Irving Williams and the Lighthouse Ghost--Part 9

in #writing8 years ago

 Irving Williams and the Lighthouse Ghost--Part 9 

I am continuing my experiment.

I am working on a new book, while also writing this story.  I am writing this story without an outline and putting up the story as I finish each part.  I am enjoying getting to know these characters and setting. Click here for part 1, part 2,  part 3, part 4, part 5, part 6, part 7, part 8

Each part is roughly 500 words.  I write 2-3 pages in Word and then post them here.  

Thank you those that have mentioned they are liking the story.  It means a lot.

Note: There is an actual lighthouse called the Currituck Lighthouse, the name of the first keeper in this story, though is completely made up by me. 

Part 9 

“Do you want to try and go to the lighthouse tonight?” Alec asked, putting his iPad back into his bag. 

Irving raised his hands in the air, “There’s no way we can sneak out of here! What are you a magical ninja with an invisibility cloak?” He pointed to the tree outside of his window, “If we try to go out the window we will both break our necks. We can’t get out the kitchen door without going past my parents. And we certainly can’t go straight down the stairs and out the front door and not come back!” 

Alec shrugged his shoulders, “Why Not?” 

Irving made and face and then punched Alec in the shoulder. “Ow!” Alec replied.

They both laughed. 

There was a knocked on the bedroom door. 

“Yes?” Irving replied. The door opened. It was Irving’s grandfather, “Y’all talking about the ghost?” He grinned as if he had just skipped school. 

Irving glanced at Alec, and then back at his grandfather. “Yes….” 

His grandfather quickly came in the room and shut the door quietly behind him. The boys were sitting on the floor, Mr. Williams grabbed a chair and sat next to them. “So, Irving told you that I want to show him the ghost?” He tapped Alec on the shoulder. 

Alec paused, not sure what to say, “Yes. He told me what you said.” Alec looked at his bag. “I have a picture of who you said you saw.” Pulled his iPad back out, and flipped back to the picture that he and Irving were looking at before. “Is this who you are seeing?” 

Mr. Williams looked at the photograph, “Yes, this is Lawrence Jackson, we have this photograph in the gift shop. But needless to say, he doesn’t look like this anymore.” 

Irving shuddered at the implication. “So I have to ask, what does he look like now?” 

“He liked to turn out the light, it’s hard to see him at that moment. If anything I just see a shadow before he causes trouble and turns out the light.” 

“Causes trouble?” Alec asked. 

Mr. Williams cocked his head, “Well, he turns the main light out in the lighthouse, and then he runs around and makes noises on the stairwell and knocks papers off the table at the bottom of the stairs, where visitors grabbed visitor information. Once he knocked the whole table over.” 

“We should try and get video and pictures of him in action,” Irving said. 

“That’s my boy!” Mr. Williams rubbed Irving’s head.

 “I have a good video camera, it’s better than just bringing a cell phone,” said Alec. 

Mr. Williams grinned, even with the lines in his face his excitement made him look young. “Bring it!” 

“When are we doing this grandpa?” Irving asked. 

Mr. Williams grinned ear to ear, “Tomorrow night!”     

Sort:  

I love ghosts and haunted stuff! I'm going to go back and read the story from the beginning. I will be following your experiment.

Fair warning. This is planned to be a chapter book for elementary school students. Think Goosebumps, not really gory.

Awesome! I actually don't like gore that much, plus I have an elementary age daughter and she loves ghost stories as well. Keep those chapters coming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50