Visiting Black Water!

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

I'm talking here about the nice Black Water, the one located in Portland, the punk rock bar where @karensuestudios, @muffintuesday and I headed right after we got out of Jukebox the Ghost's awesome show, which Karen talked about here.

I wanted to test Portland's limit and see if we could find a vegan restaurant at midnight. According to Yelp, a little bar called Black Water was very close to us and still serving delicious vegan food.

After a couple minutes of walk, we hesitantly entered the place. It seemed like there had been a show there too. I think I might have been the most reluctant to eat there and so after 1 minute of discussion we simply decided to go back out and look for another place.

My thinking was that they would probably serve us something like a bag of chips and called it vegan food which would have technically been correct. I mean they were a bar, what else should I have been expecting at this time of day?

As soon as we got outside, someone asked us what we were looking for, to which we answered we were looking to eat. He instantaneously answered they were serving excellent and strictly vegan food. What that guy said cheered me up a lot.

It turns out the food was pretty awesome. It was much more awesome than what I was expecting. I mean, I wasn't expecting much simply because I haven't seen many bars with really awesome food.

Today

I've gone through my daily routine. I've run 11km. I must have run very close to 70km in the past 7 days. I want to ramp up my running volume. I'll try to run around 20km a day in around 1-2 weeks.

I often hear people saying they want to take care of their health so they take on running or going to the gym. The human body is the most complex machine there is. Provided with the right building blocks, it will build and maintain itself for years and go on to accomplish incredible feats no human machine can match.

Failure to provide the right building blocks will lead to diseases no matter how much running or weightlifting someone does. No physical activity can make up for faulty nutrition and healthy environment. Health starts with what we breathe, drink and eat, not how many kilometers we run or how much we lift.

The price of healthy food is always cheaper then the price of ill health. It's good to keep in mind, it's much easier to break than to build things.

The more dysfunctional the body, the harder it becomes for it to follow the genetic code it has been following and evolving from since life first appeared.

Health is everything. Joy or happiness is only a subset of health. But as everything, health and life itself will come to pass and what will matter... what will matter is...

100% Upvote On The Best Comment

I'll give a 100% upvote on the best comment done under "Toward A More Merciful World!" aka "What Truly Matters!". I might give more than just one 100% upvote. People have 3 more days to comment.

I already had a lot of awesome comments, gave many rewards to many people and already gave a 100% upvote.

Some Of My Previous Post

  1. What Truly Matters!
  2. How National Currencies Are Created And Who They Profit
  3. Cryptocurrencies: The Best Investments Of All Time
  4. Understanding Bitcoin [if you know better let me know]
  5. Understanding Bitcoin Cash
  6. How To Buy And Secure Your First Bitcoin
  7. Empower Everyone, Decentralize Everything!
  8. Doing Away With Governments: How And Why
  9. The Only Meaningful Measure Of Success Is Joy
  10. Cryptocurrencies Stats And How To Invest
  11. Steem: Where Money Talks And Kindness Rules!
  12. Technological Abundance
  13. In The Name Of Freedom
  14. What I Do And Stand For As A Witness

My Most Interesting Post

Thank You Dan Larimer! You Are A Great Mentor!

Understanding Steem

Good To Know

  • I use Markdown Pad (free version) to create my posts.
  • How to align pictures.

The Chats!

50% of the profit of this post will go to @karensuestudios!


My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Go punk or go home

punk or go home.jpg

Ahahah this is awsome! ❤️❤️

I won't lie, part of me feared for my DLive account

Ahaha it’s so cute! ❤️

Awesome edit! It looks so real!

11 KM Running ... increasing to 20 KM ... how you are making this happen?
Vegan restaurant means you dont eat food and still you have this much stamina? Would love to see some tips from you if you can help me on the running part.

I wouldn't recommend it unless you follow all my health tips.

