The Help My Dog Challenge: Day 16 - $35.36 of $5,000.00 - Please resteem / upvote / donate directly!!!!!!!!!!!!

in #animals7 years ago

Hey Everyone,
My dog Floppy had successful back surgery on Friday 12/22/17. He is in recovery and should be ok!!!

Unfortunately, this unexpected expense has hit my family hard and I am turning to the Steemit in an attempt to raise funds to pay for this surgery.

Every upvote, comment, and share will help me out, and any straight donations would be wonderful!

I've actually been blogging about Floppy's recovery for about 2 weeks now and just realized that these topics might be good areas for me to post in, so I'll continue to do so and sorry I didn't earlier. You can click the links for the recap of each day from the start of this challenge below.

DAY 15 UPDATE
Floppy did really well in the hotel. We left him out of the crate last night for the most part because the bed was too high for him to even consider jumping. We did, however, also put him on the bed and it was bound to happen it some point... he ended up jumping off when Vanessa opened the door returning from her workout! It was probably a 3-4 foot jump if I had to guess. We were very worried; hopefully there are no side effects from it - we haven't noticed any today so far and he didn't yelp or anything upon landing.

We left Tampa this morning around noon. Checkout at the hotel was around 11am and we went to lunch at Portillo's!!! I'm excited about this because I'm from Chicago, this is my favorite restaurant chain from Chicago, and they opened 2 locations in Tampa. I ordered an Italian Beef sandwich and it was delicious. We got it from the drive through because we didn't want to leave Floppy in the car by himself (he was in his crate for the ride). He was begging for food inside of his crate the entire time! He must know how good Portillo's is lol. He was able to beg his way to a couple of bites of chicken tender, and also a bite of hamburger.

We made sure that Flop pooped and peed before we left the hotel. It got very cold out over night, so Flop was quick to get his business done! He is really walking a lot better and faster, which is so encouraging. We have another doctor's appointment in 2-3 weeks I believe and I think they will start getting him on a more regimented rehab with certain exercises that will help him develop strength faster. Vanessa and I are thrilled with his recovery so far though.

We were in a bit of a rush to get back to Orlando as we had tickets to go see Marvel Universe (a Christmas gift from my sister in law Veronica for Lucas for Christmas). Since this blog is about Floppy and we obviously couldnt take him with us, I won't post many pictures. I did want to post at least one though so you can see how cool the stage was:

IMG_1525.JPG

The show started at 3pm, ended around 4:30pm, we went to dinner right after and got home to Flop. I walked him again, and then we played with him for a bit on the carpet until Lucas' bed time. Lucas had never played Tug with him before, and Floppy was in an extremely playful mood, so we tried to teach Lucas how to play it with him with Floppy's favorite Odie doll. Lucas is a bit scared of Floppy's teeth (ie. he won't feed him directly, he'll drop the treat in front of him), so naturally he was a bit hesitant to play Tug with him. But they both had fun and I tried to capture a few pics as best I could:

IMG_1526.JPG

IMG_1527.JPG

My buddy Justin stopped by for a bit just after Lucas went to bed. Floppy was still out of his cage at the time, so when Justin walked in, Floppy was so excited to see him that he of course peed a little on the floor. I dont know if this is a general dog thing, a dachshund thing, or a Floppy thing, but he always pees a little (even inside) when someone he loves comes over. If anyone has any tips on how to correct this, I'm all ears LOL

....speaking of ears, I'm not sure if I've ever told you all...Floppy got his name from his big Floppy ears. My wife and I are a bit weird and called them his Flopperino's...and that's how we got his name LOL

Flop went for a final walk a few minutes ago and he's in his crate hopefully getting a great night's sleep! As you can see, he had a really busy day with his traveling and playing. We can't wait to see what tomorrow brings!

