We are locked and loaded!

in #sports7 years ago

I’ve gone and done it again. I clicked the button and it got real. I’ve just signed up for another 60km ultra marathon. This one run alongside the mighty Waikato River, passing three hydro-electric power stations and taking in some really spectacular countryside. It’s also in a part of the country I’ve never seen before, so I’m really looking forward to it.

Are you MAD?!!! I hear you shout. Remember what happened last time?

I remember. But this time it will be different, honest.

Yeah, right.

This is a very different race to my first ultra marathon – the WUU2k. The WUU2k is a hard race, over technical trails, taking in the biggest hills around Wellington. Only about 3 kilometres of the 62 kilometres is flat, and that is run on the soft sand along the beach, before being punished with the Tip Track – a relentless ascent that just keeps on going.

The race I have just signed up to is The Loaded Taniwha. The WUU2k has nearly 3000 metres of climb, the Loaded Taniwha has around 300 metres. And it starts off with a nice gentle run along the flat of a river terrace for the first 5kms. Unlike the WUU2k which starts off with a huge climb up Mt Kaukau to start your day.

I had quite a bit of difficulty doing research on this race as there is not much in the way of video of anyone running the 60km race. The best I could find was some mountain bike footage. From what I can see on that, the trails are awesome. They look to be very friendly, non-technical and mostly flat. If it is a nice day, this should be a really lovely run.

So now that we are locked and loaded, the money has been paid, it’s a happening thing, I have two months left to train for it. That sounds like a lot, but it isn’t really. I have a few leg issues to work through to get me back able to run the big miles again.

I got a bit carried away coming back to running after the WUU2k and got tendonitis in my ankles, making it impossible to run for more than about 10kms. I’ve been working on it, and it looks like after this morning’s run that things are improving. So in another couple of weeks I should be ready to step up the distance and build my endurance back up in time for the race. All I really need os for the weather to play ball, and stop raining long enough for me to get out and run.
I’m really looking forward to this race.

I know I can do the distance. I proved that in the WUU2k.
I have time to play with nutrition and get that dialled in.
I have the right gear now, with the arrival of my race vest.

I’m good to go.

On November 4th I’m going running with the Taniwha.


Check out my stories here on Steemit

Running Deer

Running Deer - part 1
Running Deer - How legends are born

Charlie Rabbit

Meet Charlie Rabbit
Charlie tides up
Charlie Rabbit and Margery Mouse
Charlie Rabbit and Margery Mouse make music

Little Peppers Adventures

Runaway Rabbit and the hungry fox
Maybe and the land of purple rainbows – A Little Peppers adventure
How Pappa Pepper and Monster Truck the Pepper got their wild hogs - a Little Peppers Adeventure

Dark Angel Regiment of the Space Marines - Mission Files

First Squad Sniper Elite - Zaresith mission

Other stories

Stranded
The Lady Of The Lake


Also don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

nice good work - roll on Nov 4th

That. I'm really looking forward to this one ;-)

Will look forward to reading about your progress :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29