Happy first STEEMIT anniversary to me

in #anniversary7 years ago

I got a message yesterday informing me that I had been on Steemit for a whole year.


image source

Wow! That went fast. So much has happened in the last year no wonder I’m tired.

Things started off not so well, with my father having a heart attack.

I put up a few of my short stories online and even wrote a new one on request.

I put up photographic evidence of trolls living I the New Zealand bush.

I finally got my version of casualty tags for my emergency response team printed and now we are using them.

The Irish rugby team beat the All Blacks for the first time ever!

We had some really big earthquakes in New Zealand, which really messed things up for many places.

Wrote some stories for the @little-peppers.

I read a book by @dragoroua that changed my life, and got me running.

Launched my own website – Write, Coder, Dreamer

I got my dad onto Steemit and everyone seems to love his tall tales of a miss-spent youth.

We sent the @little-peppers a Red Cross package from New Zealand filled with all the treat we loved as kids that they had never even heard of in the US. And of course a book – Hairy McCleary from Donaldson’s dairy.

I bought a watch to help me run, and strangely enough, it did.

I sold my car and bought a new one (and it’s a red one so it goes even faster!)

My wife was invited to meet the Governor General to present Treaty Times 30 – the efforts of translators to translate the Treaty of Waitangi (our founding document) into 30 different languages.

We lost Murray Ball, and Fred Dagg.

I celebrated my fifth wedding anniversary.

I put up a series on how to secure your forms against attacks by robots. (this works really well!)

I bought my first lot of Bitcoin and Etherium.

For a whole week, I went for a very cool road trip with my best mate up the West Coast of New Zealand’s South Island.

I ran my first ever marathon in 4 hours 37 minutes.

Ran my first ever ultramarathon a month later.

I played several iterations of Steem-pocalypse, and nearly survived all the way to the end once.

I started up my own YouTube channel – Little Old Man Running

And I signed up for my second ultramarathon, just three weeks away now.

That’s a lot of stuff going on that I’ve blogged about on Steemit. And there’s plenty more that never made it into my blog, just because there wasn’t enough time to write about it.

I guess that’s one of the cool things about blogging – looking back at what you have done, been through, survived. I’m glad I joined Steemit last year. The process of blogging has been fun and I’ve gotten a lot more engagement on here than I ever have blogging elsewhere.

So I think I’ll keep on doing it for the foreseeable future. It’s a great way to connect with people, have a voice, and get rewarded for interacting with people from all over the world.

Thank you to everyone who has read my posts and voted (or not) and commented. I read all the comments and I try to reply, where a reply is warranted.

I'm still on Steemit because I like the people here and I'm sure that as the platform grows, more and more cool people will join.

I'm really interested to see what it will look like in a year's time.


Check out my stories here on Steemit

Running Deer

Running Deer - part 1
Running Deer - How legends are born

Charlie Rabbit

Meet Charlie Rabbit
Charlie tides up
Charlie Rabbit and Margery Mouse
Charlie Rabbit and Margery Mouse make music

Little Peppers Adventures

Runaway Rabbit and the hungry fox
Maybe and the land of purple rainbows – A Little Peppers adventure
How Pappa Pepper and Monster Truck the Pepper got their wild hogs - a Little Peppers Adeventure

Dark Angel Regiment of the Space Marines - Mission Files

First Squad Sniper Elite - Zaresith mission

Other stories

Stranded
The Lady Of The Lake


Also don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

Wow.. Productive year, Congrats!

Thanks for that.

Now you have much steem hehe
can you share a little steem please @trevor.george

You are one productive individual! Great work, great post!!!

Thanks. It didn't seem so much at the time, but when you look back on it, it was a busy year ;-)

You've done so many things in a year, you deserve our support. Certainly will follow a year as exciting as this one. All the best for you and your father!

Thanks very much ;-)

Nice you have done very well - steem on

Thanks for that. You're not doing too badly yourself :-)

Congrats on your first anniversary!!!

Thanks very much :-)

Thank you for posting this lovely moment in time for you. Followed...

You are welcome. Thanks for reading it ;-)

OMG you didn't mention getting to know, surely that should be the top spot heehee congratulations, looking forward to reading more and enjoying your runs with you :)

hehe there was soooo much I wanted to put into that post, but it would have gone on for ages and ages.

So it was only some of the highlights, but not all ;-)

Not mentioning talking to me as being the top spot was unforgivable haha

hehe I'll remember that for next year, honest ;-)

To late then ... lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44