The Deadpost Initiative - Week 9 - Share your most undervalued work + week 8 winners ($10 SBD prize pool)

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

What is the Deadpost Intitiative?

The Deadpost Initiative is an attempt to give love to some posts that were overlookeed during their short 7 day life span, a chance to bring your old posts back to life and maybe make some friends in the process. The goal is not only to share some love with SBD but also by engagement to generate discussion.

Last week

Sorry for the delay. I don't really have an excuse except that I've been distracted. I'm glad to see participation in this initiative still growing though, and there is seemingly no shortage of quality material. So let's get into it...

@celestal - $3 SBD prize

@celestal provided us with a great travel blog from a trip to the Finland Lapland. On top of that, in the comments, we also got a full history lesson which I think deserves it's own post, so congratulations to @celestal for the best and longest comment in deadpost history!

The most remarkable journey of mine: A hike in the wilderness of Lapland

@por500bolos - $3 SBD prize

@por500bolos once again shares another great deadpost, this one...well I don't want to say so much without giving it away, since it kind of has a surprise ending. Like his other posts it makes you laugh and think. I really enjoy his writing style, it's full of energy and personality.

"The Binary State" a short tale to snatch you off some laughter & continual steemit reflections

@rayne122 - $2 STEEM prize

@rayne122 shares with us a personal story of experiences with otherworldly beings. I wonder if there are any follow up stories to this one....

One of My experience about Demons- Trust me, I have experianced them

@csbegu - $2 STEEM prize

Here is a nice, quirky poem by @csbegu . It seems like there is some veiled political commentary in here but I may just be reading too far into it.

Dreamer's Alphabet

Week 6

pexels-photo-116909 (1).jpg

Share your best Deadpost in the comments!

The best posts will be rewarded with half of the payout from this post (or a minimum of $10 SBD, split between winners) and will be featured in a future post.

Rules

•Please only submit 1 post.
•Posts must have a payout of less than $5.
•Posts must be at least one month old.
•I recommend you don't enter the same post twice in the same month if you didn't win the first time.
•Vote for 1-3 post by others. Please share WHY you liked their posts. If you don't vote for someone else's post by commenting you will not be eligible to win.
•Winners will be chosen based on how original, creative, informative and well written their posts are, as well as how well received they are in the comments. I will use the quality of comments as the main factor in judging who wins.
•There will be a slight bias towards smaller accounts but large accounts are welcome to join and compete or join just for fun and to share their old work.
•There may also be prizes for stellar comments and engagement.
•There will be 2 or more winners depending on how big the payout for this post is and depending on how many quality posts are entered into the contest.
-Please upvote generously on your favorite post in the comments below, we'd like to generate a sense much support as possible for all participants and the prize pool is still growing.

Upvote and resteem to help us raise our reward pool! And remember to comment and upvote on comments in this post please to show support for deadposts! :-)

The prize pool will be half of the post payout or at least $10 SBD
I'm still looking for SP delegation to offer some payout on all submissions. If you can help, please let me know :-)

This is not merely a contest, this is an opportunity to have your material read and an opportunity for us to really discuss each other's posts.


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit", practice languages or make friends.

Be Awesome discord channel

thetree - Confessions of the Damaged (my fiction) @ patreon

Sort:  

https://steemit.com/culturevulture/@melinda010100/new-glarus-wisconsin-20171024t5614852z

Here is one of my photo essays that didn't get much attention.

Great stuff! My Mom was a Swiss citizen when i was born, so i was grew up surrounded by her Swiss & Dutch things everywhere!... thanks for sharing!

There is a strong Swiss community in New Flat is..lots of music and opportunities for wonderful food. Did your mom cook Swiss foods for you? Rosti? Raclette?

a little bit... she mostly would cook Dutch and Indonesian food as she spent her childhood in Java & Holland... finally going to Switzerland when she was 12 as the War was breaking out. So she learned the Swiss lifestyle but always had a thing for her earlier cuisine.

What an interesting life! Did her family stay in Switzerland?

well.. my Mom's parents had recently divorced, so in '42 her mother was going to leave Holland with she & her younger sister and take a ship to Paraguay to wait out the war with her Mom's brothers whom were already there.

Believe it or not, my Mom's estranged father was back in Java, Dutch East Indies (as it was called) having been interred in a local Japanese concentration camp since the invasion.

