Recyclistas – A Bike-Shop with a Holistic Approach

in #bicycles6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Recyclistas – A Bike-Shop with a Holistic Approach


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Postingan yang sangat indah,dan komentar yang cukup bagus

Excuse me? Could you try in English please? If not, I also speak German, Spanish, and Hungarian.

Lern ma Indonesisch Digger!
Er sacht so wat wie, der Post ist sehr schön, und der Kommentar ist gut genug. 😘

Selesai! Terima kasih atas komentarnya @s1d1n01, dan atas sarannya @likedeeler. :-)

Glanz und Elend der Übersetzung!
Ich würde untuk statt atas nehmen, aber das wird schon. 😉

This kind of bike shops are so cool! My cousins had something similar in a squat in hackney, London... they were the cheapest (sometimes free) option in the neighborhood, and people were always coming in for a tune up or something quick. They knew so much about taking bikes apart, and back together (Frankenstein style sometimes). A good traveler spot for everyone! Just don't mess with them, treat with respect and all is good!

It amzing how much people don't realize that the hight of the seat matters so much!

Hey I really like the name recyclistas by the way, it's so inventive, and nice post @stortebeker

Thank you, @senorcoconut! I know, I've come across so many of these kinda anarchistic bike-shops. Lots of times they tend to struggle with so many of the stupidest problems of space, resources, and even people. That's why I'm especially glad to see how well things are going at Recyclistas. So I'm especially happy to volunteer here for an extended time. I like the name too, though it has a lot of syllables.
Frankenstein bikes are way underrated, by the way!

Lol, true they are underrated! Yea, space a big issue especially in the cities. I remember Barcelona going from cheap to astronomocal prices in shoty neighborhoods. I've seen it too in Hackney, where my cousins had their shop. And NYC is just ridiculous. There is is a spot in Brooklyn like Recyclistas (yea I guess it is a lot od syllables!) Happy to see them still kicking strong in a neighborhood that is now more expensive than Manhattan.

Volunteering is also a good way to learn new skills! They must be happy to have you

Oh man, property prices are crazy up here too! Victoria is one of the most expensive locations in Canada, along with Toronto and Vancouver.
And yes, I can't believe the appreciation I get. "Thanks for helping" goes really both ways, as I keep asking the mechanics question after question. From "Where does this go?" to "What's the best practice regarding xyz?" or even "What's the reason for making xyz in this way?" But they are really awesome and helpful, always ready to help and explain everything in great detail. So yeah, it's a big win-win!

What's an xyz... ? Just kidding, but yea it's always good in a win win situation. It's good to hear your help is appreciated.

I love this. My bike hasn't been functional in years. I've tried working on it, a friend who knew what he was doing worked on it, shops have worked on it, and yet, after every fix something goes wrong again within the week. I gave up!

No way! I'm so sorry... Even professional bike mechanics have given up on it? How horrible. Maybe you should come to Recyclistas. Are you very far from Vancouver Island?

I am nowhere near - Denver, CO. LOL
Bike mechanics are always like, (eye roll) it's a simple fix, geez, you need (a new innertube, a spoke was bent, a derailer tuneup, whatever) - and with much condescension are like: there, you incompetent person.
Then a week later, I'm riding home and literally my back wheel stops turning. I had to carry the bike home!! That was when I gave up. Prior to that, the tires kept going flat even with new inntertubes and no punctures.

Oh.... I feel so bad for you! I know, I want to be good at understanding bikes, but I know not everyone can. That is also what pisses me off about so many people in "alternative" culture: their damn snootyness. I think this is a topic that would deserve a post on its own.

LOL! Oh my Gods, yes. The snooty tude, man. I'm like, I just want to bike to the grocery store, dude.

Hey, I am GRIMM from #CHRONIKnCOFFEE. Please get ahold of me in the discord through the link. Thank you and RESPECT https://discord.gg/kG3YW

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stortebeker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64540.89
ETH 3166.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58