Crypto Enthusiasts Resources, Ep. 17: Make Your Own Portfolio Tracker With Google Sheets (Template Included)

in #blockchain7 years ago

This is the seventeenth day of my 30 days challenge dedicated to crypto resources. Each day I will post a relevant resource (used by me, or recommended) and at the end of each post you'll see a list of all the previous articles.

Today I'm sharing a little tool I made to keep track of all my coins (not a lot of coins, but still too many to keep them just in my fallible memory). It's a Google Sheet you can access at the link below:

Basic Portfolio Tracker

This is what you should see once you access that link:


Screen Shot 2017-10-28 at 10.28.45 AM.png


If you want to make your own portfolio, you should make a copy of it and name it as you want (the link only gives you viewing rights):


Screen Shot 2017-10-28 at 10.28.54 AM.png


Once you did this, you can start editing.

The sheet has 2 main areas: crypto listing and a pie chart. Crypto listing is split into 2 areas: Trading tokens and non trading tokens (ICOs, etc).

Here comes the interesting part: the trading tokens are getting their price pulled dynamically from Coinmarketcap.com, using a nifty little function, which looks like this:


=ImportJSON("https://api.coinmarketcap.com/v1/ticker/steem/","/price_usd","noInherit,noTruncate,rawHeaders")


If you click on the cells with /price_usd this is what you'll see, with the the part after the ticker replaced by the actual token symbol, from the Coinmarketcap.api.

The chart pulls the data from the listing area, so when you add or delete something, it will update, as long as you keep the same cells and columns. If you want to add more tokens, just click on the chart, choose the "Data" tab and customize the "Data range" cells, as shown in the image below:


Screen Shot 2017-10-28 at 10.41.35 AM.png


If you add more cryptos, you should also customize the "Label" range, including all the cells you've been added.

When you add a new crypto, remember to copy both lines, the one including the JSON import function as well. After you did that, just click on it, and edit the ticker symbol (which you can get form Coinmarketcap API).

I'm using a similar sheet for quite some time now and it feels more clear and you can also spot trends faster (see the movers and shakers, evaluate the overall impact of a certain coin to your portfolio, etc).

It's really basic, and it can be further improved, which I kindly invite you to do. Copy it, and make it great!


Previous Resources


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

This is awesome, thanks for this. I'll use this on my crypto-portfolio.

I'm a middle aged single mom and cryptocurrencies is still rocket science for me. I'm hoping to someday widen my portfolio and not just 100% steem lol

I'm hoping to someday widen my portfolio and not just 100% steem

I highly encourage you to do this, even with small amounts, like $5 or $10 per week. It will hone your skills and train your intuition, you will learn how to spot opportunities.

The blockchain technology is really very complicated for me, but everyday that I do steem i learn more and more about bitcoin and other crypto, I'll take your suggestion to heart. $5-10 worth of other coins to dip my toes in the water. :)

@dragosroua I am glad you posted this I may have to try this out.

Thanks for sharing! I usually like making my own sheet, but will definitetly use this if I cant figure out how to steal your import function.

Nice, it is working in ods too, except the chart.
Thank's

Thank you!
I was also using a google spreadsheet but my importing formula did not update automatically. I love analyzing my portfolio trends and value with my own tools

You're very welcome :)

Do you know where can I find all token symbol names?, trying to get the price for Bitcoin Gold and the formula does not recognize the name

wow we can make that with spread sheet that's really amazing i always wanted to make one :D

Copy it and it make it great! :)

This is awesome. I am gonna use this in my work. Thanx

Keep the great work running

great post @dragosroua
upvoted images (11).jpg

I think I it might be usefull for me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44