So the upshot of the tale is that mother's mom died suddenly at age 38 having just been to the doctor for a checkup in Utrecht. Out of the blue... so by the Spring of 1942 my 12-year-old mom and her sister made their way to some family friends in Switzerland without much incident and had a wonderful dozen years living and coming of age there in the mountains.

Never did find those Uncles in Paraguay (although I believe that there are descendants there that I might find).

My Opa had a good rest of his life living on Lake Konstanz until the 1980s. So a lot of Swiss culture but Dutch genetically.

Wow..what an amazing worldly culural heritage you have!

thanks! small family but lots of history to look into

So swiss! Many colorful and great photos:)

This part of Wisconsin had a lot of Swiss immigrants. Norwegians, too!

Nice! A little piece of Switzerland in Wisconsin, I enjoyed the trip to the festival 😀

😃 nice to have you along! Are you still yodeling?

It is with pleasure that I share my entry for this dead-posts revival installment as I feel that it may help throw things into perspective for some people. :c)

The Power of Purpose


Source

I highly recommend a read, regardless of whether you feel inclined to vote. ^_^


Thank you to @whatamidoing for yet another installment of this fine dead-posts revival series! Its always a pleasure to look through the entries. :c)

Very lucid post @pathforger! i like your take on the whole Purpose Quest... and the relations of individual-to-local-to-global and back.

Thank you, @orionsbeltbuckle, both for your vote and for homing in upon a meta element that I myself had not realized I'd employed! :cP

It does make sense though. Purpose can run through and beyond us. ^_^

And its fine if it seems to any person that it doesn't with respect to themselves - as is made apparent in the post.

Thanks again. :c)

Right On!

Your enthusiasm is infectious.

Its really kick-started my morning. Thank you! :c)

I read your full post and liked it a lot!

especially this approach :

Perhaps the true fundamental purpose of life is simply to experience it. To immerse oneself within it and allow it to fill one's every pore

Thank you very kindly for your up-vote and for reading through my post @becometheartist! :c)

I am glad that you found something of worth within it - and I do consider it one of my better works of thought-put-into-words. ^_^

Yes,I do personally stand by this bit that you have quoted, and it fits well enough with my perspective on the meaning of life. It works for me anyway - and I like to think that a fair number of the 'lost lambs' among us will find such to be helpful. :c)

Thanks again. ^_^

Here is my first ever Scuba Scribe dive 🐟🐠 narrative which made a measly 15 c. I didn't let it get me down though and continued writing the series which ended up finding some readership. Have a read if you have time. Grace my comment with your upvote if you enjoy it. I have landed a little late for this round but I am keen. Lets get all walking dead up in this mofo and revive some dead posts😉: https://steemit.com/travel/@raj808/scuba-scribe-diving-the-red-sea-1(

Excellent post @raj808.. i just read #2 also. So were you experiencing "the bends" slightly when you mentioned the odd euphoria? You got me psyched to read more about diving as it seems to have a powerful spiritual component which comes through in your text.

Ha ha. You should go the whole hog and give part 3 a read if you liked the spiritual aspect of part 2. You are absolutely right about that, I have my most profound moments of awakening in nature and it comes across in lots of my blog posts on steemit, not just the scuba diving ones. It is fair to say though, that since I started scuba diving in 2009, my most memorable and mystical experiences have been under the sea. It is a hard feeling to quantify but I try my best in these articles.

So were you experiencing "the bends" slightly when you mentioned the odd euphoria?

No it was not the bends but something called Nitrogen Narcosis, the bends is decompression sickness which happens when you ascend from depth to quickly. It is all to do with how the oxygen/nitrogen in the air you are breathing(from the tank)react under different levels of pressure. Nitrogen Narcosis is the product of how the nitrogen in air effects your body/mind at deeper depths. It can effect different people at different depths but generally nobody gets it unless they're at least 20 meters down. For me it's around 30 meters and it can manifest in a number of ways. Drunk giddiness, feelings of doom and panic or overwhelming bliss. I have had all of these effects from narcosis at one point or another. It is why the buddy system is so important as you can keep an eye on each other when these things happen. I once had to chase a diving buddy down a reef wall as he had a strong narcosis effect and became fearless. We had seen a large tiger shark below and he was determined to get a closer picture but we were already at 28 mtrs and 25 minutes into the dive. Anything below 36 meters on that dive at that point would have resulted in possible (life threatening) decompression sickness, because of how long we had already been down. I caught his fins at about 32 meters and hauled him back up and pointed at my dive computer to show him how deep we were. He seemed really cheesed off but followed me back up to safe depth. When we got back on the boat he was really apologetic and said he didn't even realize how deep it was and thought I was just being pushy at the time. It is really odd as I felt no narcosis effect on that instance but on the trip I describe in - Scuba Scribe - Diving the Red Sea, Dealing with Narcosis #2 - I got severe narcosis. Anyway, I'm going on a bit lol this is what happens when you get a diver talking about diving 😉

excellent read about the sea turtle in #3... no sea cow? i'll check out your other posts