  • Have mercury amalgam removed by SMART protocol from IOAMT. (#1, #2, #3)
  • Avoid drinking fluoride water as much as possible. (#1, #2)
  • Don't use fluoridated toothpaste
  • Avoid drinking unfiltered tap water
  • Don't use any soap with perfume/fragrance (#1)
  • Don't use anything with perfume/fragrance
  • Avoid nickel braces (#1)
  • Avoid nickel crown (#1)
  • Ground yourself when sleeping
  • Ground yourself when at your computer or TV if possible
  • Avoid eating animal and their by product (#1)

Then begin to run slowly... very slowly...

Amazing ... you are so to the point and should be if we see the amazing results i.e. 70 KM/7days

  1. Flouride
  2. Perfume
  3. Nickel
  4. Ground Sleeping

This is good and achievable but avoid eating animal and their by product, how one who is addicted can acheive this. If you can spare some time to share your result-oriented tip.

I'm waiting for you two to tour the vegan strip club in Portland. LOL You have hit most every other vegan establishment in Portland. Keep up the subtle activism!!!!

The vegan strip club exists?

Asking for a friend ;)

Only in Portland, and it's only the food that is vegan.

I now think we should have.

11 Km running is something man especially with a busy routine. How much time does it take? But, of course when you focus on whats important nothing else matters as you yourself said:

The price of healthy food is always cheaper then the price of ill health.

I was a good swimmer till i got drowned into work :) I l follow your inspiration and starting right now

The human body is much more powerful than most people realize.

Well, pretty sure you are demonstrating an example to follow :) Blessings for you

I think you misjudged that bar just for appearance and gave you a big surprise, apparently that city has great vegan sites, excellent for those looking to maintain a good diet, you're right in saying we are what we eat, but I also say that it requires a lot of attitude to have a healthy diet, today I fight with my weight, but your words are encouraging, thank you

You might want to try to push back your first meal of the day as much as possible. Having 2 meals a day can help. Avoiding eating fatty food, i.e. meat, nuts, milk, cheese, fried food and all the fatty sauces also can help.

I wrote everything down, thank you for all the advice.

You must've misjudged that bar from it's appearance and it turned out to beat your imagination, and this experience reminds me of how one can't judge a book by it's cover until you read it and maybe eventually get blown from it's content. It's really a good one for you, running 11km everyday. I actually used to jug everyday until i became a sleepy head lol, but am encouraged from your post to start up first thing tomorrow morning and sustain it because am well aware of the health benefits that come with having proper exercise regularly as the saying goes, 'health is wealth'. Thank you for sharing @teamsteem.

Hi sir @teamsteem. It seems your trip in Portland is very interesting. You can find a restaurant that serves vegan food that may be the way you want it. I see from some of your posts that life in Portland may be fun and exciting.

And I really agree with your motivation to maintain health. I think running in the streets or in nature and free air is very fun because we can enjoy the natural scenery.

I strongly agree with your commitment to maintain health.

And I totally agree with the saying that people say preventing illness is better than cure.

Maybe that's what we have to keep in our lives for our better health.

Thank you very much sir for your sharing in this post

Hope you can always enjoy your trip and i wish successful is always with you.

Yours sincerely @rijalaronaceh .

Shows you shouldn't judge a book by its cover, a lot of great opportunities are lost that way. Just think of how you would have missed delicious food(it looks yummy). There is no greater task in life than taking care of our bodies. What is there to enjoy without good health? I go jogging with friends at least three times a week since going to gyms are quite expensive here. I love cooking delicious healthy food too. I am glad i found you though.

Lolzz by a glimpse to your id name i thought you are cheetah bot :p

Hahaha...I get that a lot.

Hehe. Luckily they didn't only list chips as the vegan menu. :D

What food are those? I assume the lower is some fried Chinese style vegan dimsum? What about the red one?

Perogee and buffalo wings.

No physical activity can make up for faulty nutrition and healthy environment. Health starts with what we breathe, drink and eat, not how many kilometers we run or how much we lift.

Good one.
Health is wealth, "healthy fuel brings more health to the engine"; healthy food brings good health to the body.
But I must confess, what a strong person your are! Being a veg and running above 10km! You are sure strong.
I think I will try being veg too.
Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48