The @ecoTrain magazine! April 13th 2018. - Topics including Homesteading, Gardening, Parenting, Herbal Remedies, Technology, Childrens stories and much more.

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

The ecoTrain magazine is a selection of this weeks posts from our wonderful ecoTrain passengers. There is something for everyone this week with topics including Homesteading, Gardening, Parenting, Herbal Remedies, Technology, Children's stories and much more.


I would also like to give a very big warm welcome to @afifa who has just joined us as an ecoTrain passenger. We are happy to have another fantastic writer on board and look forward to reading more of your perls of wisdom.

I'm also very pleased to announce that the @ecoTrain has launched its own delegation and voting bot! This bot only accepts bids from whitelisted users, so if you would like to get support for your high value posts please do ask me to get whitelisted on our discord channel! I am also providing voting bot help for new users on discord.

Get Whitelisted and Meet us On Discord
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW


@afifa

The Root of self-esteem - Sndbox Summer Camp Philosophy or Psychology or Sociology - Task Two


This article will explore the issue of self-esteem and the role of parents / educators in achieving it.

The family, together with the school, is the main agency of training and socialization of a child , one of the pins on which to leverage to promote the integral well-being (physical, psychological, relational) of our children. The family for a child is the most important "place" for his safety, serenity, autonomy, the foundation on which his personality is built. Parents are, in fact, a basic reference element that allows the child, for good and "bad", to learn to find solutions to the problems that arise; to check if an action is effective or not; to listen and express their emotions, respecting those of others.

The Strange Headphones That can Read your Thoughts 💭

Just imagine: think hard about an information you need and a device, after reading in your mind, starts looking it for you on Google. That's what AlterEgo promises to do , a curious device - developed by Arnav Kapur and Pattie Maes, researchers at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology ( MIT ) - that resembles one of those headphones that are used in chat, but that, thanks to sensors and an artificial intelligence system, creates a private and timely dialogue with its user.

Today it is becoming increasingly common to activate the voice assistants of our smartphones (and virtual butlers such as Google Home, which in recent weeks are making their landing on the market): to call their attention, just say the command provided (" Ok Google "for Android systems," Hey Siri " to interact with iPhone, iPad & c.) And make the request.

Emotional intelligence in Modern Youths - Sndbox Summer Camp Philosophy or Psychology or Sociology - Task Two

The most important aspect of emotional intelligence is that which puts into an act an attitude of awareness that manifests itself by recognizing its states of mind, using them as an instrument of knowledge towards oneself and others. To understand how this condition can be explained, it is necessary to study the context in which man and society have changed over time.

It is in this sense that we need to analyze the relational and communicative aspects that have undergone a radical change. In modern society it is no longer the man who goes to the world but vice versa because the above all iconic and multimedia communication messages travel at an exorbitant speed.

@sagescrub

Early Spring Homestead & Garden Update

Its mid April here on the "rental" homestead in Southern Oregon and its feeling a bit like the calm before the storm, knowing how much work lies in the coming months when the weather heats up.
Despite patiently waiting for the soil to warm up and dry out this month has already seen a lot of work, planting, planning and preparation for the rest of the coming season.

Propagating Root Suckers: Harvesting and Potting (and a Pruning)

Trees are a gift that keep on giving... in many ways. In this case I am going to share how I take a hint from nature and propagate one tree into several sister trees that can be planted in other locations, either nearby or far away. One tree can become many and go on to feed more people, sequester more CO2 out of the atmosphere, improve the soil and create more habitat for wildlife.

This Quince tree has been living semi-wild for some years. It hasn't been pruned or cared for much and has pretty much left to its own devices for many years. Its branches are growing every which way and it is just beginning to leaf out.

@trucklife-family

Our Amazing Bodies- Time to Remember

I know I have started another post talking about how amazing our bodies are, but come on they really are and we should be talking about them much more. We should be celebrating our bodies.

I have been writing a lot about Birth recently, and ever since I started here on Steemit it has been a regular topic in my posts. Recently my daughter turned one and I chose to celebrate it by sharing her birth story, which involved me talking about how amazing a woman's body is. How many changes it goes through in order to carry and then birth a child. For me it is nothing short of magic.