FUNDS UPDATE

Day 1: $0.41 Challenge Total: $.41
Day 2: $0.31 Challenge Total: $.72
Day 3: $0.08 Challenge Total: $.80
Day 4: $0.08 Challenge Total: $.88
Day 5: $0.11 Challenge Total: $.99
Day 6: $0.14 Challenge Total: $1.13
Day 7: $0.89 Challenge Total: $2.02
Day 8: $3.89 Challenge Total: $5.91
Day 9: $0.90 Challenge Total: $6.81
Day 10: $15.13 Challenge Total: $21.94
Day 11: $1.50 Challenge Total: $23.44
Day 12: $0.44 Challenge Total: $28.88 (including 4.40 SBD donation!!!!)
Day 13: $5.01 Challenge Total: $33.89
Day 14: $1.03 Challenge Total: $34.92
Day 15: $0.44 Challenge Total: $35.36

Thank you all for the votes and comments on yesterdays posts (22 votes, .44) Your kindness is slowly but surely helping me make progress...please, please, please continue your support!!!

We are now up to $35.36...as the Steem price grows and the site gets more awareness, I hope that I'll be able to turn my goal into a reality! Thank you all again and as always, I appreciate your help!!! If you have any ideas on how I can get this in front of more people, or more people with larger voting power, let me know...any assistance I can get to help my dog is so greatly appreciated!!!

Day 1 recap:
https://steemit.com/pets/@geoffreydemars/please-help-me-my-dog-flopperino-needs-surgery-please-upvote-comment-and-share

Day 2 recap:
https://steemit.com/pets/@geoffreydemars/steem-fundraiser-help-pay-for-floppy-s-back-surgery-please-share-resteem-upvote

Day 3 recap:
https://steemit.com/life/@geoffreydemars/the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-3-usd0-72-of-usd5-000-please-vote-share-donate

Day 4 recap:
https://steemit.com/donation/@geoffreydemars/4y2rj4-the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-4-usd0-80-of-usd5-000-please-resteem-upvote-donate-directly

Day 5 recap:
https://steemit.com/donation/@geoffreydemars/7fwqp5-the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-5-usd0-88-of-usd5-000-please-resteem-upvote-donate-directly

Day 6 recap:
https://steemit.com/donation/@geoffreydemars/the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-6-usd0-99-of-usd5-000-please-resteem-upvote-donate-directly

Day 7 recap:
https://steemit.com/donation/@geoffreydemars/the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-7-usd1-13-of-usd5-000-00-please-resteem-upvote-donate-directly

Day 8 recap:
https://steemit.com/life/@geoffreydemars/the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-8-usd2-02-of-usd5-000-00-please-resteem-upvote-donate-directly

Day 9 recap:
https://steemit.com/donation/@geoffreydemars/2bmawd-the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-9-usd5-91-of-usd5-000-00-please-resteem-upvote-donate-directly

Day 10 recap:
https://steemit.com/donation/@geoffreydemars/3z1eff-the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-10-usd6-81-of-usd5-000-00-please-resteem-upvote-donate-directly

Day 11 recap:
https://steemit.com/donation/@geoffreydemars/44vdhw-the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-11-usd21-94-of-usd5-000-00-please-resteem-upvote-donate-directly

Day 12 recap:
https://steemit.com/donation/@geoffreydemars/6g7kys-the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-12-usd23-44-of-usd5-000-00-please-resteem-upvote-donate-directly

Day 13 recap:
https://steemit.com/life/@geoffreydemars/2v4zxz-the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-13-usd28-88-of-usd5-000-00-please-resteem-upvote-donate-directly

Day 14 recap:
https://steemit.com/life/@geoffreydemars/the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-14-usd33-89-of-usd5-000-00-please-resteem-upvote-donate-directly

Day 15 recap:
https://steemit.com/donation/@geoffreydemars/6f8oql-the-help-my-dog-challenge-day-15-usd34-92-of-usd5-000-00-please-resteem-upvote-donate-directly

Thanks again so much for reading my blog and supporting Floppy through his recovery!!!

Sort:  

Good luck to Floppy!

thank you so much for the kind words @re-engineer!

CONGRATULATIONS YOUR PUBLICATION HAS BEEN SHARED BY @Untapentuoreja, will be seen by 2307 steemians

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71