Irving Williams and the Lighthouse Ghost--Part 26 "That Would Be Something"--The Final Part--Original Steemit Fiction

in #writing8 years ago

  My experiment has come to a close.  

I have passed 13,000 words for the entire story with this post which would make for a decent size chapter book for elementary students.

I am working on a new book, while also writing this story.  This is going to be a chapter book for elementary students, think Goosebumps.

I wrote this story without an outline and put up the story as I finished each part. I did this to prove to myself that a story can be written quickly and without an outline.  (Although maybe not quickly as life and work got in the way.  But still I got a book 99% finished in a little over a month.)

Click here for part 1, part 2,  part 3,part 4, part 5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9, part 10, part 11,part 12, part 13, part 14 ,part 15 ,part 16,  part 17, part 18, part 19 , part 20, part 21, part 22,part 23, part 24, part 25

In part 25 we learn that Alec's brother Adam has been in cahoots with his grandfather Derwin to prank Mr. Williams.

Part 26 "That would be something."

Irving lathered up his face with suntan lotion. The warm sand underneath his feet.  His older sister Carrie, put her sunglasses on and laid down on her towel.

“Okay Lucas, you’re all covered up now. Go and play in the water, this is our last day here. Go to it!” Irving’s mom let Lucas run toward the surf. Lucas squealed in delight as he headed for the water.  

Irving followed after him, carrying his boogie board. Lucas stopped at the edge of the surf and splashed in the shallow water. 

“Have fun buddy,” Irving patted Lucas on the head. Irving swam out to where the waves broke. He caught the first wave, turned his board and rode it back into shore. Lucas waved at him as he came in. Alec walked up behind Lucas. 

“Well, you didn’t wipe out on that one.” Irving stood up, “When are you guys leaving?” 

“Tomorrow,” Alec replied. “You?” 

“Tomorrow as well,” said Irving. “What happened with Adam?” 

Alec turned around and point to his family. Adam was sitting on a towel with a set of crutches by his side and his ankle wrapped in a bandage. “Mom yelled at him, saying he was lucky he didn’t break it or his leg.” Alec turned back to Irving. “Although I think it would have been more than fair if he had broken his leg. How is your grandpa?” 

“He’s fine. He knows what he saw. I’m afraid though that your grandfather maybe in for another prank if he doesn’t look it out.”  

Both boys laughed.  They spent the next several hours swimming out and riding waves back into shore.  

Irving’s mother called for him, signaling the end of the day. “I gotta go,” said Irving. “I guess I’ll catch you next summer, or maybe if we’re here at Christmas.” 

“I’ll catch you later,” said Alec. They gave each other hi-fives and headed back to their families.

 “You have fun with Alec?” Irving’s grandfather asked. 

“Yeah, it was fun.” The family packed everything back up into the van and headed back for the last time of the vacation. 

That evening everyone was quiet as they watched TV. Lucas drank from a juice box, Irving dug into a bowl of popcorn, and his parents began to fall asleep on the couch. His grandmother ate a bowl of ice cream and his grandfather drank a Sprite. 

As his parents fell asleep, his grandfather put down his sprite and tapped him on the shoulder, “Come here I want to show you something.”

 Lucas put down his popcorn and followed his grandfather. They went out of the TV room, past the dining room with the large painting of a whaling ship, past the deep sea diving suit, and into his office.  

The video from their ill-fated trip the lighthouse was on the screen. “Why is this up?” Irving asked. “Have you been going through this video?” 

“I am sorry about what happened with Adam. His grandfather Derwin and I have known each other for decades. We’ve been pranking each other ever since our time in the guard together. I am sorry that he brought his grandson into it, and thus you as well. I found out how he got into the lighthouse.” Mr. Williams clicked the play button and Irving saw a flash of light. 

“What did I just see?” Irving asked. 

“That was from the front door opening. Adam told me that the door had been left unlocked and that was how he got in. I confirmed when I saw that flash of light,” said Mr. Williams. “I’m sorry you didn’t actually get to see a ghost.” 

“It’s okay grandpa. I would have probably hurt myself and broken your equipment if I actually did see anything.” 

His grandfather laughed. “Well, maybe you can see it when you come back at Christmas.” 

“That would be something,” replied Irving. “That would be something.”     

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67676.49
ETH 2622.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63