Connecting with our Ancient Wisdom to Birth our Children

Our bodies are amazing, they hold ancient wisdom and knowledge, they hold the potential to heal themselves and they know exactly what they need in order to preform at their peak.

Yet why do we not listen to our bodies, ignoring our intuitive selves when they try and reach out to us. Why do we mistrust our gut feelings,creating this habit of just shaking those feelings off. As a result we have buried that wisdom, and handed over our power to others. To professionals to tell us what is wrong with our own bodies.

There was a time when women would gather together daily, work side by side and talk about their lives, women of all ages, listening, learning and sharing. Young girls being educated about their bodies in open and honest ways. Hearing that changes would happen, knowing what to expect. Having those changes honoured and celebrated. Hearing how older generations dealt with each change and how "natural" it all is.


@mountainjewel

Herbal Remedies for Anxiety: Windflower | Princess of the Spring Ephemerals

From the leaves, she pokes her head. As silently as the wind that graces the Oak’s branches and causes the leaves to fall, Windflower makes her appearance.

She is flexible and stately. Royal and alluring. She is arrayed in white with a Queen-in-training’s charm.

She is the Windflower

Forgotten Plants | 6 Perennial Vegetables Bought With Steem Planted!

For those who have read any of our posts, you'll know we're in love with edible, medicinal and useful plants and our purposes on Earth involve growing, trading, spreading and teaching about all the blessed plants that call Earth their home.

Furthermore, some of you may remember a previous post about us making our first purchase with Steem$$. This order was all thanks to that first experience of us taking out some SBDs, just to get a taste for it. Although we appreciate the immediate return, we believe in Steem long term and are committed to continuing to power up and building the platform through curation.

@zpedro

2 myths about electric cars that refuse to die

We need to move around!

The idea of having a sustainable living is one of my goals in life. Not only regarding environment but also my job and sources of income. That's one of the reasons I love @steembasicincome and the UBI concept itself.

Because for me, I can't really say our society has moved to another era unless we see the planet as the means to provide us basic needs just because we exist. Today, people need to work their socks just to buy some carrots... And we're just as miserable society as we have even been. We may have iPhones and all, but didn't evolute at all.

This furniture polish is so safe you can even EAT it.

Edible furniture polish

You love your old furniture. It brings you memories, people or moments. We get very attached to objects like if they were real living things. As a cellist, I've grown up loving a piece of wood and caring for it like if it was a pet.

You would do anything to prevent your furniture from harm, just like you would do anything to protect your household from diseases and danger. Guess what, you would give every penny in your pocket to relieve you just a little bit from that fear... So there's where cleaning business strikes the most. And someone had this brilliant idea:


@solarsupermama

Jelsa Mommy: A new kind of heroine

In the dark, dank corner of her basement, Jelsa was laying on as many of her children as she could possibly spread herself over. She was counting the minutes between bombs out loud. At least the kids were learning to count to sixty. Of course that’s if they could hear over the screaming baby. She had to wake him to bring him down here, so his screams were a charming mix of terror and exhaustion. Did they intentionally time the bombs to wake babies and small children? Was this the most insidious part of their strategy of evil? To send mothers to the edge of their sanity? Surely no one wants that. She was trying to cover his ears, comfort him, and count all at the same time.

@sharoonyasir

Why You Need to Live for Yourself too and Not Just for Your Kids

As parents, we often feel obligated to do everything for our kids and give them the best of everything. While this is great and I definitely relate to this feeling as my world does revolve around my son, I have now realized the importance of living for yourself as well and taking it easy on yourself when it comes to parenting.

Yes, we need to look after our babies and work hard to cover their basic needs and to provide them with a good lifestyle, but that should not be our only goal. We need to live for ourselves too and when I say that, I really mean it. What I have seen in most parents here is that they word arduously, day in and day out for their kids and family and think about only themselves.

@stortbeker

SHEP – As Good As Wooffing, Or Maybe Even Better?

My name is David, and I’ve been a traveler for most of my life. At some points I’ve stayed at places longer than at others, even long enough to set up a sort-of homestead. But ultimately, I’ve been constantly on the move, if not physically, in thought and spirit for sure. Traveling opens up the mind, you constantly learn new things, and it exposes you to many wonderful opportunities to exchange goods, services, and information with others.

