldn't make a special trip to go there like I do to go to Trader Joe's - a chain which is only in the US and was founded by the brother of the Aldi founder.

And spiders are good for us - they eat mosquitos and ants and such. I just don't like the poisonous ones in the house :)

Aldi is cool. I first met Aldi in Chicago in the 90s, @matkodurko. But I knew it more in England - though I preferred Lidl - also German.

Is Lidl in the US as well? I don't think on the West Coast. I think 20 years ago, I would have been excited about the Aldi. But now, just about every store carries a lot of international stuff. And we have lots of Trader Joe's in town. That said, I grow a lot of my own food, go to farmer's markets and shop Costco for some staples...

No, I've not seen Lidl in the US - I lived in England for many years, that's where I met Lidl and Netto (though I didn't like that one too much.)

  1. More wheels on a land buggy does not mean it will be more stable (space engineers)

  2. I can finish a sharing portion of pigs in blankets with no help from anyone else.

  3. Lists are always better in threes.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hah number one is funny :D Is third point talking about programming and data structures ? Or is it just my mind which gets it in that way? :D

Lower tier

Three random things I learned... today:

  1. Early morning subway service in Sofia works at 14 minutes intervals. I almost missed my train due to that knowledge being new;

  2. The views from the train going through most of my country for one day could be quite inspiring and quality of images is not of paramount importance. It's about getting the field of it that I now think. My new blogger way of looking at things. I have changed;

  3. My mother knows a lot more about tennis than I do. She actually knows modern players pretty well.

Hah missing subway on Christmas doesn't sound like something you want to start your day with :D And I toootally know the point 2 - I had the exact same moment taking train thru slovakia and austria in September...I actually vlogged it into loong 10 minute video :)

Lower tier

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.97
ETH 3059.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29