The Deadpost Initiative - Week 37 - Share your most undervalued work ($14 STEEM rewards last week)

in #contest6 years ago

What is the Deadpost Intitiative?

The Deadpost Initiative is an attempt to give love to some posts that were overlooked during their short 7 day life span, a chance to bring your old posts back to life and maybe make some friends in the process. The goal is not only to share some love with SBD but also by engagement to generate discussion.

##Last week
So many great posts this week! I try to use engagement as the number one tool for judging who wins, that way I don't need to use my own opinion much when deciding. Good thing too, I wouldn't be able to decide. In order to have a more balanced and fair contest, I urge you all to come back two days after posting your deadpost to see what kind of posts there are to upvote. I honestly don't mind if you vote for more than 2-3 posts, but remember, so come back a few times!

##Last Week's Winners
—-

@audreybits - $5 SBD prize

This should be common sense, but it is common sense that most people are lacking! Many of us talk much better than we listen. @audreybits shares some tips on how to be a good listener.

The Listening Thing...

—-

@fjmb86 - $5 SBD prize

@fjmb86 is a deadpost machine....getting a ton of votes and engagement every time. Very nice! This is a deep topic, what is art and what is culture? Books could be written about this, but @fjmb86 does a good job scratching the surface.

Importance of art And Culture

—-

@acesontop - $2 SBD prize

This is important for anyone on steemit because we earn crypto. Should Bitcoin be a means of payment or an asset to invest in? @acesontop is another person who is really killing it with deadposts recently.

Bitcoin as a form of payment or an asset. What's the most appealing to you?

—-

@dalz - $2 SBD prize

@dalz brings back the age old topic of power and shares the opinion that it should be shared rather than held by one person or group.

Power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely


Week 37

pexels-photo-460617.jpeg
(From pexels)

Share your best Deadpost in the comments!

The best posts will be rewarded with the fluid payout from this post (split between winners) and will be featured in a future post.

Rules

•Please only submit 1 post.
•Posts must have a payout of less than $5.
•Posts must be at least one month old.
•I recommend you don't enter the same post twice in the same month if you didn't win the first time.
•Vote for 1-3 post by others. Please share WHY you liked their posts. If you don't vote for someone else's post by commenting you will not be eligible to win.
•Winners will be chosen based on how original, creative, informative and well written their posts are, as well as how well received they are in the comments. I will use the quality of comments as the main factor in judging who wins.
•There will be a slight bias towards smaller accounts but large accounts are welcome to join and compete or join just for fun and to share their old work.
•There may also be prizes for stellar comments and engagement.
•There will be 2 or more winners depending on how big the payout for this post is and depending on how many quality posts are entered into the contest.

Please upvote generously on your favorite post in the comments below, we'd like to generate a sense much support as possible for all participants and the prize pool is still growing.
Upvote and resteem to help us raise our reward pool! And remember to comment and upvote on comments in this post please to show support for deadposts! :-)
The prize pool will be the fluid rewards from the post plus any donation to the initiative.
Thanks to @krnel for his delegation and @tribesteemup for their trail support.

This is not merely a contest, this is an opportunity to have your material read and an opportunity for us to really discuss each other's posts.

—-

If you like what I do, consider becoming a Patron (or helping me find more Patrons by sharing this link on social media) so I can put more time and energy into fiction, music and community building. Some extra fiction and music will be over at Patreon and it's all pay-what-you-want. Thanks for any and all support!

Sort:  

Thanks, as always, for this great initiative!

I would like to submit this deadpost from about six months ago, talking a bit about the importance of "technology breaks" in this world where we seem more connected to our phones and computers than the physical people around us:

https://steemit.com/technology/@whitelightxpress/the-importance-of-technology-breaks-to-keep-a-healthy-mind-and-spirit

I guess I'm a bit "early to market" here, so I'll be back to comment on other entries in a couple of days when there are more.

Bright Blessings!

@whitelightxpress, thanks for the healing message as detailed there. Its context is soaked in purity and positivism.
Trust me I understand too that there is more to everything yet made known for I am a light worker. Thanks for sharing.

Although it's often with good intentions, I think we can end up spending FAR too much time glued to our screens, and there is SO much more to life than that.

Bright Blessings!

Yes... There is much more to life than what we know already.
Nobody should argue that.
Thanks so much for your words of enLIGTHenment.

I am so glad you shared this. It's so important to go outside and truly get in touch with Nature, to stay embodied. Thanks for turning me onto your blog, following now. Blessings

@creationofcare, as often as not, I come to realize that nature is really my "church." It's where I find the most connection with "source." Thanks for the comment!