Ride With Me – Bike Tour on the Cowchian Valley Trail

Monday is the perfect day to be off from work, so I went on a bike ride with my friend Ryan and his wife Cordelia. Our destination was the scenic Cowchian River Valley, about 50 km outside of Victoria. We took the car to the Kinsol Tressle parking lot by Shawnigan Lake, and rode our bikes from there on the old railbed trail. This had been a line of the Canadian National Railway servicing the booming lumber and mining industry at the beginning of the last century, but towards the 1970’s it was closed down. A few decades later it was reopened as a trail for hiking, bicycling and horseback riding.

Murals in Canada – Victoria and the Galloping Goose

When I left Mexico, I thought I’d leave the many murals filled with colors and stories behind. Coming to Victoria, BC I am discovering that it isn’t so by any means. There are lots and lots of amazing wall paintings all over the place! So today, I would like introduce my new series Murals in Canada with one that symbolizes both the city of Victoria, and the Galloping Goose Regional Bike Trail, which is to me is so important as it is located next to the bike shop I spend most of my days at.

 

@hopehuggs

The Pig Who Thought She was a Puppy - A Story about Being Yourself

On a farm there once lived a family who had pigs, chickens, horses, and two dogs.

But the funny thing about one of the dogs was she wasn’t a dog at all. She was a baby pig. Instead of rolling around in the mud and eating from a trough like the other pigs, she would eat from a dog bowl and track mud in the house. She wanted to be Sadie's friend, so she pretended to be a dog.

The family dog, Sadie, didn’t mind having Teacup the pig as her sister because she thought she was a dog as well; Teacup really fooled Sadie. She would do what Sadie did: wag and chase her tail, drink from a water bowl, chase after a ball, and eat dog treats for tricks. They were like two peas in a pod and loved each other dearly.

@kiaraantonoviche

Product Spotlight Series #21 - Organic Hemp Oil Shampoo Bar

Not only am I dedicated to finding healthier and plastic-free alternatives to our everyday hygiene products, but I’m also invested in finding the cheapest products out there! So while I already showcased Oil&Ash Soapand a Coconut Milk Shampoo Bar, I just found a much cheaper option - an Organic Hemp Oil Shampoo Bar from SummerLandScrubs in Buffalo, WI!

I’m starting to really like hemp - it’s a magical plant with so many uses! Soap is just one of many useful products that can benefit from it!

These 2.5 oz bars are made from great natural ingredients including:

@eco-alex

A delegation and voting bot to fund eco-building workshops and sustainable communities based on blockchain

It is my great pleasure to introduce you to the @ecoTrain delegation and voting bot that is now up and running! It has several far reaching benefits and I hope you will read this and be inspired to use it for both delegation as well as for voting. What makes this bot very special is that it will lead to fantastic real life eco-build workshops and even communities around the world. I am very excited to start this initiative and invite you to earn 65% rewards on your delegation, whilst also supporting real world eco-building and community initiatives.

Two Hands Climb The Legs to Strengthen the Kidneys: 8 Brocades Part 6

This practice is very good for the Jing or essence. Healthy kidneys help regulate our energy that we use daily, as well as through a lifetime. It relates to the element of water, which when in balance can give one more tenacity, inner strength, a sense of belonging, and an understanding of our origins. It relates to stillness, silence and ease. When in balance, we get that sense of greater quietness and stillness even if we're active and busy. For example if you are running a marathon or in a boxing match, you still possess an inner silence, a quietness and ease, within the strength and perseverance you need to continue.

 

@celestialcow

5 health foods that we think are good for us but can be harmful

Ok I don't want to scare anyone but i'm always checking and double checking what I consume, I know that the health food industry is just a profitable business too and therefore many things are being sold with the pretense of being healthy but are not.

Some people really like these things and that's fine mostly I think our bodies can process some of the negative stuff (especially healthy people) but basically I wouldn't recommend to consume any of these things regularly.....

Here's why....

Spirulina

I'm really concerned about this one!

