Goodbye Zoom ZoomsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

It was with very mixed feelings that I watched as my car pulled out into traffic and disappeared.

DSCF9799.JPG

I wasn’t driving it, and that felt very wrong.

In the car were two women, a mother and daughter, that had flown up to Wellington from Christchurch that morning. We picked them up from the airport around 8am. They were now on their way to the ferry to drive their new car back down to Christchurch (after a spot of sightseeing).

The morning stated well enough. We were up, had breakfast and got on the road to the airport on time (unusual for us). My wife checked the plane had arrived on time as we drove. Whoops! It had arrived quite a bit early!

We got to the airport to find it was under construction and there was nowhere to park. Calamity! I dropped my wife off to find our potential buyers while I went looking for somewhere to park. This involved going back out of the airport and then turning around and going back in again, driving the wrong way through an intersection and generally being a teenager behind the wheel.

I finally found a park miles away, at the far end of the carpark, and then ran to the terminal to see if my wife had found our buyers. No sign of them.

So she went to one baggage claim area and I went to the other.

Still no luck. This was becoming a problem.

I tried to call my wife, but my phone didn’t ring. WTF?

It turns out, somehow, my phone figured that since I was at the airport, it should go into airplane mode. No time to fiddle about with that, so just as I got to the other baggage claim area, my wife found our buyers. Whew!

They were lovely.

So I then ran back to get the car and drove them to a nearby shopping centre so they could get out and inspect the car before taking it for a test drive. All was good. They really liked it and were keen to take it on the road.

With them not being locals, and me being nervous about letting strangers drive my car, I stayed in the passenger seat. I guided them on a good test drive route that included motorway driving, and a big hill, before diving into suburbia and some fun twisty, downhill bits. Then it was back into the city, and fingers crossed, to the bank to get the money thing done.

I was keen to get this part done as quickly as possible for a few reasons.

On the test drive we almost had three nose-to-tail crashes because the driver wasn’t paying attention to the road or the traffic in front. We nearly ran up on the curb four times because she took the corners too sharply, and to top it all off, she was uninsured. Her current car had no insurance and she had not arranged insurance for my car if / when she bought it.

Scary stuff!

The other reason for getting it done was so that we could go and buy a new car, or at least get the process under way that day so we wouldn’t be without a car for too long.

We had arranged for the buyer to give us a bank cheque, as both she and my wife have the same bank. This would mean the cheque would clear the same day.

But….

Whilst the buyer did get a bank cheque made out in my wife’s name, she had drawn in from a different bank. That meant it would take up to five working days to clear.

Bugger.

But a deal is a deal. So we banked the cheque, did the change of ownership online (which was a new thing for me), and then they kindly dropped us off at the car dealer.

And that was the last I saw of my wee car. We heard that they made it safely all the way back to Christchurch at about 3am, which was a relief.

So now we wait (and walk) for the new car to arrive.


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Steem PowerCurationReputationPostsPowering up

Get your own badges from: https://steemit.com/@elyaque

Sort:  

Sorry to hear you sold your Mazda! They are amazing vehicles. I was a Master Mazda salesman for 3 years and taking test drives was always scary because they are much sportier than people are used to. The steering is so tight. Thank you for the story, it brought back awesome memories.

Did you at least cry when your car left you???

Well, no. i had very mixed emotions.

On the one hand I was very sad to see my little car leave. I loved that car.

But on the other hand I was excited to be buying a new car.

Torn.....

New cars are fun and exciting. Just do not compare the cars. Sounds like relationship advice here....lol!

hehe or tell the new car all about the ex.

Bad thing to do if I want a smooth ride ;-) hehe

I hope the check (cheque, if you prefer) clears.

We checked it this morning and it did. Finally!

That had me a bit worried for a while.

We didn't think they were trying to scam us, but then again, if they were trying to scam us we probably would think that.

Given that the first guy to ask about the car was a scammer, we tried to be careful. But you just never know until the money has cleared.

So now we are all good when the new car arrives.

Can't wait ;-)

It seems strange to me that you have to wait for your new car. Was it a special order, or is that just how auto sales work there?

We bought a new car, so the dealer doesn't actually hold the vehicle in stock. It is held in storage in Auckland.

So it will come down on the back of a truck and then go through a testing and grooming process before they hand it over.

It's my first time doing this :-)

The previous car was also new but it was a demo so we just bought it off the lot and got it a bit cheaper.

Here, cars are available on the lot already. Pay (or more likely fill out the loan paperwork and get approval) and drive off the lot with a temporary license that's good until the DMV issues a permanent plate.

We can do that for a car that has already been registered. So for a second hand car, or a demo car you can do that.

But for new cars here, because a lot of the car yards are quite small, they don't actually hold the stock on the premises.

It would have been really nice to drive away in it on the day though. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46