Thanks @orionsbeltbuckle glad I could take you along on the journey, no unfortunately I still haven't seen a Dugong but many other wonderful marine life. Sea cow is still on the bucket list :)

I will have to check those out! I can relate, nature awakens things that are sometimes sleeping while we are in cities and suburbs

Thanks @whatamidoing. Yeah, you are so right! I feel an awakening when ever I get out into the natural environment away from the city etc. The more wild the greater reaction for me lol So when I scuba dive it's like a another world, both figuratively and in my inner world. I can't explain it amazingly well but it's a true escape, much better than any drug, like shedding my skin. Ha that doesn't really do it justice but it kinda explains the feeling. Thanks for running this great initiative! It is fantastic to have these articles read and enjoyed by a whole new group of people 😃

I'm glad I get to meet so many great members doing this!

Wow that would be awesome to experience. Cool pictures!

Thanks @emptyintentions. I'm never happier than when I'm mooching about underwater hunting for marine life 🐠 🙂

I didn't get dive certified until I was nearing 50'years of age, but I did my deep water certification in Bonaire and did 6 dives there that gave me a so many treasured m memories! You are a fantastic writer and those photos are fabulous! I'm voting for your post.

Thanks @melinda010100. It really is a wonderful experience isn't it!? Glad to have met another fellow scuba diver on here 🐠 🙂

Let me enter this great initiative once again. This time with a post that was deeply personal and - I feel - teaches an important lesson:

https://steemit.com/life/@vincentnijman/the-power-of-quitting-or-how-finishing-something-no-matter-what-isn-t-necessarily-a-good-thing

It's all just stepping stones.

Learning to quit may be a more valuable lesson than learning to stick with something cause it allows you to find something you actually want to do with all your heart. So many people stick with things out of "principle" and remain stuck and miserable. You can do better!

Some great perspective on this. I'm also with the camp of following one's gut feeling; only one by himself can know what is best for him/her. Other people can give advice and their perspective but ultimately it's not in their hands.

Perhaps it is because I have in recent months both experienced a process of reconnect with my parents as well as a painful process of failure, but I felt that your experience shared not only struck a chord but also feels genuinely relevant.

Sometimes it is better to quit - particularly in a very early stage where one's investment is little. This is not always possible and so it is tempting to seek to justify one's efforts - to make something positive of what may otherwise be a negative situation.

And sometimes even then one is best cutting one's losses and moving on to the next thing.

Thanks for sharing. This has my vote. :c)

Hello, I would like to share with you the tutorial of one of my favourite paintings I realized :

[EN]🎨👣 DIY Acrylic Paint : Autumn Colours [original][includes Step-by-Step][available in EN/DE/FR]

Now that I can actually 'see' the lion's share of your post, I can properly comment. :c)

It is refreshing to see the various phases of consideration and work that goes into an artist's crafting process - and looking at the final art within the context of every stage helps me to feel that I understand it upon a level beyond just seeing it in its state of completion alone.

This and I personally find the work of art itself to be appealing. This has my vote. :c)

Thank you :) happy you like it!

I am looking forward to taking a proper look at this. Ironically this PC is on a network that forbids Steemit-hosted images from being displayed (which is why my posts occasionally feature dead images - I only find out when I get to my decade-old lappy back home ^_^)

Hellooo my dear DeadPosters!! ¿How are you doing on this relaxed weekend? I hope everything is great. :)

Well my friends, first of all, congratulations to all those other deadpost sharers who've been awarded with some do$h by this great initiative/contest sponsored by our good host @whatamidoing.

For this week, in view of the growing expectations about the final application of important changes in the steemit platform that we've all been waiting for a long time. I guess, I'll share and nominate this post below as a revival of what I wrote 4 months ago with kind of the same expectations and enthusiasm regarding the Groups/Communities/Subcommunities features & tools we all are drooling about.

