Early Spring Homestead & Garden Update

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Its mid April here on the "rental" homestead in Southern Oregon and its feeling a bit like the calm before the storm, knowing how much work lies in the coming months when the weather heats up.

Despite patiently waiting for the soil to warm up and dry out this month has already seen a lot of work, planting, planning and preparation for the rest of the coming season.

IMG_20180412_133006.jpg

Although now does feel like I am in the storm literally as I am taking some extra downtime to write this post during a brisk windswept, rainy stormy day. Last night it snowed again and there was still some on the ground but it melted quite quickly.

You can see the mountains just higher than the homestead here is speckle with snow.

snow.jpg

Being new to town the locals tell me that it's not common to get snow quite this late here but on the other hand it can snow into May. End of May into June will be a really busy time for the garden as beds are prepped and a massive amount of planting is planned.

Unfortunately waiting for the soil to dry out is proving very difficult.

I would love to be prepping new garden beds right now but the soil in much of the garden is quite soggy being that the soil is heavy clay.

IMG_20180412_132210.jpg

Even still I am so grateful for the garden space and good soil and it is just a matter of time before those new beds will be prepped. In the meantime there are plenty of beds that were used in recent years and did not need much work for planting. With just some minor weeding several beds were ready to seed.

We've seen a lot of growth from our garlic planting last month which went into the ground right after moving in.

It was up in less than a week and growing vigorously since then.

IMG_20180314_103442.jpg

Not bad for a March planting!

I've been adding a few layers of clipped grass as mulch to the garlic as the previous layer dries out.

garlic.jpg

Nearby Favas are starting to come up.

Once they emerge boy do they start getting big fast! We planted 6 varieties of favas. Four in march and another two varieties acquired from a local seed vendor last week.

IMG_20180412_131300.jpg

Planting fava seeds (and many other plants) can often be as simple as scratching some crude lines in the ground with a shovel, stick, finger whatever you can find.

IMG_20180308_163624.jpg

We just dropped them in! It's so easy and quick.

IMG_20180308_163916.jpg

In this case all we did was pull out some of the bigger weeds from a previously used garden bed.

The soil is so wet and especially being a clay soil we don't want to work it right now.

IMG_20180308_164419.jpg

The first round of peas are up and getting ready to climb!

I am imagining some pea shoots in my meals soon :)

IMG_20180412_131413.jpg

Here are the peas are being planted.

Easy as sticking them in the ground with an eager finger :)

IMG_20180309_123510.jpg

One minor bummer was that some of the seeds I saved had been infested with pea weavels that bored into the dried peas.

(I saved two kinds indiscriminately in the same bag in case you were wondering) Luckily they didn't eat them all and we also had more sources of peas in other envelopes that weren't affected.. plenty to be planted. Hopefully they aren't lurking around this garden.

IMG_20180309_113532.jpg

Onion sets are springing into action.

onions.jpg

Interesting thing about these onion sets is that they were a year and a half old grown in 2016 for 2017 planting.

I received them from a seed swap and kept them in a cool place. Most of them were all but dried out but what the heck.. in the ground!

IMG_20180308_170101.jpg

We used a method we have preferred in the past. Lay out the onion sets on the ground with spacing we are happy with and then dig them all into place.

IMG_20180308_170035.jpg

They came up and looked a little languished for a week or so but it seems once the roots got going they are looking quite healthy.

There are more little tiny sprouts that were direct seeded like kale, bok choy, onions, cabbage coming up and slowly starting to grow.

kale.jpg

There is quite a bit of growth in the greenhouse beginning to fill in the wooden flats that we started seeding last month.

IMG_20180412_131652.jpg

To be honest we have been making seeding new flats nearly every week for about a month now.

17 of our 19 wooden flats are now planted. Soon we'll be dipping into plastic trays and pots as needed... there won't be time to build more wooden trays this season!

IMG_20180412_131702.jpg

Some of the denser plantings are already in need of thinning and/or up potting.

IMG_20180408_141055.jpg

Here is @idyllwild pricking out poppies and up potting them into new flats with more space to grow out.

IMG_20180408_141100.jpg

Here they are pricked out and trayed up where they will live until ready to go out in the garden :)

IMG_20180412_131716.jpg

It's been really interesting to see that so many seeds have germinated above and beyond my expectations - despite many of the seeds were quite old.

Most of the older seeds fall into the 2013-2015 range, some are older and even less effort or expectation was put into them.

IMG_20180412_131525.jpg

I am thrilled that while the germination rate is lower than new seeds there are a fair amount of peppers coming up which were mostly saved between 2012-14.

This saved me from having to buy many new peppers this year (though I did end up later getting a few more anyway - hard to resist). This flat has been sitting on a heat mat for almost a month but I did just move it off to make way for a new flat of (very) late tomatoes and into a warmer zone in the greenhouse.

There are similar results in germination with the tomato seeds. All but two of these rows are older seeds.

IMG_20180412_131841.jpg

The Flat with leeks, bok choy and onions will be the first to be planted out in the garden and that time is not too far off now.

