YOLO Street

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

image.png


YOLO street
Beep - Beep
You Only Live Once
Sing a song
Do a dance
Play a game
Take a drink
Do it a gain
The road of no return

YOLO Street
Definite beat
PC room on the left
Meat-ting room on the right
Boom box speakers blare all night

Carnal desires without restraint
Voracious appetite never grows faint
Succumb to temptation for a bite
Neon lights blind your sight


image.png


YOLO Street is an avenue
That will catch you out of the blue
Then trapped in a sticky web
All the flare starts to ebb

Wishing you never turned down this detour
Conscience numbed by meaningless existence
Life spent on wasted pleasure
YOLO is empty in the future tense

There is no will YOLO
Or going to YOLO
There is just YOLO
So do it right


image.png

image.png

There is a real street in Seoul called YOLO Street. Here YOLO stands for: "You Only Live Once." I guess it is another way of saying, "Carpe Diem." The is also a comedy skit in Korea called YOLO. This is about a Grandma and grandpa who live in the countryside. They make the best of each moment of their life trying to back at each other.

The picture above is the grandpa comparing the grandma's leg to an Asian Radish. The episode I watched today the grandma tries to get the grandpa to eat ramen out of the lid. She latter explains to him that the lid is actually the toilet bowl. The punchline is You Only Live Once.

image.png

Img Source 1

Img Source 2

This is my poem for day 60 in the Steemitschool poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemschool Discord) I took the pictures of YOLO street. The other two pictures from KBS are sourced.

Verse of the Day/ 1 Corinthians 15:32-34

"If I fought wild beasts in Ephesus with no more than human hopes, what have I gained? If the dead are not raised, 'Let us eat and drink, for tomorrow we die.' Do not be misled: “Bad company corrupts good character.' Come back to your senses as you ought, and stop sinning; for there are some who are ignorant of God—I say this to your shame."

Mineopoly Quote:

"If you are gonna do YOLO then do it right."

Check out my recent posts @mineopoly

Bukhansan National Park
Palindrome Lullabies Audio
Beyond Labels
Good idea/ Bad idea
Thirst Street
You are not Funny
Sound Waves
Changes
Charlie
Mineopoly Haiku
Reconciliation

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

What does YOLO mean to you?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

Great poem, mineo:)

I think YOLO street needs some plants and flowers.

Thank you @prydefoltz. You are right. If you are going to live only once then it should be filled with life. Somehow the philosophy got messed up.

It is a popular place at the edge of Seoul for game rooms, bars and noisy at night. The kids I teach live nearby. It is a crowded city and normal site for me.

aahhahhaa funny shot 👍 cool post

Thanks @viktoriyani. I appreciate your comment. My camera has an eye of its own.

I hope you enjoy every moment of your life and hold on to what is most important.

yes of course thank you so much and you too enjoy life!

  • have an awesome day my friend 😊

Nice work! That first stanza captures everything I think of when I hear the phrase YOLO - pretty neat to hear its actually a real place I can visit haha.

Thank for reading @lazarus-wist. I pass by this street every day on the way to work but there was no official name or mark until recently. The name fits the neighborhood well.

I wonder if that street is more dangerous to travel on... I'm kidding of course, I know it has nothing to do with You Only Live Once. :P

I think it is less dangerous than Weed Street.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66989.78
ETH 3524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69