DONT GIVE IT TO CHILDREN, NOT FOR PREGNANT WOMEN

When I started getting into herbal remedies, I came across spirulina pills from then on I started buying powders and making green smoothies and suddenly I went off it. I didn't think anything of it, until one day when I was doing some research on b12 I was quite shocked by what I came across but then i'm not surprised as...

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain

DRIVER
@eco-alex

CONDUCTOR
@hopehuggs

VIP'S WHO HAVE DELEGATED STEEM POWER
@omdemian
@kalima

PASSENGERS
@afifa
@celestialcow
@clara-andriessen
@ecoinstant
@hopehuggs
@kiaraantonoviche
@misslasvegas
@mountainjewel
@sagescrub
@sashagenji
@schoonercreek
@sharoon-yasir
@solarsupermama
@stillgideon
@stillwatersar
@stortebeker
@trucklife-family
@zpedro

If you are new to Steemit, love to write, and would like to join the ecoTrain community as an official passenger please email me on [email protected]

** Click Here For More Information on the ecoTrain **

 

 

Sort:  

I like watching eco-trains go by.

Wonderful! I love #ecotrain! Missed some of these articles this week! Thanks for your compilation this week. Will ecotrain passengers be automatically whitelisted? If not, please add me 😉 really glad to see this ecotrain bot is only for whitelisted users.

There’s so much bot abuse going on. It’s refreshing to see one that is a step in the right direction. Thanks eco-Alex!!

yes I will whitelist all passengers automatically.. consider yourself addded!

I am so happy to see your post and also excited to know that you live in India. I am from Bangladesh and I am working on a co-operative project to build a eco-village which will be a cultural hub and its situated in an ancient city called PundraNagar. I will go through your work to see how you have done your dream projects. I want to build an earthship also but dont know how to do it. Maybe You can give me some advice on how I can proceed with the earthship. Thanks so much for this post..and looking forward to have a chat with u. take care brother..

very nice initiative.. I would recommend you buy the three books Earthship Vols 1 - III By Michael Reynolds. Vol 1 is available on amazon here
https://www.amazon.in/Earthship-How-Build-Your-Own/dp/0962676705/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1523627403&sr=8-4-fkmr0&keywords=earthship+vol+1

Also please do check out my blogs as there are SO many stories about my builds. i have tied them all up in one post here:

https://steemit.com/earthship/@eco-alex/a-compilation-of-all-my-eco-building-and-workshop-posts-on-steemit

Very best of luck!

Yeay, the Ecotrain magazine is looking sweeter each time! So exciting to see. :-) I'm especially happy to be featured in it. Thank you so much for it. However, I don't expect to be in it automatically, just because I'm a passenger. I mean, yes, many of the posts I write are by nature eco-train material, though some might be not.

This week for example I was gonna write about bike-polo, except for it got canceled. So we didn't go, I didn't have the material to write about it, but next week I intend on posting an article about this relatively new sport. I think it may be interesting, but I'm not sure how far it actually gets from ecotrain's thematic line.

Please use your own discretion, and decide if a post is appropriate for the magazine or not. I don't get offended if it's deemed not, and am so much happier if one is picked.

Thank you so much, an I look forward to future issues of this amazing magazine.

thanks Stortebeker.. yes dont worry please feel free to tag ecoTrain and IF in the unlikely event your post isnt a good fit i wont highlight it -)

Thank you @eco-alex this is amazing and I'm so happy that I ran into someone that cares about helping and making this world better. I truly love to help people as well and it's always a pleasure to run into people that have a heart to help! Thank you for what you do and I am supporting you! :)

So many amazing posts to read, now to find the time to read them all. Thank you @eco-alex for continuing to bring all of these inspiring people and their work together. Sorry to not have contributed this week, but well done to everyone who did x

Wonderful curation @eco-alex I'm a steemit newbie and living-working here in Northern Thailand for 16 years making herbal and natural products. I just stumbled across #ecotrain in my morning steemtime and there are so many cool people here to connect with. Following you, resteeming this post and look forward to engaging with a lot more of the people and content. Kudos for being a clear, Homesteading, Gardening, Parenting, Herbal Remedies, Technology, Childrens stories and much more.

The post is so grate. Writing is so good
Thanks for sharing

Luar biasa post anda .terimakasih saya telah membaca ny.

Very nice post, thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40