Bright Blessings!

Yes! As a homeschooling family, I limit everyone's screentime, but my phone is always within reach. I like the idea if our leaving it in another room for a bit.

Yes to this.

I did something similar over the first half of 2018.

Life offline in an online world is really different. I was writing about it, but never published. I decided to come back to Steem and start a new blog, and slowly publishing my stuff as well as new stuff.

Completely get it. I love this.

Posted using Partiko iOS

https://steemit.com/parenting/@crowbarmama/precognition-no-thank-you

This was my very first post on the platform, back in January. I took a big risk sharing some personal topics, but it propelled me to continue on Steemit. Thanks for this opportunity to share!

amazing photos, useful info and nice writing flow. I been a cook for years now, love cooking with mushrooms, now when i hike i'll be on the lookout, thank.s

Cool photos, with very interesting information. I have always wanted to learn how to forage mushrooms and plants for medicinal and edible uses. It always seemed like a good and fun skill set to have.

Apparently, the kind of tree it is growing on also has to do with whether it is edible or not.

Actually it is edible regardless of the tree it grows on. One only have to find young specimens to use in the kitchen.

Hey @artofwisdom,

The second paragraph on the following webpage about Pancakes of the Woods, I mean Chicken of the Woods, says otherwise: https://sites.google.com/site/scottishfungi/species-profiles/laetiporus-sulphureus

From Lannie.

Thanks for additional info, seems like specimens growing on yew trees are to be avoided - good to know :)

I have seen many variations of this type of "bracket mushroom" while walking in the woods here in the US Pacific Northwest, but not bright yellow like that. I had NO idea they were edible! But I am guessing you really have to know what you're doing.

Thank you very much for my award and for making this wonderful contest. It really is a motivation to move forward in the Stemmit community. Regards!

This is my new entry: HOW TO OVERCOME FEAR AND TAKE ACTION IN MY LIFE

Taking action generates trust and courage. If you want to overcome fear, do not stay at home thinking. Go outside and stay busy.

https://steemit.com/writing/@fjmb86/how-to-overcome-fear-and-take-action-in-my-life

I'm inhaling confidence, I'm exhaling fear.
I am inhaling power, I am exhaling weakness.
I am inhaling victory over my problem, I am exhaling defeat.I'm inhaling confidence, I'm exhaling fear.
I am inhaling power, I am exhaling weakness.
I am inhaling victory over my problem, I am exhaling defeat.

I love this. I do something similar with my kids, especially if they are having trouble sleeping. We focus alot on breathing in and out because when you are focused on the present moment then there is no room for worry or regret. There is much inner strength to be found as we are all created from source energy and have only to choose to trust and tap into it.

Hi @fjmb86!
I indeed felt every bit of the effort you injected into that work.
Honestly, what you did was completely healing.
Fears have restricted plentiful from wanting to proceed and take another risks not knowing not taking even is taking the wrong risks(s).
Should they read that piece, they should have a change in mentality.

Personally, I believe as I belief, falling is not a problem as for one to rise it needed to fall. So the best thing whenever one falls is to let go the shames and rise back with better understanding.
Weldon!
@jodekss

Thank you for your comments.

Its sad how fear often holds us back from achieving what we want to. But we have to understand that life starts at the other side of fear- courage.

That's an insightful post!

You are right and agree with me.

Fear is our most intense emotion. And for reason. It is the instinct of survivle. Without the fear the humans would probably not survive. Evolotuionary speaking. Now this days we have less treaths and should manage fear.

Totally in agreement with you, we must face fear with responsibility.

Thank you for continuing this awesome initiative! Here is my entry.
https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@paradigm42/sometimes-you-just-need-to-get-away-for-a-bit

Very nice and tranquil photos makes you want to just step into them and enjoy the tranquility and get away from it all.

Thank you! Everyone should try to find a place to spend sometime in nature. I find it is a true stress reliever.

I can relate entirely with your post. I absolutely require time alone in "my favorite places" in nature to adult whatsoever. As a fellow introvert, I appreciate that you put it into words. Thank you for sharing your special getaway! Following :)

Thank you very much! It is nice to know I am not alone in my need to get away by myself at times. Some people just don't understand how draining just interacting with others on a normal daily basis can be for an introvert.

Exactly! And going into nature resets and refills me to bring my presence back when it is needed. Blessings!

Yeah, I agree with you. Sometimes, we need to take a breack from all the "chaos" around and revitalize ourselves.