Unfortunately we have had some damping off which has mostly affected the leeks, onions and poppies with smaller finer stems.

We are cutting back on our watering and using some EM spray to reduce the fungus, which seems to be working nicely.

IMG_20180412_131613.jpg

The yarrow, chamomile and hopi tobacco came up so well they could have been direct seeded outside.

But given the soil conditions I am still glad that we seeded in flats so that they can be growing up while we are waiting for the soil to dry out.

IMG_20180412_131545.jpg

Yarrow is a common native around here, but still it will be nice to have some in the garden that we can pamper, dry and save seeds from.

This is one I am really excited to be growing for the first time. Cumin! My favorite spice. It came up quickly.

IMG_20180412_131753.jpg

Pruning the fruit trees has been a project.

There are about a dozen or so fruit trees as well as some oaks and various shrubs that were in bad need of pruning.

IMG_20180412_132354.jpg

We got to them just in time as they were just starting to leaf and bud out. This was one of the first to be pruned and now it is in full flower mode.

IMG_20180412_132421.jpg

This method of caging trees is a convenient way to keep deer from browsing the trees while not having to commit to fencing an entire area off.

IMG_20180411_112717.jpg

I recently burned several blackberry (and rose) patches that need to get cleared out.

IMG_20180411_112637.jpg

They were a dried up mass of old canes and pretty much looked like this before hand.

IMG_20180412_134538.jpg

Lots of dead brush makes it hard to get in there and is also fuel especially in the drier months. Now it's going to be easier to trim and pull out the blackberry canes. Its incredible how fast the grass is growing back and thriving after the burn.

I went back to the burnt patches a few days later before some rain and threw out some flower and herb seeds, which I had a lot of extra. Maybe some will fill in the space!

I felt comfortable with the burn because I had plenty of water available at my finger tips to put it out and stop it from spreading and there was nothing flammable next to the pile.

Please be responsible if you are going to use fire as a tool. This stuff goes up FAST and STRONG and if there is more fuel nearby (brush, trees, fence posts, structures) it can get out of hand fast, even in the colder wetter season (which should be the only time you're burning). Ask me how I know.

burn.jpg

I also recently learned that you can use a choker cable and a truck to pull out a whole blackberry patch like this, roots and all.

I've also been busy piling slash piles from various clearings thinnings and prunings.

IMG_20180411_112946.jpg

IMG_20180411_113140.jpg

The temporary impromptu tree nursery space is starting to get cramped.

I am holding seeds in pots here.

IMG_20180412_132138.jpg

And here are our cuttings and grafts.

IMG_20180412_132145.jpg

The number of pots is quickly outgrowing the space we are using and soon it will expand even more rapidly.

Soon I will be setting up a dedicated space for a tree nursery.

I have a few spots in mind that should work. I'll keep you posted as that happens.

Building compost piles is an ongoing process!

compost.jpg

Food processing for the season has already started with drying excess mushrooms from some of the recent mushroom harvests!

I am excited because this is the first time I've harvested enough mushrooms to dry some for using in the kitchen when fresh mushrooms are not available. Here are some dried Yellowfoot mushooms.

IMG_20180328_112315.jpg

Thanks for joining me for this homestead update. There is a lot in the works and I am excited to share progress with you as the season progresses :)

mint.jpg

mustard.jpg



Who is @sagescrub?

I am a ex-suburbanite turned permaculture homesteader. Follow my journey and I will share what I know and am learning along the way. You can learn more about me in my re-introducing @sagescrub post. Wishing you abundance in your life!

Know that I am likely NOT an expert on the subjects I present. Please do your own research and be your own expert!


Proudly Contributing To:

homesteaders-online.png
#homesteadersonline | Website | Discord Community

ecotrain.png
#ecotrain | What is ecoTran? | Discord Community

Sort:  

So much going on here sagescrub! You two have been busy!! Looks great. Such a fun time seeing what comes up (glad to hear many of your old seeds came up!). Good to get a peek into your unique situation and geography! Can’t believe you’re so close to the snowy mountains! Beautiful and with its own challenges, I’m sure 😉

Yeah it is fun to have our own garden first the first time in a few years! The weather here sure is different than where I was gardening last in NE WA. It is probably 7a here I was in 6a and 6b last, so its more forgiving for sure even with the spring wind and rain coming off the cold mountains :) It is really beautiful... and I feel so lucky I can hike into the mountains by foot just a few minutes away from the front door.

While I don't suffer from late snows here is the Florida Panhandle, I feel your pain on the wet ground. I basically live on a slight ridge in a swamp and the least bit of rain inundates the ground. My blueberry bushes love it, but peaches and plums hate it. Keep up the good work and I look forward to more updates.

Wow I have never grown food in a swamp. I wonder what possibilities it opens up for you to grow water loving plants and food. Thanks for the nice compliments :)

How do you deal with clay soil? I was curious what you meant about not working it, and instead just planting fava beans into it as is. Isn't fava bean often planted to help improve the soil?