At that time, this post barely was able to get 20 views, 6 upvotes, $0.12 cents and fortunately, an animated figure of 14 entertaining & humorous comments.
Unlike my other posts, this is not one of those usual long-ass TL|DR posts of mine. So, your eyes and brain entrails are safe this time. ¡I promise! The worst thing that could happen to you would be learn one or two new things while you laugh a little in a very quick dose of reading. }:)

Check it out and enjoy!! :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@por500bolos/yeah-you-wonder-why-not-even-my-own-followers-view-read-comment-vote-or-resteem-my-posts-lately-my-particular-view

As always, ¡Upvoted & Resteemed! to help to the cause.

Haven't heard of twitter syndrome because I don't even use, but that explains a lot. I checked my followers with the tool and I still had almost 200 out 256 active depending of the definition.

That yodeling song though :D

After reading this - I am not sure if if you simply struck a cord with the Steemit suggestion - or it was the funny packaging that you wrapped it up within - but I personally enjoyed this post.

True, it was not the longest of posts - but it sought to put a finger upon a few of the issues that Steemit members wonder about daily. This is why I am voting on this post. :c)

I started be awesome cause I was sick of waiting for a communities function. Welcome to come join us ;-)

For @celestal:

  • Yeah mate. In a current society where almost everyone refuse to read anything beyond 140 characters, we have no choice but baptize this behavior as a hideous syndrome.

  • ¿200 out 256 active followers? Excellent! then, I am glad for you mate. Not many people here seems to have that same ratio.

  • Hahaha yeah! That yodeling song speaks a ton to try launching your soul up to enlightenment with plenty rush. }:)

For @pathforger:

  • Oh! of course mate. Every time I try to put my finger over the sore of things, I have no choice but to wrap it up with a humorous and funny packaging. In such a way, that while they are distracted unwrapping it. At least, they don't notice the eventual stinging pain of the pressure of my fingers. :)

For @whatamidoing:

  • Right on mate! Waiting for that communities function on steemit has already taken me to let my beard grow till my belly button. It's taking too long to make it a reality.

  • Yeah mate! along this week I'll try to take a glance to your Be Awesome discord channel. Cheers!! :)

Here's an original art piece & poem by me. https://steemit.com/drawing/@emptyintentions/lemchi

Great poem @emptyintentions. I have voted to bring forth the dark arts of magic and awaken your dead post 💫 😉

Haha thank you! @raj808 I'm glad you enjoyed it. I made the art as well.

Here is a link to my deadpost from three months ago:
Night Vision anomalies flying overhead • Update 4
john-ufopost-pic4.jpg

Interesting footage. I have no explanation for this so, despite being a follower of science I am not going to try explaining it. I do believe that there other dimensions than ours and in fact quantum physics supports this in many ways. Maybe there are things/energies/lifeforms that interact in multiple dimensions at the same time!? I really don't know, perhaps that is the fiction writer in me reaching for the answer. And now I have tried to explain it lol 😉

https://steemit.com/poetry/@theferalone/wondering-fool

I posted this poem before I had any followers and understood how Steemit even works. I think this initiative is pretty legit, a great service for Steem and steemians alike. This was originally posted on my Medium account, which I have essentially left for Steemit.

-- we also got a full history lesson --

My pleasure :D Thank you very much and congratulations to other deadpost creators, keep'em coming!

To top it up on the theme of history, here's an introductory deadpost to the national epic of Finland: Kalevala: An epic folklore of Finns - A source of inspiration for Tolkien's mythology

it's the location where most of the events are set upon being the homeland of its heroes) and Pohjola, "the North", which is considered as evil and the enemy of Kalevala people.

Great post @celestal. I enjoyed it big time mate. And Oh boy! once you named Pohjola in the story and being me some kinda Cranky Gandalf who is also a music lover who likes rescue and resurrect fine, rare & unknown good old music out there... I couldn't help but try musicalize a bit your post right away. Hehehe

While I was reading your story, this one was the soundtrack sounding in my head while I was accelerating toward the end of the post. }:)

Therefore, having read also the other posts here. This time and for now my vote goes to you!! :)

Thank you @por500bolos again. That was a cool song, haven't heard of Pekka Pohjola before.

Hehehe glad you like it. :)

I told you: "fine, rare & unknown good old music out there"
So I suspect, you'll know Pekka Pohjola a little bit better from now on. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54