That is such a beautiful spot!

Thank you for taking the time to read my post, and for your thoughtful comment. :) I find that taking some time to spend in nature is a good way to heal from the sometimes overwhelming aspects of daily life. I am lucky to have access to beautiful and tranquil areas of nature like that one, and others.

You really are lucky...

Great place and great pictures!

Very beautiful and tranquil spot @paradigm42! I feel that introverts — in particular — find a lot of healing in being in nature. The place you photographed here reminds me a lot of some of the woodsy places we visit when we go to Denmark where my husband's family is.

Bright Blessings!

Thank you! That place in particular is very special to me. I definitely agree that while being out in nature can be healing for anyone, for introverts it can make a significant difference. I know it does for me. :)

@whatamidoing hi! I am very grateful for this very thoughtful innovation. It is like a quencher of the burning regrets I might yet have for the first posts I posted on steemit which had $0.00 after putting in a lot of effort to make the context be as unique as possible.
I am highly grateful.

And here is one of them (2 months old) AND IT IS MY INTRODUCEYOURSELF POST WHICH FETCHED ME $0.00:
https://steemit.com/introduction/@jodekss/introduction-here-is-where-my-creativity-will-be-rewarded-bountifully-right-much-love-fam

It was painful honestly when I saw what others were making with theirs. :)

it was a very good introduction and deserves recognition

Many thanks. I am following you too.

Welcome to Steemit! I look forward to reading your writing on my feed. I hope you stay positive about this platform whether or not it fattens your pocket! I have made friends and lasting connections here no matter what the market is doing. Cheers from California!

Hmm! Thanks for this comment. very encouraging.

I agree, awesome intro post...definitely should have earned you more. It seems a bit hard to get started on here unless you know some whales, but it’s great to have people from all over the world here to share their different perspectives.

Power up and Steem on!

I'm glad I got a glimpse of this today, I got a old post that i think I want to share: The Weight We Carry

It's about me dancing with my own confusion and feeling of this weight, I think Allen Ginsberg wrote IT best:

The weight of the world is love.
Under the burden of solitude,
under the burden of dissatisfaction
the weight,the weight we carry is love.

Don't cling. True on so many levels. 1. Don't hoard or accumulate because then you're tied to all this stuff that distracts you from your innate ability to create!

  1. Don't try to control because controls an illusion and trying to cling to an illusion will drive you insane.
  2. Don't cling to people because you can only "control" you.
  3. Don't cling to ideas because we are fluid and our beliefs change as our awareness does.

Hi there! Thanks for continuing this thoughtful opportunity. I found one of my earliest posts, one which I poured my soul into...that earned 0 sbd, hehe! Well, I think it is still and always important to remember to dwell in Metta. So here is my Meta Metta musing. https://steemit.com/philosophy/@creationofcare/meta-metta

Meditation on positivity and compassion to the point of experiencing the joy of existence sounds truly lovely. I like that you try to send out healing energy to those around you as well! :)

Thanks for reading it! I really appreciate your comment. As the saying goes, breathe in love, breathe out kindness <3

awesome, deep and insightful musing!

Thanks for nominating me again in your dead post initiative. It's great to be a part of it and it's great seeing steemians like you sharing with others and promoting other users on the way.
For this week I've chosen another dead post of mine, from many others in which I tackled a bit @hellojosephyoung situation with his account being suspended on twitter for a few days.
I also reminded the journalist, if he read the post about our decentralized social media platform, Steemit, which could be a definitely better alternative for him in sharing his thoughts and ideas without being banned as it happened on the centralized one, twitter.
Here it is and hope it fits your criteria: https://steemit.com/hellojosephyoung/@acesontop/have-you-forgot-about-the-steem-platform-joseph-young

Congrats to the other participants and keep up with the good work!

👍 Steemit Tricks Every Steemian Should Know- Let's Get You Noticed 😎

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@rentmoney/steemit-tricks-every-steemian-should-know-let-s-get-you-noticed

My post is about 4 months old and contains lots of useful information for those just starting out on Steemit. I turned this post into a series that spanned 5 or 6 post in total.

Those tips took me a while to learn. I would have appreciated reading this article my first week on the platform!

They took me awhile to learn as well. It was great seeing my followers new posts after they have read my article and seeing the work I put into learning and sharing those tips become well worth it.

  • Thanks I appreciate you taking the time to read my article.

@rentmoney It was a good article, well-written and obvious that you cared about the content. Looking forward to reading more of your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40