I'm growing the fava beans for food, seed and compost fodder right now. When I have enough seed I'll grow it as cover crops like you suggested!

To answer your question I'm just not working it while its wet because that will harden it up more when it dries. This soil has a lot of organic matter in it... so I am lucky in that regard. My favorite thing for clay soil is heavy mulch... then it keeps the surface moist and from drying out and hardening and constant cycle of nutrients as decomposers come up to the surface to feed on new organic matter and bring it back down. Working organic matter/cover crops as you suggested in the soil is also good.. chop and drop and no till is also good.

Thanks, that really helps me to better understand how clay soil can work for my benefit.

You're welcome! Check this out. There was this street that was never developed on a slope where construction equipment was driven and parked. It was very compacted clay soil. Toward the bottom of the slope many loads of wood chips were dumped and sat for probably a few years. Because of the slope those woodchips collected water and at the end of the driest portion of the year i found the biggest mallow leaves I have ever seen growing there. And then dug into the woodchips and the soil looks so rich and fluffy.. nothing like clay!! All from mulching!!

IMG_20151113_170303.jpg

IMG_20151113_170612.jpg

SOOO much to do already! And they're only just babies... Deer, wow! But fortunately no mice.... I'm sure there have to be, but they didn't discover your fava beans (I always forget how early you must sow broadbeans! Their squeaky, bright foliage always gives such a spring sense of abundant joy.) Surprised to see cumin working in those cooler climes! I struggle already with corriander. But then again, in a freak experiment, fenegreek worked once! You also remind me how important it is too prick out seedlings when really tiny (two proper leaves) to strengthen their roots and prevent weediness. That burning of the brambles was an inspired choice perhaps, despite the alternatives. An energetic cleanse all round?

I have heard you mention the lovely idyllwild before but I hadn't fully registered you are in a (working?) partnership on a regular (day-to-day?) basis. I am trying to piece together the story behind your newly acquired piece of land and project: is their a previous post revealing more you could point me to?

Thanks for the comment :)

We have a very nice cat here that keeps rodent population down. I haven't seen much gopher or mice activity yet... fingers crossed! I have never tried fenugreek. interesting! Would like to try it one day... i am trying new spices especially in the order I consume them :) The fire was definitely an energetic cleanse! and helped give more appeal to the task at hand :) I was inspired by a friend that did a similar burn but for slightly different reasons, to help cycle the carbon that was above soil faster and open up the space, reduce fuel... he wasn't so concerned to eradicate the blackberries in the place he was burning them. Thanks for asking about idyllwild :) Yes we are partners in the romantic/soul sense. I am planning on sharing more of the story of the homestead we are now caretaking.. thanks for inspiring me to get around to that :) I'll plan to write more about it in the near future!

Dang dude! You got a lot going on.
Regarding your soggy ground: have you considered to old school rotting log planting pile.
This thingyECAE81CA-307D-451B-A951-981D93182EFF.png
Source
It would keep the roots up out of the water, have internal heat, and give of compost nutrients. 😊

LOL thanks! Yeah it is a lot... loving all of it :) Great Idea on the hugelkulture! I would definitely wait for the soil to dry out before doing any major ammendments that require digging or turning the clay... including hugelkultur. In this climate I am not sure how well it would make sense... I'll have to experience a full season and see since I am new to this region :) The summers here are quite hot and dry.

it is always nice to see from you @sagescrub. I planting more vegetable this time, our long bean (kind of bean) just ready to climb to the pool that I provided this afternoon, the corn and water melon just came out from the ground, tomatoes and chili as well. I thing I need to write the process of my gardening as well.

Regards

How exciting! I have never grown long beans, but the photos always look fun and exciting. I will have to try one day. Please do write about the process of your gardening if you are inspired to.. I would love to see it :)

Wow! Spring has sprung! Glad everything is coming up so well for you!

I'm late getting started here. Our plum tree we inherited already has small fruits. My parents have warned us not to plant because the last frost is usually in late April, but I'm not sure I'll be able to wait much longer with the weather being so gorgeous.

How exciting about your plum tree!! Our last frost can be up to end of may. But I still plant some things in the ground that are frost tolerant while waiting for the others... things like spinach, kale, bok choy, carrots, cilantro are pretty frost tolerant.

We planted carrots and okra. They were the only seeds we had that didn't say to plant after the last frost.

Yum!! You'll be planting the rest before you know it ;)

oh my god, only if I have green fingers like you. It's always great to have home grown vegetables, especially after all the hard work. Good luck!

Yeah.. it tastes better after the hard work for sure! Thank you :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 16 SBD worth and should receive 119 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

@sagescrub Your very engaging and well written post with all your own photography deserves both my 100% Upvote and a tip!

What a joy it must be to see the fruits of your labor! So far, all I have planted this year are onions, but I am not on a homestead like you are. I just try to grow as much as I can in my own home garden.

Thank you @dmcamera! So kind of you. That is an honorable goal to grow as much as you can. I wish you abundance and joy in your garden this year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94