You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Deadpost Initiative - Week 9 - Share your most undervalued work + week 8 winners ($10 SBD prize pool)

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Here is my first ever Scuba Scribe dive 🐟🐠 narrative which made a measly 15 c. I didn't let it get me down though and continued writing the series which ended up finding some readership. Have a read if you have time. Grace my comment with your upvote if you enjoy it. I have landed a little late for this round but I am keen. Lets get all walking dead up in this mofo and revive some dead posts😉: https://steemit.com/travel/@raj808/scuba-scribe-diving-the-red-sea-1(

Sort:  

Excellent post @raj808.. i just read #2 also. So were you experiencing "the bends" slightly when you mentioned the odd euphoria? You got me psyched to read more about diving as it seems to have a powerful spiritual component which comes through in your text.

Ha ha. You should go the whole hog and give part 3 a read if you liked the spiritual aspect of part 2. You are absolutely right about that, I have my most profound moments of awakening in nature and it comes across in lots of my blog posts on steemit, not just the scuba diving ones. It is fair to say though, that since I started scuba diving in 2009, my most memorable and mystical experiences have been under the sea. It is a hard feeling to quantify but I try my best in these articles.

So were you experiencing "the bends" slightly when you mentioned the odd euphoria?

No it was not the bends but something called Nitrogen Narcosis, the bends is decompression sickness which happens when you ascend from depth to quickly. It is all to do with how the oxygen/nitrogen in the air you are breathing(from the tank)react under different levels of pressure. Nitrogen Narcosis is the product of how the nitrogen in air effects your body/mind at deeper depths. It can effect different people at different depths but generally nobody gets it unless they're at least 20 meters down. For me it's around 30 meters and it can manifest in a number of ways. Drunk giddiness, feelings of doom and panic or overwhelming bliss. I have had all of these effects from narcosis at one point or another. It is why the buddy system is so important as you can keep an eye on each other when these things happen. I once had to chase a diving buddy down a reef wall as he had a strong narcosis effect and became fearless. We had seen a large tiger shark below and he was determined to get a closer picture but we were already at 28 mtrs and 25 minutes into the dive. Anything below 36 meters on that dive at that point would have resulted in possible (life threatening) decompression sickness, because of how long we had already been down. I caught his fins at about 32 meters and hauled him back up and pointed at my dive computer to show him how deep we were. He seemed really cheesed off but followed me back up to safe depth. When we got back on the boat he was really apologetic and said he didn't even realize how deep it was and thought I was just being pushy at the time. It is really odd as I felt no narcosis effect on that instance but on the trip I describe in - Scuba Scribe - Diving the Red Sea, Dealing with Narcosis #2 - I got severe narcosis. Anyway, I'm going on a bit lol this is what happens when you get a diver talking about diving 😉

excellent read about the sea turtle in #3... no sea cow? i'll check out your other posts

Thanks @orionsbeltbuckle glad I could take you along on the journey, no unfortunately I still haven't seen a Dugong but many other wonderful marine life. Sea cow is still on the bucket list :)

I will have to check those out! I can relate, nature awakens things that are sometimes sleeping while we are in cities and suburbs

Thanks @whatamidoing. Yeah, you are so right! I feel an awakening when ever I get out into the natural environment away from the city etc. The more wild the greater reaction for me lol So when I scuba dive it's like a another world, both figuratively and in my inner world. I can't explain it amazingly well but it's a true escape, much better than any drug, like shedding my skin. Ha that doesn't really do it justice but it kinda explains the feeling. Thanks for running this great initiative! It is fantastic to have these articles read and enjoyed by a whole new group of people 😃

I'm glad I get to meet so many great members doing this!

Wow that would be awesome to experience. Cool pictures!

Thanks @emptyintentions. I'm never happier than when I'm mooching about underwater hunting for marine life 🐠 🙂

I didn't get dive certified until I was nearing 50'years of age, but I did my deep water certification in Bonaire and did 6 dives there that gave me a so many treasured m memories! You are a fantastic writer and those photos are fabulous! I'm voting for your post.

Thanks @melinda010100. It really is a wonderful experience isn't it!? Glad to have met another fellow scuba diver on here 🐠 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59449.45
ETH 2406.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43