New Glarus, Wisconsin

Volksfest is one of my favorite local festivals. It is a Swiss Independence Day celebration with music and dancing. Swiss choral folklore music, yodeling, flag throwing, alphorn playing, and accordion music.

image

image

image

There is a short parade out to the Tell Shooting Park on the edge of town.

image

image

Self-described as “America’s Little Switzerland,” New Glarus is a rural town in Wisconsin where a group of economic migrants from Glarus, Switzerland, moved in the mid-nineteenth century, fleeing deteriorating economic conditions at home.

image

image

Thalerschwinge

image

The Woodchopper dance

The old Post Bus was purchased privately and brought over from Switzerland.

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

I just resteemed your post but if you don’t like to be resteemed just leave me a reply and I will unfollow and stop resteeming your posts immediately. I’m not a spammer… just read what this is all about here

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture competition. Good Luck

Guess I must visit this with my (half swiss) Family some day! Really looks like Switzerland and than they have a real "PostBus" there - just great! :)

I love how one can celebrate their cultur and heritage no matter what part of the world they are in! This is a lovely entry into this month's #culturevulture challenge, good luck and much love, @sweetpea

Thanks! There are many people with Swiss.heritage in this area, but with each generation more of the traditions are lost. I love that they work hard throughout the year to keep the culture alive for the children.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50